Plot Versus Character: A Balanced Approach to Writing Great Fiction

in #writing6 years ago

I come from a family of people who consider themselves latent writers. Most of us are secretly working on our great novel that will someday reveal that we, of all the family members, are the real writer. The one with the goods.

Families are weird.

Even weirder is the fact that, other than through school assignments, none of us has ever studied the craft of writing. I'm not sure what we've been thinking - maybe that we were just born knowing how to write amazing fiction?

This was my initial realization when I opened Jeff Gerke's phenomenal book titled Plot Versus Character: A Balanced Approach to Writing Great Fiction. If you are only going to read one book about how to write a novel, this is the book to read!

'Read' is perhaps the wrong verb to use in approaching Gerke's book. It is more like having a mentor work with you to develop your ideas into an early draft, but the exercises he takes you through result in something so much richer than I ever would have achieved on my own.

Gerke explains character and plot and how they work together and then asks you to think about your character in ways that create a believable human being, starting from their Myers-Briggs type.

Once your protagonist is fleshed out, you move on to plot, viewing it as a means to challenge and develop their personality and reveal their transformation through the event of the plot.

If you're like me and have been thinking you were just going to sit down and write your great novel one day, without really studying the how of writing, this is an easy and rewarding book to work through and, if you stick with it, the results will be worth it.

What about you? What books have improved your writing?

Sort:  

Hi @kittyandcheese. Can I ask what country are you from? When I read your post it feels like I am listening to Anne of Green Gabels.

Anyway you posed a great question.

My answer is:
"Every book!!"

Reading a book about how to write is like reading a book about how to drive a car. It's nice but you just keep reading and the styles of several authors grow on you you. Then mix it up with some horrifying life experiences some traumas and some failures and you've got a writer. the book that changed my writing style the most was probably the Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger.

I recommend this post to be promoted on the #tkc discord and I would like to hear more from you. Please join the #tkc discord channel and see you post promoted there.

Thanks, @mineopoly! I have joined the #tkc discord.

Congratulations on the TKC contest!

Thanks for sharing this post with the #tkc community! You're doing a great job, keep up the good work! Congrats on winning!

Congrats on the win!

Great post. I don't actually have a book that improved my writing, maybe I should read one ;-)

Thanks, @cryptotem! I suggest this one . : )

I started reading another by Jeff Gerke, Write Your Novel In a Month, but it sent me down the Myers-Briggs rabbit hole and I never finished it. I did decide he was right that the pop psychology Please Understand Me 2 is like a characterization cheat sheet.

But one of my favorite books about writing is Characters and Viewpoint by Orson Scott Card. His How to Write Science Fiction & Fantasy is good, too, if that's your genre.

I am not a sci-fi writer but I love to read it and Orson Scott Card is a favourite. I will check out Characters and Viewpoint. Curious - what makes you say M-B is a rabbit hole?

Good post, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste :D greetings

I think this book is definitely for me. I share a lot of your feelings and I am trying to train myself day by day. Thank you for sharing it with #TKC team, keep trusting your content in this great project and help us grow!

If you like to write, it is a great book to work through just for the fun of it. I learned a lot.

I will surely read it. Congratulations for being selected by #TKC team, continue to entrust your content to our team.

Talking about book that have improve me I have many on the list, so its difficult to chose one but I can say my favorite author is Dr Isaiah Michael Wealth.

Thanks for answering!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57883.59
ETH 3070.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34