Charlotte Morgan and the Lemonade Stand--Chapter 14--Frozen Lemonade

in #writing6 years ago

  This is my next book. Charlotte Morgan and the Lemonade Stand.  

It is still in the work-in-progress phase. The cover I am posting here is a temp cover derived from the first book.  But I like sharing my work here first.  The book is leveled for third grade readers and up.

I am using the #steemiteducation tag because the book is about using math and earning money.  

 To read what has happened earlier click the link for each individual chapter for chapter 1. Chapter 2, Chapter 3, Chapter 4, Chapter 5, Chapter 6, Chapter 7, Chapter 8, Chapter 9, Chapter 10, Chapter 11, Chapter 12, Chapter 13

Summary: Charlotte and her friends discuss the idea of selling expensive frozen lemonade.

  Chapter 14 Frozen Lemonade 

As soon as I walked in the back door from school, I threw my backpack into the corner and began rummaging through the freezer. 

“Tambourine! What are you doing?” Dad asked.

 I looked out from behind the freezer door. “I am looking for those things we use to make Popsicles during the summer. They’re blue and have six sections with a plastic stick that goes in them.” 

“I know what you are talking about. Why are you looking for them?” 

“Sally and I had thought if we sold frozen lemonade we could make more money than with just drinks. Gavin gave us the idea.” 

Dad reached into the freezer and moved some frozen pizzas and pulled out the Popsicles molds I was looking for. 

“This holds six,” he held them up. 

“I can count to six Dad.” 

“Then you should know that you can’t make any money with just six. Plus, these are plastic and fit into molds, and they go with the mold. If we give these away with the frozen lemonade we wouldn’t have the holders anymore. If you want to sell frozen lemonade, we need to think of a way to use regular wooden Popsicle sticks. And we would need a way to make more than six,” said Dad. “Here, I’ll take you to the store after you finish walking Charlie.” 

I shut the freezer door, grabbed Charlie’s leash, a bag, and took Charlie outside.  I managed to get to the street in front of the house before Sally saw me. She bolted out her front door and met me on the street.
“My dad is going to take me to the store after I walk Charlie to see about getting stuff to make the frozen lemonade popsicles,” I said. 

“That’s cool,” Sally replied. 

“Hey!  Charlotte! Sally!” It was Aaron running up from his house, and one of the few times I didn’t see him in some sort of sports uniform. He was wearing a New York Yankees t-shirt though. “You all talking about the lemonade stand?”


“I just told Sally that my dad wants to take me to the store after I finish walking Charlie so we can get things to make frozen lemonade.” 

“Where are you going to freeze them? How many are you going to need?” Aaron asked. “I don’t know. How many do you think I am going to need? I’ve never done this before.” 

“If you charge $5 per frozen lemonade, you would only need to sell ten to make your $50,” said Aaron. 

“But that would be $50 in revenue, not in profit. I have no idea how much the stuff is to make the frozen lemonade!” I replied. 

“Well hopefully it won’t be much,” he replied. 

“Isn’t $5 a little much for a frozen lemonade?” Sally asked. 

“People will think it’s fancy frozen lemonade!” Aaron smiled. “You can’t buy Charlotte’s frozen lemonade in stores. WE CAN ADD THAT TO A POSTER!” Aaron made a sweeping gesture with his hands, “Not Available in Stores!” He his face lit up like the Fourth of July. 

Charlie did his business, and I cleaned it up. “Come on Charlie, let’s go home and get Dad to take us to the store!” I turned to Sally and Aaron, “Sorry to cut our meeting short, but I am headed to the store!” 

“Catch you later!” replied Sally and Aaron. I

 tossed Charlie’s bag into the outside trashcan and bounded into the back door and into the kitchen. “Let’s go Dad!” 

He was already with his keys waiting for me, “Let’s go shopping, Tambourine!”             

Sort:  

poor guys,,they are in little trouble...but excellent their try..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57916.39
ETH 2552.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42