You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Galera, Spain

in #writing7 years ago

Oh mate this looks wonderful! To this day, I still believe that the Philippines would've been better off if we were still under Spain. Of the many invaders, I truly believe our country would've thrived with them. No offense to the other conquerors.

Spain remains one of my Top 3 places to retire in, and scenes like this only strengthens that. One of these days I'm going to make my way there. That kind of express and release mentality is what I strive for as well. You know that we're similar in terms of bottling up negativity, so it's great if we would be able to adapt that kind of attitude towards resentment.

I read that the Spanish never resort to fist fights to settle things, such as road rage.

What an apt time for you to mention this ;) Tranquillo indeed, mi amigo. Tranquillo indeed!

Sort:  

I guess you can't choose your conquerors. But I think Spanish culture has a lot of things going for it. Is there much Spanish influence left in the Philippines?

As a place to retire it has so much to offer. It is actually a reasonably cheap place to live, by western standards. And I have seen a lot of good quality real estate here for between 100,000 Euro and 150,000. For a two bedroom apartment. A beach house near me for under 500,000 (some a lot under). In Melbourne I would have paid over 650,000 just for a two bedroom apartment. The prices are out of control.

Here I can get a beer for 30 cents at the Supermarket, compared to $5 at home. Or $1.50 out at a bar, compared to over $7.

I hope to learn a lot from the Spanish about how to be. Tranquillo is a favourite expression of mine. A very good reminder.

Oh, there are tons! From the language to the architecture to the food. We're like Spanish meets Asia, much like how Indochina countries are French meets Asia.

It is actually a reasonably cheap place to live, by western standards.

So what you're saying is that it's still expensive for me? Hahahaha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50