Charlotte Morgan and the Lemonade Stand--Chapter 16--No One is Going to Go to Your Stand

in #writing6 years ago

    This is my next book. Charlotte Morgan and the Lemonade Stand.  

It is still in the work-in-progress phase. The cover I am posting here is a temp cover derived from the first book.  But I like sharing my work here first.  The book is leveled for third grade readers and up.

I am using the #steemiteducation tag because the book is about using math and earning money.   To read what has happened earlier click the link for each individual chapter for chapter 1. Chapter 2, Chapter 3, Chapter 4, Chapter 5, Chapter 6, Chapter 7, Chapter 8, Chapter 9, Chapter 10, Chapter 11, Chapter 12, Chapter 13, Chapter 14, Chapter 15

Summary: Several people tell Charlotte they are going to her stand, except one person.

 Chapter 16 No One is Going to Go to Your Stand  

I got off the bus and walked into school. 

It was Wednesday morning.  “Hey Charlotte! I heard about your lemonade stand! I’ll come by Saturday and check it out,” shouted Kevin Kershner, a fifth grader that lived one street over on Den Bark Drive. 

I waved to him, “How did you know about it?”

 “I saw the posters you put around the neighborhood! I’ll catch you later,” and he headed off to class. I stood in the middle of the hallway as students walked around me. 

“Charlotte! You’re doing a lemonade stand?” asked Leigh Brackett, she was a fourth grader in Mr. Martin’s class.  

“Umm….yeah…”

 “Cool, I’ll try and make it! Have a good one!”  

“Wait Leigh! Who told you about the lemonade stand?”

 “Umm…a couple of other people told me about it. And I saw your posters in the neighborhood. The posters looked cool. I’ll catch you later!” She waved at me as she headed to Mr. Martin’s class.

 “Charlotte! Stop standing in the middle of the hallway and come to class!” said Mrs. King from the classroom doorway. I came back to earth and headed to class. 

Three hours later at lunch, I sat down with Sally, Aaron, and Marcus. “I had two people tell me this morning that they were coming to the lemonade stand on Saturday!”

 “Who?” replied Sally. “Kevin in fifth grade, he lives over on Den Bark, and Leigh, in Mr. Martin’s class told me.” 

“When did they tell you?” asked Marcus.

 “This morning in the hallway as we were coming to class. In fact, Leigh told me that other people had told her about it. But both she and Kevin had told me that they had seen the posters.”

 Marcus grinned, “That means those posters worked! And it sounds like we are going to have a successful lemonade stand this weekend.” He rubbed his hands together. 

Sally patted me on the back, “Yeah, Charlotte this might actually work.” 

“Hey Charlotte!” yelled Brian Kirkland from the table behind me, a third grader in Mrs. Raven’s class, “A lemonade stand? Good luck, I don’t think it’s going to work!” 

“Brain turn around, no yelling across the tables,” said Mrs. Ritchie, a lunchroom monitor. 

“What was that about?” said Marcus. “I am going to deal with him during recess.” He pointed at Brian’s back, but Brian wasn’t looking at him. “At recess pal!” 

“Let it go, Marcus,” I said. Mrs. Ritchie walked past the table and over to the Kindergartners. 

Brian turned back around, “No one is going to your lemonade stand,” he put air quotes around the words lemonade stand. Marcus got mad. He wanted to stand up. He looked around for Mrs. Ritchie. “Why would he say that. What is his problem?”

 “Sit down before you fall down!” said Aaron in a silly accent as he pointed to Marcus’s seat. 

Marcus sat down. 

Suddenly I was uncomfortable that my lemonade stand was popular enough to have people fight over it.  

Sort:  

Great writing as usual i spected from you.

its really a very bad happen with charlotte..