Tips for Fic Part 1: The Writer’s Guide to Getting some Action

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I haven’t written fiction in more years than I care to say, but recently I became involved with the unbelievably awesome Fiction Workshop over at PALnet’s Discord channel. What started as a Peer-Review sub-channel (with little to no community, direction, or participation) has – in large part due to @Rhondak’s tireless efforts – become a supportive, inspirational, and discerning group of authors dedicated to creating and promoting quality content.

And by “quality” we mean fiction that would be publishable on the open market. Let’s be honest, there’s a lot of stuff on Steemit making big bucks that is frankly unreadable.


I’m looking at you, “Exclamation! Marks! End! Every! Sentence! Guy!” and you, “random-Capitalization-Of-words-girl”

Rather than sitting around licking our wounds or flagging shitposts, we are ‘tending to the logs in our own eyes’ by submitting our work to rigorous examination and feedback. We are putting our time and effort into each other’s work because we genuinely believe a rising tide lifts all ships. We want to be that rising tide and at least some of the ships.

I find certain recommendations are being made again and again (both by me and to me) and I thought it would be nice to spend some time sharing those in a more easily and permanently accessible way than a channel comment.


"Yeah, just scroll up about 30 hours to see when @PegasusPhysics wrote an extensive explanation of that very thing”

So I’m going to dedicate a series of posts to writing to be read, starting (appropriately) with the beginning.

Let’s start [the action] at the very beginning

According to those in the know, you have about 100 words to either hook a reader or lose them. When you read your own writing, step outside your head as best you can and ask yourself, “What have I said to a reader in this first paragraph or two?”

If you see that you’ve told them:

  1. What your character looks like
  2. What he does for a living
  3. Where he is right now

Then those things better be really interesting. If they are:

  1. Handsome
  2. Office job
  3. Work

You’re going to have a bored reader. A bored reader will quickly become a non-reader. If, on the other hand, they are:

  1. Deeply scarred below the right eye
  2. Black ops team leader
  3. Hiding behind enemy lines

Plenty of people are going to want to read more.

A great way to have an impact immediately - while also getting in those things you feel are essential to impart in the beginning - is to pepper your descriptions of the action with hints or references instead of spending your first 100 crucial words spelling out everything about your character. Let your reader get to know your character as they would a person in real life: a little bit at a time. How weird would it be if someone you just met rattled off an exhaustive itemization of his every character trait, educational experience, relationship status, and family member?


I did NOT need to know you had a hairy back…yet

I think that’s enough to start with. I really want to keep these relatively short and sweet. I go a little more in depth on how to let your reader in on details without drowning them in narrative chatter in my next post, Show, Don’t Tell, aka Show me yours, I'll Show you Mine

Thank you so much for reading! Don't forget to Upvote, Comment, and Resteem!

Check out my latest scary stuff!

DQmRSmRyg4MdRdiKsWTMbfyiAG673K1yP65MoUTbCXGp9Xi.gif

Proud member and supporter of the #minnowsupportproject - brought to you by @aggroed, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, and @canadian-coconut
Click HERE to learn more

Sort:  

I read your articles with writing tips, and they are amazing. So helpful. I used them on the short story I'm currently working on, and it early helped a lot. Plan to prune and shape some more, but this will definitely help me a lot. Finally feel like I might at some point be ready to submit some of my stuff to the workshop for a red ink facial. Thanks!

Awesome! I'm so glad they helped and I look forward to seeing you there!

"red ink facial"...love it!

"red ink facial"...love it!

Excellent advice. Thanks, JR.

WORD.

I don't even know how to say how much I agree with your recommendations.

Thank you for the mention, too. Methinks you give me too much credit, LOL, but it's still nice to have supportive members of the Workshop with your level of skill.

Blushes

I don't think "too much credit" could be given. You are literally in there 24/7 all while saving dogs and taming wildlife. You're like Snow White, but useful and with less implied non-consensual stuff.

Or an evil politician bent on world domination... evil enough to have his wife brutally murdered to gain the sympathy vote in the upcoming election...

Hmmm. Maybe that's a contest prompt lol! Good to see you @richq11. Do you ever come by the workshop?​

What workshop? There's so much I don't know about (and even more I can't figure out how to use). I'll tell you the truth... I'm a writer (and not a very good one, I don't think), but it's what I do. To me the comp is just a typewriter with gadgets (most of which I don't know how to use).

Then I guess you aren't on Discord, lol. The PALnet channel at this link is where the workshop is. It's a little confusing, but you set up an account through that link. It's free and it's basically an advanced chat room platform. Once you're in, there will be a list of channels down the left side of the screen and you want #fiction-workshop. Stop in and give me a holler, and I'll walk you through the rest. It's a fantastic and supportive community. We do peer-review and help each other with story ideas and everyone is polite or @rhondak boots them RIGHT the hell out!

I'm on Discord but have a little trouble navigating it... I'm ancient and lack the "tech gene" requisite for internet navigation. These things take me a while to learn.

Bookmarking this! And already waiting for the next installment. :)
I'm sure I'm going to end up creating a checklist with all the info you are so thoughtfully sharing. Help me loads with my writing! :)

Thanks so much, I really hope it's helpful. I know I need the reminders myself, lol!

You've been UpVoted via the UpVote Experiment 002 Bot. Depending on my VP & the price of STEEM you should get a $.01-$.03 for your trouble.
Read more about this experiment here.

Thank You - @blueorgy

Cool beans!

If, on the other hand, they are:

  1. Deeply scarred below the right eye
  2. Black ops team leader
  3. Hiding behind enemy lines


I mean, don't shut up - you get what I mean! lol
Hey, that could make a for a good contest prompt. ^_^

AAAAhahahahaha! Nice :)

Ooh, I agree on the contest prompt, as well! Thanks for coming by and for being so awesome in the workshop!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jrhughes from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Great post here. Thanks. On to the next tip.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97