“L” – Vocab-ability – A More Powerful Vocabulary (This post includes all entries beginning with the letter “L”)

in #writing6 years ago

Hello again, all vocab lovers. This post marks the half-way point of the introductory "Vocab-ability" series (that is, these alphabetical groups). Thanks for your comments and the increasingly enthusiastic responses. I’m glad that you find these posts interesting and effective.  

(You may notice that there was no "K" entry.  Don't worry, you did not miss anything, because this series has no "K" entry. Although there may be a few words that begin with "K" that have Greek or Latin roots, they are so uncommon that there was no point to include them in a separate Vocab-ability entry.)

During the coming weeks, I will try to post the remaining alphabetical groups a bit more frequently. Hopefully, I can do 2 posts per week, or maybe even 3 per week. I hope you can find them all in the ever-flowing StReem. If you don’t find any new Vocab-ability post for a few days, just check my blog to find the latest one. Cheers.

This post comprises all the “L” entries of the Vocab-ability series. It includes many English words whose etymology can be traced to Greek and Latin roots.    

If you learn one root, you can learn, understand, and use each and every English word derived from that root. Vocab-ability is an easy-to use resource guide to help you understand those roots.    

In total, this Vocab-ability post features 17 entries that begin with the letter “L."

Free Use: 

Please feel free to download the following material, copy it, print it out and distribute it for any and all educational purposes. If it helps you or your students increase your English vocabulary, it will have served its purpose. And I will know that my efforts have proven beneficial. (Please see my additional comments and notes below the entries.)

Vocab-ability–117 (labor = work)

Vocab-ability–118 (laps = fall, slip)

 Vocab-ability–119 (later = side)

 Vocab-ability–120 (lect, leg = choose)

 Vocab-ability–121 (leg, lect = read)

 Vocab-ability–122 (leg = law)

 Vocab-ability–123 (leo = lion)

 Vocab-ability–124 (lev = light, lift)

 Vocab-ability–125 (lib, libr = book)

 Vocab-ability–126 (liber, lib = free)

 Vocab-ability–127 (lig = connect, tie)

 Vocab-ability–128 (limina, limi = threshold, border)

 Vocab-ability–129 (lingua, lang = language, tongue)

 Vocab-ability–130 (linqu, lict = leave out, omit)

 Vocab-ability–131 (loc = place)

 Vocab-ability–132 (log, loqu, locut = speech, word)

 Vocab-ability–133 (luc, lum = light)

Note re Copyright / Free Use: 

I hold the copyright to the original Vocab-ability guide, which was published in 2002. I hereby grant free use to all the material contained in this post and all other Vocab-ability posts on Steemit.    

Note re Copying each Screenshot: 

Each separate entry (including those in this and other Vocab-ability posts) consists of one screenshot (since making screenshots was the only way I could properly format the individual entries for uploading to Steemit). To use these entries for your personal study or in any classroom, you can download any or all screenshots by clicking and dragging the screenshots that you want to use, and then print them out.   

Note re Passing on the Vocab-ability Links:  

Alternatively, you can simply pass on one or more of the following links to the Vocab-ability posts:

Vocab-ability – Introduction to Vocab-ability.

Vocab-ability – Guide to Entries.

Vocab-ability – All “A” Entries.

Vocab-ability – All “B” Entries.

Vocab-ability – All “C” Entries.

Vocab-ability – All “D” Entries.

Vocab-ability – All “E” Entries.

Vocab-ability – All “F” Entries.

Vocab-ability – All “G” Entries.

Vocab-ability – All “H” Entries.

Vocab-ability – The Single “I” Entry.

Vocab-ability – All “J” Entries.

Sort:  

Just letting you know I added you to my new bot - steemdunk. Over time, the percentage will change - nothing personal - I'm just getting it set so that my power stays high.

I'm putting friends in so I don't have to worry about post voting - only comment voting.

In this time of big money - posting and commenting all day are my goals. Post, post, post!

You engagement is fantastic. Keep going. Your fans are here or on the way :)

I do what I can do and what I like to do. Nothing more, sometimes a bit less. And I find it great to engage with my followers too. (I just hit 400, a major milestone for an introvert / recluse like me. :-) )

Whatever your bot does, I'll trust it's good.

Keep doing whatever you can to increase your rep and earnings. The great thing is, whatever "gains" we have now will only multiply over the coming years. If you ever need extra motivation, just remember the future of Steemit and Steem. :-)

The future is fine, but I've been doing this weight loss gig for 8 years now for little reward. Every month is a struggle to pay for my life. I am scraping by and also partially supporting my ptsd damaged son back in Cali. This is a freaking miracle for this month's expenses alone.

The future looks bright - where's my shades!

Hello fellow hermit! I moved to Thailand and never leave the house :)

Many congrats on the well deserved following, and I'm going to get you more - promise :)

You scratch my back, and I'll scratch yours. Etc, etc, etc.
Is your son a vet?

No - he grew up with a mom that was always falling over and almost dying, bleeding and then the ambulance came to take me away. Many, many times. His ptsd is directly caused by my obesity as it is in many other kids.

Then then about 30 friends of his are dead now due to outrageously tragic means. He was a popular kid in a small town that is just a nightmare to me know. I should have run like hell before he got to high school. They started dying in 8th grade and the most recent was last spring.

Also he was homeless and in jail and he is really a sweet little puppy dog even though he is 6'2". He's basically been through never-ending hell. Currently doing slightly better but not that much.

Right, you had already mentioned his friends. Tragic, indeed. Hoping for better and the best.

Me too! The deaths have slowed down at least. They were coming more than monthly for a while there. All I hope and pray is to get him out of that country - hopefully by summer.

good one vocab is the most important part of learning English for being good in English need to know all the vocabulary.... you are doing amazing job to teach people it's very helpful post keep posting ☺

Thanks for the compliment. Yes, without vocab, we would not be able to say much. ☺ More and more similar posts coming soon.

wow L vocabulary going great i like to learn English grammer it's so helpful to kearn perfect English with vocabulary good one ..m

And you know what? I hate how people mis-use the word legend.
(referring to my stupid aussie ex-boyfriend!!!)

Vocab-ability. A guide on how NOT to misuse words. Available to all people (even idiots) worldwide on this great platform. (p.s. You could send him the link to this post. :-) )

He deserves to die in his ignorance, but it made me feel good to know that I know English better than him, even if I had to use urban dictionary when were were talking.
Oh well, screw that.

All I can say is that it sounds like a good thing that you and he are finished. By the way, your English is par excellence. (As an editor / ESL teacher, I should know.) But that should never stop your from learning more.

Onwards! And never look back.

To whom are you teaching English as second language? I thought English to a couple of kindergarten Cambodian classes for 8 months, that was all my experience in teaching, not much.

I taught for years in Japan. Now I live in Thailand, and all I do is write, and swim, and eat and drink. Teaching is good work, but writing is better.

How did you like teaching kids English?

oooo L vocabulary it's great its very interesting and helpfull to learn good english thank u for sharing with us

You're very welcome. It's my pleasure to post this resource.

thank you so much that so sweet to invite☺

Sumptuously. Thank you for your knowledge. You were right when you said that your work would be useful to those who are learning English. It is much easier for me to remember the words, understanding the meaning of their root. Thanks again. Good luck to you and good.

Thanks for the complement! From your comments, it seems as though your English is superb. But I hope that does not stop you from learning more. And I'm thrilled that these posts can be of such great assistance to you.

great post like it and upvoted

uselful!...good job

Wow!! the L list is huge... I almost felt that all the greek/latin english words have L in them... A fascinating Language

The next few posts also have many entries. You might need to schedule some extra time to review them all the way through. :-)

wooww very creative and useful

Thanks. I "created" it for my students, and now I'm finding that I have students on Steemit around the world. It's a pleasure to upload these posts and to help more and more people learn more vocabulary and improve their English.

teacher who is extraordinary

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98