Dimension II, magical scholar with the wrong blood, part 2. A short story of fiction

in #writing7 years ago

-- Look at us, really and truly. We have killed at leas a dozen of people here, tonight, it doesn't get any less on other days, but you, you were tough how to act in society, you were taught how to control your urges. My mother Marie made the mistake of not considering her people, and she paid with her head for it. We were blessed by magic after that, but it still left scars, I was young back then, and believe me when I tell you, loosing your mother to the guillotine is not fun. You are better off as you are now.

Part I of this story here

21148476_1566600750067122_1752839288_n.jpg

As my mother spoke, my father smiled and shrugged. He picked up a body from the ground and I felt the smell of blood when his fangs pierced it in a new place. It made me feel that familiar pull, a part of me wanted to join in. That made my thoughts go back to the stories, my stomach turned around and I asked my next question.

-- How tainted is our families blood? How ashamed should I be about what is pulsing through my veins?

My parents both looked at each other, then back at me, I could see the shock and confusion in their eyes. I should have put it together earlier, by what they mentioned, but my mind was blinded by the nights events. A part of me still thought of it as dream, I wasn't ready to believe everything was coming together so fast.

-- You haven't figured it out yet? You are the closest ascendant of both, Marie Antoinette and Dracula himself, you are the strongest mage ever to exist as you come from the original blood. The title of the Grand Mage is yours, you have the purest blood to be found. For centuries mages and vampires mixed blood, it created power like no other. But the elder mages don't want that power to pass to the younger, so they put thoughts of vampires to be tainted in others minds, yet your bloodline, belonging to Marie, my mother, will change it all.

I couldn't believe it the first or the second second, my father saw it and so he whistled. A grand man with a gray beard came out of the house, I recognized him to be from the one of the old families, fallen in disgrace for not being against the vampire blood. He also used to be one of the most respected record keepers, now the respect had faded away.

-- These days elder mages try to keep the younger ones in check by keeping them from mixing their blood . They don't tell that without the blood being mixed we get weaker every day. You have seen it yourself, how the power starts to run scarce in some ''pure'' mages hands. Thankfully, you will never have that problem, as your blood is perfectly balanced.

-- I don't believe you. I can not!

My mothers voice was that silky tone again, she took a golden knife from a table next to her, and I knew what she was going to say.

-- We will show you, lets create a pendant of life, that is the proof you need and the proof the record keeper can bring to the others.

21150986_1565604506833413_1485496864_n.jpg

She then proceeded to cut her palm and let her blood drip on the wooden planks. The record keeper leaned forward, staying quiet all the while, we saw my mothers blood form a half circle. Then she passed the knife to my father, and he repeated her notion, making his blood drip on top of my mothers. As he was doing it I was gestured to go forward, this time my legs moved without hesitation. I could see now the circle was mixed with light and dark blood, the colors of two different species.

Father looked at me and gave me the blade, I knew what to do as I had seen the ritual before being performed in other families when mages came of age. The second my blood joined theirs, it formed a pattern like lace. I had never seen it so beautiful, I had never seen it turn golden. What came out of the pool of blood was the pendant of gold, showing two house's sigils. They were the ones of Marie Antoinette and Dracula himself, just like my parents had told me before. The first mage and first vampire were my grandparents, my parents must have lived hundreds of years.

I gasped in awe while the pendant was forming, the record keeper picked it up and added a chain, he made a copy of it in the grand book of blood and lastly, handed me the only proof I would ever need. I put it around my neck and felt it being absorbed by my body, my blood was starting to mature as of this moment.

My father frowned like in a worry, he made a statement that seemed weird to me.

-- It will start to show in a day or two, your powers will reach their full potential. Meanwhile the record keeper will spread the news. Be kind and don't forget about him as he has been mistreated by others.

-- But isn't it enough that they see you?

-- They think we are dead, and they will stay thinking that, we will leave you alone once again. It doesn't mean we don't love you, to the contrary, we are protecting you. From us. All you can say to others is that the record keeper had samples of our blood and you used them. That is completely a true fact. And this mansion belongs to you, it is our property passed from us to your hands.

21754704_1580992528627944_242063237_o.jpg

My heart was heavy, but I knew it to be the truth, so I hugged my parents and left the way I had came. I returned to the stone wall once more. I knew in my heart, they would come for me again, I just hoped it wouldn't take them forever. I pulled the ground around me once more, and landed back at the side I had came from.

I immediately saw my love there, he looked worried, a little impatient. The moment our eyes locked, he rushed to me, took my face in his arms and kissed me for the first time. It was like magic, I felt like melting, I was so happy that we didn't need to hide no more as my blood was royal. He pulled away and looked at me.

-- I was worried, where were you? You never stray!

-- I have to tell you something, lets sit down, it is a grand story!

We walked to our love-seat and sat down, he took my hands in his, and I was ready to tell my marvelous tale. As life would have it, faith interrupted. I learned a very important lesson that night. Before I could speak, a lantern appeared in the dark. It turned out to be my loves parents. His father was frowning when looking at me. Their family bloodhound right by his side. My love took his hands away from me as his father spoke.

-- You were gone so long we got worried and came looking for you, why are you two together? Who is this girl?

This was it, the reveal was here. I knew for a fact that the father knew who I was and I found it painful for him to act like I was a nobody. What happened next was that one lesson for life. I found out that falling in love was not the same as loving. My young mind was swept away in that dark night as my love spoke.

-- Nobody, she is a nobody, father, I just found her wondering around and she was cold.

This night had been full of revelations and this was one more. No matter it hurt like hell at the moment, I wouldn't want to be with somebody just because they loved my title. I thanked the fact that I hadn't had time to tell the young dashing mage what I had found out. That night I escaped a mistake of a lifetime.

Days passed and people found out who I was, the young dashing mage asked for an audience, I listened to him, to the apologies and begging. I did forgive, but I never forgot. Time heals all wounds, and the day came when I was happy again.

I ended up marrying somebody else. The son of the disgraced record keeper turned out to be the perfect partner, he knew how harsh life could get, he understood me like nobody else, he accepted who I was and not who people said me to be. I always cherished that first romance as it taught me an important lesson, but my thoughts never wondered back of what could have been.


So this is the second part of the story, a lot of things happening and some connections entwined from our universe. I don't know where I got the Marie Antoinette in all of that, but that was of what I dreamed of. Plus in my dream she ended up marrying somebody she didn't love, just in spite. And she even had a marriage contract, but I really didn't like that kind of personality, so I changed it.

Oh, and the ritual going on is something every mage family does, they pass a little of their powers to their kids, a little wisdom a little sugar and spice :)

Hope you enjoyed!

21124334_1565607776833086_1157189174_n.jpg

I wish best of everything to you,
Linda

Sort:  

I think I now finally understand the whole mind-reading "thing"! lol

Great twist there, capturing how every once in a while, life tosses you a gimme if you're astute enough to catch it...

I am a witch, a mage, a vampire and every other thing in the imaginary world in my head. So, yes, I can read your thoughts! :D

Yeah, I didn't really want this to be mistaken for a love story, plus my dream was even more dramatic than the story I wrote, so...
But love seems to be written and rewritten a million times, and I get it, it is amazing! But first loves, crushes, lovers, I think those mostly don't work out because we are so inexperienced and naive, plus these days at 16 we think we have met the love of our lives, I know I did. And now that I look back, I know that that teenage relationship taught me a lot, I still think it was ridiculous, though :D
Plus I think the whole Romeo and Juliet situation could have been avoided if they were not just kids, kids tend to do crazy things.

Yeah, at that age most people seem more enamored with the illusion of who someone is, or who they could become, as opposed to who they really are, worts and all, and how "compatible" they actually are. There's only so long anyone can go on putting up a facade, before you wake up one morning and discover we all go to the bathroom, and we all look funny when our hair is messed up! lol

Wait, everybody goes to the bathroom? I have some things to find out about my boyfriend!
It is quite true, it took me a while to come to terms with all the quirks of my boyfriend and to accept some things that I did not think I could live with, that were actually not that big. I think in the beginning I had painted the perfect picture and not considered that I can not just make someone into my mold.

Loads of information. Many thanks. Love it. @lindahas Followed

Which information was the most useful to you?

Quite fictitious @lindahas good post:)

I'm getting some serious Anne Rice vibes here and I love it <3

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lindahas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.35 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

That young mage!! What a disappointment. Glad you married her off happily :)

Haha, had to give that happy ending :D

Thank you for that!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66222.18
ETH 3310.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70