I Want to Write but have Nothing to Say // How do you Overcome Writer's Block?

in #writing6 years ago

Concrete block - geograph.org.uk - 595329

This is sort of a question and sort of a prompt to force myself to write something. I find it difficult to put word to screen. In part, I think this is because I care about writing, particularly my own, which is not terrific and likely could be accurately defined as serviceable. The thing is, I know that I am not a great writer, though I once had aspirations of being one. More and more, this is okay with me. Still, I have trouble sitting down and writing. I find myself wanting to write something but second guessing what it is that I have to say or at times not having anything to say at all, having only the desire to write instead.

It is somewhat annoying to me that I still have the desire to write. I've given up on being a writer in the traditional sense, but a platform like Steemit gives me hope that there is still a place for me as a marginally talented voice who occasionally has something useful, meaningful, or true to say. And this hope keeps the desire to write alive.

Still, I find that the desire to produce often outweighs my actual ability (or perhaps willingness) to do so.

So on to the question: How do you write when you have writer's block?

Or how do you force yourself to produce writing, which might be a similar question in some regard.

Sort:  

For the past couple weeks I have been just writing text for Steemit posts and not worrying about adding pictures. I have found this helps me get my thoughts out in a more natural way. It feels more like writing a comment, which I have no problem doing. Making a post felt so "big" in a way, but when I just started writing text I was more easily able to share in a more natural voice.

Perhaps I should do that... and then add pictures later.

The platform kind of forces you to add pictures because the posts are more visible, but I agree that it is somewhat of a pain to do so, unless it is for a large project that you have a lot of your own pictures from (like your wife's garden post).

I find that what I personally struggle with in writing is feeling like my opinions are stupid or that what I'm saying just isn't worth, probably what you said about second guessing. In these situations I just try to not care for a little bit and write even if it feels ridiculous and then read it after a while to see if it makes any sense at all. Probably not a very helpful advice since I came to this post to see if I could find any help from the comments as well :D

Write a crypto review and analysis over the last months.. from investing in Steem to the power down.. to the sudden Steem value... Fear of missing out vs hodl...

I powered up on a personal loan, and for a few months, it looked like I was going to lose about 50% of what I put in, but if these prices hold another month or so, I will end up having made a good chunk. I will probably write about it once the process is done.

I was wondering if you felt cheated putting into Steem instead of bitcoin or otherwise. When you vanished for those months I was hoping that wasn't the cause.

It wasn't the cause, but it didn't help.

There is light at the end of the tunnel as they say.

I've also been distracting myself with bullet games of chess (1 minute timer for each player) and as I work through games things just come from my subconscious.

Congratulations @lilrut! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64251.91
ETH 3494.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54