Charlotte Morgan and the Lemonade Stand--Chapter 15--$111 in Supplies

in #writing6 years ago

  This is my next book. Charlotte Morgan and the Lemonade Stand.  

It is still in the work-in-progress phase. The cover I am posting here is a temp cover derived from the first book.  But I like sharing my work here first.  The book is leveled for third grade readers and up.

I am using the #steemiteducation tag because the book is about using math and earning money.   To read what has happened earlier click the link for each individual chapter for chapter 1. Chapter 2, Chapter 3, Chapter 4, Chapter 5, Chapter 6, Chapter 7, Chapter 8, Chapter 9, Chapter 10, Chapter 11, Chapter 12, Chapter 13, Chapter 14

Summary: Charlotte and her dad go shopping for supplies and debate what to get.

 Chapter 15 $111 in Supplies 

We turned down the aisle in the grocery store. The molds for the Popsicles were on the aisle with all the summer stuff. 

“Okay, here’s a set,” said Dad, he picked up a set. It was made of a silver metal, and it came with a metal rack to hold it. It made ten Popsicles. He pulled up another one, it was purple, made of plastic, it only made six Popsicles at a time. “Okay,” Dad said, looking at the silver one, “this one costs a lot, $39.99.” 

“So, $40,” I replied. “That means it would cost $4 for each frozen lemonade I made.”

 “This one is less expensive,” holding up the plastic purple set. “It only costs $4.99” 

“So, $5 for that one. Which means I that each frozen lemonade would cost less than a dollar to make. Six popsicles for five dollars. So, let’s get that one.”

 Dad shook his head, “That math only works for the first batch you make. If you made the popsicles and then kept them frozen in the cooler. You could make several more. So, for the silver one, yes, it costs more, but you would freeze them and then keep the extras in a cooler or the freezer. Of course, you could get the purple plastic one…” 

“But then I could only make six at a time. With the other one I could make ten at a time. I could make more at once.” 

Dad held up both. He wasn’t going to tell me which one to get. “Get the metal one, it’s more expensive, but with the ability to make more at once, I can get more to sell faster.” I pointed at the holder, “Also I like the holder, and this one seems to be designed to hold the wooden sticks. The plastic one comes with its own plastic handles.” 

Dad put the silver one into the cart, “Good decision. Now what else do you think we will need?” 

“Wooden popsicles sticks obviously,” I said. 

“You’re also going to need some plastic sandwich bags to hold the popsicles after they’re frozen. We’ll place them in our picnic cooler with ice and then just pull them out of the cooler when you sell one.” 

“I never would have thought of that!” 

“Glad I can help.” The cost of the metal molds was $39.99, the popsicle sticks was $1.99, and the lunch bags was 99 cents. Which totaled $42.97, add the five percent sales tax, and the grand total was $45.12. Round that to $45 and add the $66 for the cooler and lemonade, and cups, and now we had spent was $111. This was getting more expensive by the day. The numbers appeared in my head, I was going to need to sell over $160 worth of lemonade and frozen lemonade to make enough proof to pay Mom back. One hundred and sixty dollars in sales. 

I had five days to prepare. 

I was terrified.  

Sort:  

that time charlotte try so hardly......to sell lemonade......

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @jeffbernst, @bitrocker2020, @jrswab & @teachblogger . We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

Thank you. I appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46