SILVER LINING #14

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

This is a complementary series for the Steemit-exclusive, original novel A Day in the Clouds. Be sure to check out the latest chapter's Part 1 and Part 2 before you read this post to avoid spoilers.


<< #13

chapter_141aa02.png

Cloud Image Source

Hey Cloudheads! In our childhood, a thing is either something filled with boundless curiosity or the scariest thing that ever existed. It's always extremes. There doesn't seem to be an in-between. Wonder comes first because of our preference for the unknown, but if we get hurt by it, that fascination quickly turns to fear. Any guesses about what that creature lurking in the shadows is?

I don't want to give it away, as it'll play a big part in the final arc. I just wanted to throw it out there because this chapter marks the second mention of it in the story. So, I'll cut the teaser here and move on to the other points in the chapter.

This chapter introduced the giants Jenmu and Molet (or, my uncle Jemmo and aunt Mollet in the "real world"), and the concept of the different purposes of the fortresses. Don't get too invested on them, as this story is more of a character study and I decided to shy away from a huge ensemble. There's so much social interaction I can fit in a day. And, for someone who is not that social, it's hard for Ledd to interact with them.

I'm not quite sure if I've mentioned this before, but the open area where Ledd and Ayesa parted ways a few chapters back is a lot owned by my father. If we had moved there instead of a home nearer where my mother's family lived, then that lot would've been where my house (or, fortress) would be standing. It's interesting to think of the alternate realities where that occured. Would I have been a writer or would I have pursued different interests? But, I digress.

The area had been turned into a car wash, which was operated by my uncle Jemmo, before some employees decided it was a good decision to take a car that a customer left overnight for a joy ride. The facility remained there, so they decided to rent it out to someone else. Years passed, and it had turned into a machine shop, auto body works, and anything car-related. As I said, the facility was there, so the new management was free to choose what they wanted to do with it. I guess this gives you an overview of the size of the lot.

I initially wanted this story to be a chiasmus, but became to tedious to do. So, I did the next best thing I could do and try to wrap things up neatly. Since we've passed the halfway point, prepare to see callbacks to chapters past here and there. The crater and the (mysterious) creature/critter (unexpected almost rhyme alert!) are two of the most notable ones. Nighttime is in full swing so expect a lot of twisty, turny stuff happening soon.

I was on the fence in using the fortress-less prisoners as characters. We know that they're fictional, but Ledd certainly thinks their real. This is a callback to my own childhood when my family thought I suffered from ADD. I really didn't want to rely on them too much, but I wanted them to factor in even a little bit to the story. It's hard to balance this considerations out, and unless you're writing a series, there's only so much room for characters. The risk that you're up against here is that the story might seem to crowded. I really hope that my choice proves to be the right one.

Also, in honor of @surpassinggoogle's latest initiative, I wanted to highlight a new Filipino word that I used. Frequent readers of this story may have noticed that I've used a mix of Filipino and Spanish words in the story (which I also explain in their respective SILVER LININGs). For this chapter, I used Bathala.

Surprise Tagalog Theology Lesson!!


bathala
Image Source

During the pre-colonial times, native Filipinos were animists who worshipped deities, nature spirits (diwatas and encantos) or even the kaluluwa (or spirits of the deceased who serve the deities). Chief among those deities is the god of creation, Bathala. If you look at the deities as a pantheon, Bathala is an equivalent of Zeus or Odin, sitting atop as the All-Father type. But, it's interesting to note that the name itself was derived from Sri Batara Guru, which is the supreme god in several Indonesian mythologies, and is also known as Shiva in Hinduism. Isn't that interesting?! Not only does it solidify the Indonesian influence in Filipino culture, but that also ties it in with Hinduism.


anito
Image Source

Makes you think that religions can trace itself back into one unified history. That's something that, I think, would end a lot of conflicts. Considering that many conflicts are fueled by differences in belief, tracing all beliefs back into a universal truth would definitely remove a huge factor that sparks the disagreements. Imagine a world where insted of saying that this religion is better or this god is the only real one, we would instead be believing one truth, coming together under the same set of beliefs. Now that's a world where I want to live in! Kapayapaan at kasaganaan, or "peace and prosperity" in Filipino/Tagalog.


colonization
Image Source

When the Spanish came and converted the natives to Catholicism, the katalonan (or shamans) were condemned as witches, ancestral and nature spirits were demonized and anitos were considered as idols. For a religion that preaches about peace, Catholics really have a violent past, huh? I'm a Catholic Christian myself, even serving as an altar boy in my younger years, so yeah, I'm not throwing stones or anything, I'm just stating historical facts.

Anyway, so yeah, all the knowledge I imparted here was all gathered from years of study. If you found it fascinating and want to find out more about it, you can find tons of information elsewhere on the internet. I don't want to copy and paste information then earn from other people's hard work, even though I'll cite sources. It's not like I'm going to transfer all the earnings from this post to them after. (I transfer earnings from my story and the complementary series to its inspiration @zeppelin)

Now, back to your regularly scheduled programming. Who's that mysterious prisoner at the end? Have they been plotting this whole thing together this entire time? Ledd has always been an unreliable narrator, but I never thought he would be this unreliable! It somehow makes me mad thinking that he kept such pertinent information from us. How does this affect his renewed strategy? It doesn't seem like he consulted anybody before he made that decision. Or, did he? Why am I asking these questions to myself when I know full well what the answers are? Am I stuck in the story and have begun using the SILVER LINING series as a means to signal for a rescue? Tune in next week sports fans, for more thrills and more spills. Same cloud-time! Same cloud-channel!


Eddie-Batman!! Tenenenene! Vedder-Batman!!
bedobatman



Thanks for reading! Follow me, @jedau, if you want to live.


Leave this post a feedback, and I'll be sure to return the favor!

divider

Sort:  

Great job my friend! as usual! You have a lot of reason about Catholicism. He often boasts of creating peace and fighting for poverty. And they live in the Vatican surrounded by gold. And I have to clarify that I am Catholic, but I do not practice.

A question. Who is the little guy at the end of the post !? Do you like Eddie Vedder? I'm a fan of Pearl Jam!

@tincho

Right?? I mean, it's not wrong to criticize one's own religion, right? I'm a non-practicing Catholic as well, so I'm not just trashing one religion in favor of another. Just trying to point out historical facts. We can't change our history, but we can shape what the future looks like. It's not too late for them to change their ways and revert back to the original intention.

Oh! If you read the earlier chapters, there's another prisoner named Eddie, who's inspired by Zepp's real life brother... Vedder! Haha! Yes, his name was inspired by the famous singer. Zepp's parents are real rock fans :D

I agree, my friend. I know that the church has done good things, but also acknowledge their mistakes. For as you said, do not commit them again in the future. It's just that.

Ohhh that's cool! I have to read all the previous chapters. Have patience my friend, that for me to read in English is a challenge! But your work and dreemit deserve it. I'll go slowly but I'll do it.

No rush, brother! The story will be waiting for you when it's ready. I've peppered in a lot of Spanish words in there, so I hope you appreciate it when you read through it :D

You have no doubt, my friend, that I will enjoy it. I just need to get organized a little over time. And you have generated curiosity to see that you have used the Spanish language. I hope you have an excellent Monday!

Thank you, my friend! I look forward to your future reaction. Have an excellent... Tuesday! haha I saw this way late >.<

Excellent stuff again. A nice diversion and expansion if Bathala too. I had never heard of this and was baffled slightly. I am glad you explained the lot, I didn't quite figure it out!

Top silver linings dude!!

You know, honestly, this was one of the thinnest SILVER LINING installments. I wrote this during a pretty busy period, so I'm glad that I was able to append the Bathala explanation last minute. Do let me know if you ever encounter a strange phrase here that needs expounding, I'll be happy to explain it in a future installment.

Thanks for the high praise, brother! Not cashing out your comments is one of the best investment decisions I've made :D

I tend not to ask because when i am reading something i know that eventually the context will make sense of it. Either that or repeated use. But, i am always glad when the explanation is given too!

Is it something that I plan of making sense of eventually? You know what.. I don't know hmm I really don't know. Oh boy, that's really... I don't know... I just assumed that.. You know what.. I don't know...

What I do know is that I appreciate your continued support, dude! And, I'm glad that SILVER LINING is generating value haha! Bathala's one of those things that I didn't want to say outright, along with the other implications. Nice to have an avenue to expound though, and I'm loving all the feedback for the additional info :D

Stuck in the story, lol, that is something that happens to me ALL of the time. I can't tell you how often my family has had to say my name repeatedly when I'm writing or re-reading what I've written, or even just plotting, it's like being in a dream state, I find myself blinking my way back to reality.

That is an interesting thought, that religions could trace themselves back to one unified history.

The creature that I thought was a dog, I am definitely curious about that!
I often think about how life could have turned out if certain things had or had not occurred. Such as we moved from Long Island (just below NYC) to upstate NY when I was ten. If we'd stayed I can't imagine how different my life would have been.

Lots of thought provoking things in this one!

When you said they need to say your name repeatedly to snap you back to reality, I don't know why I thought about Candyman or Bloody Mary haha!

The religion thing has been a favorite topic of mine for a number of years now. I even have a series that deals with that, though I don't enjoy it that much.

Is it a dog though? Is it really? It could be a number of things. Heck, it could be Ledd himself, the first gigantic version of him chained up in a cage somewhere :o Oh My Glob!! Now I'm wishing that I should've written that instead :o

With regard to the butterfly effect discussion, I've actually brought it up as a possible collaboration idea with @verbal-d (the one we all talked about in the comments a week or so ago). I can't figure out how to create a private group on chat, but let's powwow about it in the coming weeks once all our schedules free up :D

Thanks for the continued support, my friend! Definitely a missing piece of this post :D

I did some research (from an anthropological point of view and out of sheer curiousity) once upon a time, and drew a similar conclusion (they're all the same). Other than that I find the variety interesting and entertaining and simply would like people to stop being arrogant sods who insist on forcing their beliefs onto everyone else XD

Now when you're stuck in your head universe like that all you have to do is...well I actually don't know as I'm not sure where I am at the best of times XD

Yay looking forward to the next instalment!

ps - aaahhhhh what's he so cute for XD

Right?? That's why I'm not quick to dismiss the Ancient Aliens theory. There are a lot of binding things in cultures, and since they occurred way after Pangaea, there had to be a way for the information to travel. It's not there was internet in ancient times. Or was there? :/

Vedder is like a tiny version of his dad. Who knew Dadier was so cute when he wasn't a giant haha! Thanks for stopping by, my friend! I always appreciate your entertaining insights :D

Dadier wasn't always a giant?! :O

(I still laugh remembering my kids' genuine confusion when they learn that adults were kids once XD)

Definitely one of the harder things to convince kids on. Heck, I'm not sure I'm even completely convinced myself!! I mean, how could prisoners become giants. They're two different species. It doesn't make any sense!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.34
ETH 2300.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47