Charlotte Morgan and the Lemonade Stand-chapter 2-$12 on One Package of Cups

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

 This is my next book. Charlotte Morgan and the Lemonade Stand.  

It is still in the work-in-progress phase. The cover I am posting here is a temp cover derived from the first book.  But I like sharing my work here first.The book is leveled for third grade readers and up.

I am using the #steemiteducation tag because the book is about using math and earning money.   

Click here for chapter 1.

Summary: Charlotte needs to earn money to pay for her mothers shoes her dog chewed up.

 $12 on One Package of Cups 

“Hey Charlie!” Sally waved from her bike. Charlie jumped at the sound of his name. 

Sally rode toward us, and she stopped her bike, “Charlotte, did you see Gavin’s lemonade stand? Isn’t that silly?”

 Sally has been my best friend since Kindergarten. We started The Numbers Investigators in the first grade, because our teacher Mrs. Whitlow began math time by going “We’re going to investigate numbers today!” So, we went around during recess yelling “We’re going to investigate numbers!” and it was there that we began our club. Later, Marcus and Aaron would join. 

 “Yeah, he told me he has already made twelve dollars,” I replied. 

Sally paused, “Well, that’s not bad, actually.” 

“The lemonade was actually pretty good,” I said. 

“You bought some?”  

“He gave me a free sample. It’s like he knows what he is doing!” I smiled. Charlie jumped up on my leg. “Maybe I need to start a lemonade stand. Charlie here, chewed up one of my mom’s shoes. I could help pay it back.” 

“We could do another business,” Sally interrupted. 

“Like what?” 

Sally paused for a moment, “We could mow lawns.” 

I shook my head, “That’s a terrible idea. Do you even mow your own lawn?” 

“Good point! No, I do not.” 

“I think a lemonade stand just might work. Our only costs would be the lemonade and the cups,” I said. “Gavin is charging fifty cents a cup. If there are 24 red cups in a package…” 

“He’s making twelve dollars on just one package of cups,” Sally interrupted. 

“And he’s charging a dollar for the larger cups,” I continued. 

Sally was working out the numbers in her head. “And the cost of the lemonade can’t be that much per cup. We need to find out how many cups can be made from a package of lemonade. And from there we can find out how much money we could make by multiplying the number of cups per package of lemonade.” 

“Let’s go ask my mom if she has any lemonade. And if she doesn’t have any does she know how much a package of lemonade costs and how much it holds,” I said.

 “I am sure my parents would get us the lemonade for free. Especially if they think I am going to make some money with it.” She blew a bubble and let it pop. She was always chewing bubble gum. 

“Let’s meet in the treehouse in a few minutes.” 

“Done,” I said. 

  “And let’s meet back here after we ask.” Sally ran to her house and I ran into the back door of my house into the kitchen.

 “Mom!” 

“Yes, Charlotte what is with the shouting?” 

 “Do we have any lemonade?”

 “No. We have water, Coke, and orange juice.” 

 “Ugh!” 

 “What’s the problem?” mom replied. 

“Nothing!” and I ran out to the treehouse.           

Sort:  

Very good action writing. Love the graphics. Great job @mctiller
Joy

Nice!!! Enjoyed it, upvoted and follow you! Have a nice day and May!!!

I just can't wait to read more on Charlotte, and that's coming from a 26 year old male xD, you have a gift @mctiller I hope I can be as good as you someday

i really like,,the feeling of charlotte for his mother,,,,,,,,,,

yeah, start with lemonade in this chapter is good thing of your writing, we are waiting for your next one till tomorrow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53