Irving Williams and the Lighthouse Ghost--Part 7--Steemit original fiction

in #writing8 years ago

I am experimenting.

I am working on a new book, while also writing this story.  

I am writing this story without an outline and putting up the story as I finish each part.  I am enjoying getting to know these characters and setting.

Click here for part 1, part 2,  part 3, part 4, part 5, part 6

Irving helped his grandfather collect the fishing rods. 

“It seems we did well tonight with our catch!” Irving’s grandfather’s grin was wide.  

Alec handed his fishing rod to Mr. Williams, “Sorry again for breaking your line.” 

Mr. Williams laughed, “You didn’t break it Alec. Whatever was on the other end of the line broke it. And it didn’t break the rod. This happens sometimes when you go fishing. And we were able to put a new hook on anyway.” He showed him the hook. 

“Anyway, thanks again, Mr. Williams,” Alec replied. 

Mr. Williams waved his hand, “Tell your grandparents we said hi.”

 “I will. Irving, maybe I’ll catch you tomorrow. I gotta go.”  And Alec headed off to the opening in the sand dune near his grandparents’ house. 

The Williams family finished packing up their fishing materials into their large SUV.  “Well, I would consider that a good first day at the beach,” said Irving’s dad. He pointed to a sleeping Lucas as his proof of a good day.  

Irving’s grandmother smiled doting on her youngest grandchild, “He is so cute like that.” 

“He is cute like that. I just wish we could get him to do that more often,” Irving’s mother replied. 

Irving’s dad drove the SUV onto the main road. The car was silent from the exhaustion of a day at the beach, even Irving’s older sister Carrie was sleeping. 

Dusk had turned to night. They drove past the Currituck lighthouse. The light was on and pointed out to the ocean. Mr. Williams tapped Irving on the shoulder and he leaned in and whispered, “You up for going over the lighthouse tomorrow?” 

“Of course,” Irving whispered back. His grandfather smiled. 

The SUV pulled into the driveway. Irving’s mother pulled Lucas out of his car seat, and Lucas remained asleep, his head resting on his mother’s shoulder. 

The rest of the family helped unpack the SUV. Carrying a bag of towels, Irving walked into his grandparents’ house. He slid his sand covered sandals off onto a mat with a photograph of tropical fish. 

His grandfather brought the fish they caught into the kitchen.  “Irving, go help your grandfather,” instructed his dad. 

Irving went into the kitchen. His grandfather was placing the fish onto the kitchen island. 

“Bring me a knife out of that drawer,” his grandfather instructed.  Irving handed him a knife. His grandfather began removing the heads from the fish. 

“That’s disturbing,” Irving said.

 His grandfather laughed. “I guess we could leave them on for when you eat them later.” 

Irving shook his head and put his hand in the air, “No. That’s okay.” 

“You can put them in these freezer bags as I work,” his grandfather instructed. Irving put the fish into the bags as instructed and then he placed in the freezer. Irving washed his hands as they finished. 

His grandfather patted him on his back, “Thank you for your help. I’m tired. I’m headed for bed. We’re going to need our rest for tomorrow’s adventure.” 

Irving smiled and headed upstairs to his room. He undressed and got into a Sponge-Bob t-shirt and Star Wars shorts.  

He hung his hat on a statue of Blackbeard the pirate, and he climbed into bed. He closed his eyes and headed off to sleep.  

There was a sound at the window. 

Irving tried to ignore it. 

The sound came again. A tap at the window. 

Irving sat up in fear. He was on the second floor.  

Trembling his turned on the light next to his bed. He creeped to the window. He glanced around the edge of the window. 

The tap game again. 

“Hey Irving!” came the voice below. Irving opened the window. 

Alec was in the backyard looking up at Irving’s window. Alec cupped his hands and whispered up to Irving, “Your grandfather said there was a ghost at the lighthouse. Let’s go see it!”    

Sort:  

I wish each part was longer.... but it's the same reason I hate waiting a week for the next episode of my shows..... just too good to be patient! Thanks.

Good feedback.

This is a good time to explain even more what I am doing.
I write books for kids and it is my plan that this becomes a chapter book.
I write 2-3 pages in Word and then stop. No more than three pages.
So that forces me to have a cliff hanger by the end of the third page. So by the third page if I don't have a cliff hanger, I better get one.
I've not outlined anything. I'm writing into the dark here.

But I now have a much better idea where it is going.

I also just find that posts that are TOO long on Steemit are hard to read, so I keep it short on purpose.

And I would always rather have the feedback that is too short, as opposed to "this is too long."

And I'm also writing this to prove to myself that I can write a decent story quickly without any planning and so far it seems to be working.

Thanks for the feedback, glad you enjoy it.

I agree, long posts are a bit much.... just enjoying it and wanting to express that :)

nice. Is that lighthouse still operational? It is amazing that some still are.

I think it is actually.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62170.06
ETH 2415.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65