“P” – Vocab-ability Prefixes – A More Powerful Vocabulary (This post includes all prefixes beginning with the letter “P”)

in #writing6 years ago

This post comprises all those prefixes that begin with the letter “P.” It includes many English words whose etymology can be traced to Greek and Latin roots.   

If you learn these prefixes, you will be able to understand and use many English words that feature them. Vocab-ability is an easy-to-use resource guide to help you understand those prefixes.    

In total, this Vocab-ability post features 8 prefixes that begin with the letter “P."

Free Use: 

Please feel free to download the following material, copy it, print it out, and distribute it for any and all educational purposes. If it helps you or your students increase your English vocabulary, it will have served its purpose. And I will know that my efforts have proven beneficial. (Please see my additional comments and notes below the entries.)

Vocab-ability Prefix–304 (para__ = beside, beyond)

Vocab-ability Prefix–305 (per__ = through, completely, around)

Vocab-ability Prefix–306 (poly__ = many, much)

Vocab-ability Prefix–307 (post__ = after)

Vocab-ability Prefix–308 (pre__ = before)

Vocab-ability Prefix–309 (pro__ = forward)

Vocab-ability Prefix–310 (pro__ = in favor of, for)

Vocab-ability Prefix–311 (pseudo__ = false, not genuine)

Note re Copyright / Free Use: 

I hold the copyright to the original Vocab-ability guide, which was published in 2002. I hereby grant free use to all the material contained in this post and all other Vocab-ability posts on Steemit.    

Note re Copying each Screenshot: 

Each separate entry (including those in this and other Vocab-ability posts) consists of one screenshot (since making screenshots was the only way I could properly format the individual entries for uploading to Steemit). To use these entries for your personal study or in any classroom, you can download any or all screenshots by clicking and dragging the screenshots that you want to use, and then print them out.   

Note re Passing on the Vocab-ability Links: 

Alternatively, you can simply pass on one or more of the following links to the Vocab-ability posts:

Vocab-ability – Introduction to “Vocab-ability”.

Vocab-ability – Guide to Entries.

Vocab-ability Prefixes – All PREFIXES beginning with “A”.

Vocab-ability Prefixes – The Single PREFIX beginning with “B”.

Vocab-ability Prefixes – All PREFIXES beginning with “C”.

Vocab-ability Prefixes – All PREFIXES beginning with “D”.

Vocab-ability Prefixes – All PREFIXES beginning with “E”.

Vocab-ability Prefixes – The Single PREFIX beginning with “F”.

Vocab-ability Prefixes – All PREFIXES beginning with “H”.

Vocab-ability Prefixes – All PREFIXES beginning with “I”.

Vocab-ability Prefixes – All PREFIXES beginning with “M”.

Vocab-ability Prefixes – All PREFIXES beginning with “N”.

Vocab-ability Prefixes – All PREFIXES beginning with “O”.

Sort:  

Pretty good knowledge about prefixes.my sister is doing bachelors in english.this will help her

Great. I hope it helps you, too!

It doesn’t work when I try to be pseudo-intellectual 😂

Right! It never works for anyone. And in fact, it will most likely backfire.

Be yourself. That the smartest option. ☺

Hahaha good thing I really doesn’t try to be pseudo-intellectual. It was just the first sentence I can come up to.

I totally agree with just being myself. It makes my life easier. 😊

Do you have the permit to percolate perennial polygamy?

Fuck that bullshit. ☺ ... I do NOT need a permit to percolate anything. Even prelinainilst plygamdistsyy. OK?

p.s. Yes, that's what I wrote and that's the way I wrote it. Permission assumed by me. ☺
p.p.s. Good comment.

Thanks for sharing this great information its knowledge full I always wait for your post to learn new thing and i learn No doubt you share in a very easy way and try to share in a easy way the most attractive and appreciable words in your vocab-ability post is that Please feel free to download the following material, copy it, print it out, and distribute it for any and all educational purposes. If it helps you or your students increase your English vocabulary, it will have served its purpose. And I will know that my efforts have proven beneficial

I need this more because my vocabulary is too weak,
Thanks for sharing

Thanks for sharing the update of this series..! 🤗

i'm collecting these screenshots from ur very first post on this series..!

Its been a good help for building strong vocabulary knowledge for non English speakers like me..!

keep the good work going...! 😇

~Tennis Girl 🎾🎾

You are a brilliant. Thanks for your writing about the Powerful Vocabulary

Thanks for the compliment. If you like these posts, keep an eye out for more, each day.

this great writing I appreciate your dedication...

Awesome post its very informative every one catch a great information from your post doing good keep sharing

well i am present here again !
to gain more knowlege
you are awesome man

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95