The Mandela Effect & Using STEEM Technology to Potentially Preserve Memories / Timelines

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

Normally these types of posts I leave to folks with far better tuned tin-foil hats.. But given the potentially life altering and catastrophic nature of these alleged changes to our reality documentation and discussion of the events on the STEEM network is a must.

Note: While I'm still very much on the fence that The Mandela Effect exists some discrepancies within my own memory or having childhood memory of certain iconic movie sayings in one example given below have me wondering what exactly is going on in our collective memories or reality!

What is the Mandela Effect?

For those of you unaware of what has been dubbed "The Mandela Effect" supposedly coined by Fiona Broome after she discovered she had memories of Nelson Mandela dying in prison around the 1980's , but she wasn't the only one.. She also discovered that hundreds if not thousands of other people had similar memories to hers that did not sync up with current reality. She created a website located at mandelaeffect.com which explains it far better and in-depth than I can here.

TL:DR; People around the world have memories of things differently than current reality.

Is this just mass confabulation or is this phenomenom happening right in front of our eyes?

"Luke, I am your Father"

Darth Vader's iconic line in Star Wars after severing the hand of his son Luke Skywalker..

Right?

Uhh.. Well. No actually. 16 Second Clip (I remember it as it's written in the title)

I'm fully aware they shoot different takes, scenes and versions of cinematic offerings.. But I honestly remember watching this as a kid and hearing Darth Vader say "Luke, (deep breath) I am your father!" but seemingly cannot find a clip that matches this memory. Perhaps my mind is beginning to "lose it" after all these years? Truth be told I don't know!

What do you remember in the 1980's version of Star Wars in this scene?

Below a 20 minute video below that further shows some strange occurrences going on.

Summarizing the video above, many popular culture references and other long known sayings seem to have either been remembered wrong by hundreds of thousands of people or they have in fact somehow been changed.. Leaves me with a chill down my spine.

Theories Regarding the Cause of the Mandela Effect

While my theoretical physics is a little rusty compared to some an overwhelming uproar is being heard across the internet with various people speculating that as humans have moved forward in technology they may have stumbled onto something completely out of this world.

Many of you are aware that recently humanity has started dabbling with quantum computing. With D-Wave computer now available to anyone affording the hefty price tag and now scaling with their own version of moore's law all sorts of wild computing and alien forms of data collecting have been exhibited by our species.

If you haven't seen the video circa 2013 which features the Founder and CTO of D-Wave Geordie Rose "dumbing it down" I highly suggest you check it out below.. It's pretty darn freaky near the end. The technology and physics behind this is mind-blowing to say the least.

"It feels like an altar to an alien god"

Fun fact, One of the largest purchasers of these new fangled quantum computing devices was the CERN Hadron Collider which is the largest man made device in the world and recently has been the site of humanities first discovery of the fabled anti-matter of science fiction.

Also known as the Large Hadron Collider(and wiki) this huge installation which occupies nearly 1000 square kilometers between France and Switzerland. While the nature of the experiments going on there are mostly public and in large part have researchers smashing matter together at nearly the speed of light to see what fun bits come out of the collision or particles.

Some of their findings are downright astounding, From the Higgs Boson to actually being able to create and contain Anti-Matter for minutes at a time. Now I love science and the fact we are ripping into what makes reality tick so to speak is incredibly exciting..


(a screencap outlining some anti-matter experiments - Taken from home.cern - click image to visit site )

But has anyone thought out potential repercussions of literally tearing matter and reality apart just to see how it looks? I cannot help but feel that perhaps in conducting these experiments they may have very well found a way to alter or manipulate reality as we know.

As Always, Do Your OWN Research, Question Everything.

I'm not saying that I 100% believe or want to state that somehow CERN has merged realities some how but if by some highly inconceivable chance they have managed to do just that and the Mandela Effect is somehow a real phenomena at the very least we may have a chance in combating it given the tools given to us by the STEEM network.

STEEM as a Tool to Combat the Mandela Effect

I'm not entirely sure if my theory is sound but if by some way we can use STEEM to record and compare our memories as a collective consciousness we may be able to fully realize the extent of what is going on and hopefully preserve our realities as they are potentially merged with alternate realities.

STEEM's immutability is something we currently take for granted. Even though I've not personally seen enough evidence to 100% support true belief in the Mandela Effect (as I question everything, including myself as to form semi intelligent thought) just the very fact there is possibility for things to just all of a sudden change.. is spooky. People may very well possess or be able to create devices in the future that can change entire realities, timelines and memories. Will STEEM remain unaffected by these potentially time/space warping events that may allegedly occur? I believe it would given the nature of its blockchain tech.

It's important we record our thoughts and make memories in an immutable format!

Because who knows.. You may wake up one day with everything changed in your reality.


Vote @klye for Witness!

https://steemit.com/~witnesses


A Proud STEEMbassador of Canada

Thank you for your votes, the opportunity and support!

Sort:  

I must react here... I hope you don't mind. And correct a few points (I honestly almost fell from my chair reading your post).

Antimatter is produced since decades and not only at CERN. A positron is antimatter. PET scans are everywhere today. Just to quote an example. The antimatter produced in those experiments are antihydrogen and antiprotons. I wrote a couple of posts about that. What do you really want to do with those, even for a minute, except observing them (these are not particles going at the speed of light), they are cooled down and trapped in magnetic fields so that they can be observed. Otherwise, they will not last a nanosecond before being annihilated. The calculations are doable by any master students in particle physics.

Antimatter experiments you mention are not related to the Large Hadron Collider. CERN is not only the LHC, but more than that as well. All results are public, published in open access publications that anyone can access and read. Thousands of people are involved in all CERN experiments (even tens of thousands). Do you really think about a conspiracy of such a scale? Which is what you indirectly suggest.

But has anyone thought out potential repercussions of literally tearing matter and reality apart just to see how it looks? I cannot help but feel that perhaps in conducting these experiments they may have very well found a way to alter or manipulate reality as we know.

Yes I did... As thousands of other physicists. Using it to manipulate reality is just sci-fi. Proof me how this can be done, and I will prove you this cannot be and explain you why.

Do you really think about a conspiracy of such a scale?

Yes. Are you familiar with compartmentalization?

Also, have you ever wondered why CERN has a statue of the Hindu god Shiva which symbolizes the dance of creation and destruction?

credit

Actually I know why. I was walking in front of this statue everyday during more than 500 days of my life and I actually still have an office space in the building behind the picture.

The statue is a gift from India to celebrate its collaboration with CERN from the early 60ies. You can read all the details here.

Did you ever hear about the "explosions" that occurred at CERN around May 2014? It was kept hush-hush. This isn't the first or last time something like this has happened over there.

I remember reading articles that showed pictures of a residential building(s) melted/burnt to the ground but can no longer find it since it's probably been scrubbed from the Internet. Here is a video:

I was employed by CERN at that time. I don't remember anything about that. In addition, there is no residential area in CERN, except the hostel. And I can guarantee you that it has not been destroyed, for having used it many times since then.

I am not convinced about the video. How can I see it is at CERN?

I guess the Shiva statue was explained well enough for you.

I read into that Donald Marshall link you posted . So apparently there's a clone of him in some sort of complex with other people and he's tortured there during his REM sleep. This is also a similar method that the illuminati use to have secret meetings.

Another fun fact, he also claims to have written the R.E.M song 'losing my religion' ... REM sleep and R.E.M ... what a connection.

Come on... does that not sound more like someone who's a paranoid schizophrenic?

Truth be told none of us know exactly the repercussions of smashing these particles together.

Yes, we have sensors to detect a lot of theoretical things... But I refuse to believe for a moment humanity has "figured this out" in any means.

For every collision that happens there very well COULD be some nasty little particle released that does something unexpected. We truly don't know. I know personally this is more of a "what if" rather than a concrete ideal.. But in the land of "what if" and speculation something like this device could in fact (maybe) create ripples in time and space.

Truth be told none of us know exactly the repercussions of smashing these particles together.
Yes, we have sensors to detect a lot of theoretical things... But I refuse to believe for a moment humanity has "figured this out" in any means.

But we did figure out. We are producing particles we know a lot about, how they interact with the detector material, etc. We can reconstruct everything that is going on in there. And it is not only theory, but also experiment. And the unknown is exciting. But don't imagine the unknown will go very far (see below).

For every collision that happens there very well COULD be some nasty little particle released that does something unexpected. We truly don't know.

Which would be great. There are many new physics theories that are just waiting for these new phenomena. New particles will either interact with the detector and then will not leave it and decay into Standard Model particles. Or they will leave the detector invisibly, like dark matter. But this means it does not interact with normal matter (only very very rarely which is why we have not managed to observe it so far, in particular in direct detection experiment as dark matter particle are going through Earth constantly, unnoticed (like neutrinos by the way that we know for sure they exist)).

I know personally this is more of a "what if" rather than a concrete ideal.. But in the land of "what if" and speculation something like this device could in fact (maybe) create ripples in time and space.

No it can't create any ripple. For this, you need either mass, or energy, or both. We don't have any of those (in an amount significant enough to alter spacetime) at the LHC. You have natural particle physics phenomena with an energy billions times larger than the one of the LHC. And those have not even alter anything. Then at the LHC... this is simple: no way.

"But this means it does not interact with normal matter"

As someone who seems highly educated on the matter this seems like an odd things to say.

I can't help but think that smashing the very glue of matter apart would yield at the very least something that would be able to interact with particles around it other than just the detectors as you are stating.

I had read about "force" particles of some type as well as some other odd particles that seemingly get ripped towards the earths core after testing..

Surely you are better educated than I am on this matter..! But completely discrediting something like this where you do have mass and energy colliding at near light speeds... Well I'm not entirely sold either way on it. :/

Sorry for my language. I should have explained more. Dark matter interacts gravitationally like ordinary matter. But it is not normal matter in the sense it does not interact electromagnetically or via weak interactions. That's the only reason of my 'normal'. :) I hope this makes it clearer.

I can't help but think that smashing the very glue of matter apart would yield at the very least something that would be able to interact with particles around it other than just the detectors as you are stating.

Which particle other than detectors? Because there are actually none of those. The vacuum conditions in the LHC are such that you have the beams, and our detectors.

I had read about "force" particles of some type as well as some other odd particles that seemingly get ripped towards the earths core after testing..

You have force carriers in the Standard Model that are the particles responsible for mediating the fundamental interactions. For the rest, I have no clue what you are talking about. If you can provide some article I could read, I could probably comment better :)

Surely you are better educated than I am on this matter..! But completely discrediting something like this where you do have mass and energy colliding at near light speeds... Well I'm not entirely sold either way on it. :

The energy there is not that huge. An LHC collision as roughly the energy of two high-speed trains that would collide. It is not such enormous. As said above, you have many phenomena (macroscopic and microscopic) at much larger energies.

Finally, I am not discrediting everything. Using false memories is one thing, but writing that tens of thousands of particle physicists from all around the world are trying to manipulate the human memories... That's too much for me. I cannot believe in this before seeing any proof.

Wow! Excellent blog. The Mandela Effect (ME) is one of the subjects I decided to leave out in my Top 10 Crazy Things I Believe are True blog. I felt like it was bizarre enough and didn't want to push it.

My Firsthand Experience With The Mandela Effect

When I first discovered ME in early 2016 these were the names of the following movie and show:

  • Interview With A Vampire

  • Sex In The City

Seeing those names didn't jive with my memory so I decided to call my sister and ask her what she remembered. She told me that I was wrong and that those were the correct names. I was left dumbfounded.

Fast forward to Fall 2016 and I saw a tweet on Twitter saying how Sex In The City is now called Sex And The City. That's when I noticed Interview With A Vampire had also changed to what it is now. I shortly after called my sister again and now she was the one that was left dumbfounded.

Has My Reality Recently Changed?

After experiencing ME firsthand I needed to find an easy way to track if my reality ever changes again. I found the following helpful post on reddit: How to Test if You've Changed Universes. The universe I'm in has not changed for the past ~6 months. We are still in universe "H." As in, H-adron Collider (so you don't forget).

What Causes the Mandela Effect?

You hit the nail on the head with your CERN theory because that is exactly what whistleblower Donald Marshall says to be causing it. The movie Groundhog Day is based on this technology. They can rewind time to the last time particles collided (3 days? 1 week?). I'm not sure exactly why we experience minor changes in our reality though. They are also limited to the amount of times they can do this without universal destruction.

Interview With A Vampire

Sex In The City

Both things from my universe as well! Glad to have been there with you and to see you are here now. What a damn odd occurrence we seem to be aware through. I thought I was a bit crazy at first.

Terrifying to think the particles given off by the experiments may very well be distorting our space/time connection.

Thank you for sharing your found resources. Will read into them more.

I wasn't aware of this Donald Marshall guy but will check him out too!

Cheers man!

Terrifying to think the particles given off by the experiments may very well be distorting our space/time connection.

Then show me how they could... You need heavy masses or a lot of energy to distort space-time. We don't have that in the LHC collisions at CERN (which is the machine with the largest energy in it).

Perhaps you only need tiny particles to do this sort of thing though too.

Everything has stored energy and mass as far as I know. But I've not really kept entirely up to date on theoretical physics sadly.

I'm not proclaiming either or here. Merely saying it's a phenomenon which some are experiencing and one possible theory behind the glitch in the matrix so to speak is that perhaps the scientists up in CERN stumbled into something.

The size does not matter. What matters is the energy, as you say. Mass is just a form of energy.

Just to rewrite what I said in other words, if you can produce such a thing at the LHC, it is produced in the universe since long ago as well. And also in our atmosphere where phenomena are occurring at an energy billions times larger than at the LHC at CERN.

Unfortunately, we have not observed anything at the moment.

They are also limited to the amount of times they can do this without universal destruction.

This would explain why CERN has a statue of the Hindu god Shiva, which symbolizes the cosmic dance of creation and destruction.


credit

Here are whistleblower Donald Marshall's words on this:


src

The website above archives all of Donald's Facebook conversations.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.53 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 25 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I too use it for this purpose.

Besides the social networking aspect of the network which was the original draw for most.. The fact we are able to backup our thoughts and memories on a medium such as STEEM is amazing.

Yeah I kind of had that same thought yesterday and posted about it. Kind of weird how things happen in clusters. You and I thinking similar things... Perhaps there is something to this Simulation hypothesis...

Very interesting..! Some say we are all linked by a collective unconscious, perhaps this is something that is supposed to be coming through the pipeline so to speak?!

Very possible. I see clustering frequently... I sometimes refer to is as Strange Attractors.

Largely disagree with the Mandela FX stuff, but what's true is there weren't persistent consensus-formed digital records before bitcoin

The hashes of the networks blocks are what could potentially save our memories... Hashes can't be buggered about with.

An economy of hashes.. I could get behind.

Hello, Clarice...

I don't know, at first glance it seems to be some kind of armchair logic with a bunch of commonly misquoted lines from movies.

Thrown in with some magical lands that may have existed. Along with anectodotal ... seemingly bizzare stories.

Or maybe... It's a simulation!

Another one I remember but isn't in this reality seemingly..!
Or, is my memory finally starting to show signs from the marijuana..? lol

Do you have any mis-memory at all with current reality by chance wingz?

It stems beyond movies though.. Seems even brand names and whatnot have also been modified to some.

Movies make sense because you attach context to words and the images and they then get collectively misquoted.

Brands make sense too because they subtly change and shift over time. I imagine at times without the companies announcing it.

I think the best way to determine it would be to find some objective test. Otherwise it's prone to alot of heuristic biases. Especially that second video. Where there's a list at the end, you might connect to a couple of the misquoted movie lines and then question the others.

Then the deep spiral down the rabbit hole begins.

You may very well be correct wingz. I misquote sometimes and perhaps these are just hiccups in my own brain and trying to patch something that makes sense into the holes left by my own misplaced memories?

The brand thing I get. I've noticed a trend in the way things are marketed the past few years in regard to logo designs and whatnot and it does for lack of better term "seem to be the same crap". What I am referring to is the bloated 3D shiny letters we see most brands sporting these days.

A subjective test eh? Have you anything in mind by chance? So many theories floating around without science to back them.. And now with ole trump trying to silence the scientists... We need STEEM more than ever.

In the video it scrolled through a list of alternate names. I think a better way off the top of my head would be to ask questions without revealing the quote or title.

Something like... you know that show about those 4 women and sex. What was it called?

Not revealing any names or the results of the 'test' until the end and then letting them know.

Haha, not exactly a scientific objective test, but far better than telling a chilling story and then listing the alternate names next to eachother at the end

Mmm. Agreed. The presentation method could have been better for sure. Tests are fun especially when trying to get answers for hard to answer questions.

psuedo-science and science fiction are where actual science ends up anyways. Pretty interesting to see how far we've come in such a short amount of time.

(aliens guy look)

Nesting...

It seems like it could be possible with parallel universes and simulation theory and a bunch of weird science we haven't been able to properly look into.

Fun to speculate though, almost like reading a sci-fi novel.

Thanks Kyle,
That was a very interesting read. So according to Geordie Rose we have one year left before we find a planet like earth. Funny we don't even agree it's round yet. LOL. #flatearth

I always got a giggle of the flat earth theory... But until somehow I manage to get to space to see the globe I don't honestly know for sure!

Yeah twenty years ago when I left Canada for the U.S the earth was round, oblong. Now the earth may be flat. I suppose if I move to china I may actually be upside down. I'm out of foil paper now, thanks for the post.

Canada to the US?! You sir are a madman. :D

Ahh. understandable.

I hope your theory works. Look forward to hearing more from you.

Fun post. It has nothing to do with the LHC though it is more likely the fluidity and fallibility of human memory.

Every time you access a memory there is the potential to re-write it. That gives rise to false memories.

That gives me and idea for a post!

Further the kind of things that happen at the LHC are happening all the time at various places in space.

Also if some mysterious time troll was going around changing things why would the Steem blockchain be preserved?

Putting my time traveller hat on causality would dictate that any changes in this universe would apply to all related objects.

"Also if some mysterious time troll was going around changing things why would the Steem blockchain be preserved??

I thought about this as well.. If they were some how able to merge realities (unlikely but you never know) would the hashes of the STEEM blocks still be the same? If they contained different info I think they would differ cryptographically would they not?

This post was intended mostly as science fiction and to get people thinking and questioning things. I don't have enough concrete evidence to bring fourth to support it either way. :D

The human memory is a very interesting thing. My understanding is you are merely referencing the last time you remember it.

Glad to help you out with post ideas. :)

I thought about this as well.. If they were some how able to merge realities (unlikely but you never know) would the hashes of the STEEM blocks still be the same? If they contained different info I think they would differ cryptographically would they not?

There is no reason to think so, after all if our memories were altered to be the same the blockchain should be too.

When I watches Demolition Man as a teenager the Restaurant was Taco Bell. And now it is pizza hut. All the links are in this article. Showing the Mandela Effect...

https://steemit.com/life/@yoda1917/demolition-man-and-the-mandela-effect-was-it-pizza-hut-or-taco-bell

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63957.85
ETH 2753.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66