Community, Contest, and Curation, Oh my!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)


Message in a Bottle #12
Origin: The Isle of Write
Sender: @carolkean
Recipients: Steemit Creatives

Community, Contests, and Curation, Oh my!

The Isle is hopping and every minute I don't post this, new stuff comes up to add, so I better get to it! I want to be able to squeeze every great thing happening there into this, but I can't so I'm just going to hit a few big highlights today. Be sure and follow so you don't miss the next bottle to wash up on Steemit.


Community

It's no secret we Islanders are in love with our community. The friendly people who line the beaches and fill the cabanas make it feel like we really are just basking in the sun, even though I'm writing this from the frigid climate of the Midwest.

One member who particularly warmed us all is @techslut. Her generosity in helping new Steemians to get established is legendary, and the past couple of weeks she's cast her kindness to the Isle. Responding to our need for funds to reward curated authors (more on those below) she sent a jaw-dropping 50 SBD to the account! And today, in an effort to boost the upvote we use for our fellow creatives, she delegated 200 SP to the account. So the next time an Islander gets a vote from us and it's a dime, not literally "our two cents," you know who to thank, and we say it here:

THANK YOU @TECHSLUT!

And did I mention that the number of Islanders is exploding? Less than two weeks ago we celebrated the arrival of our 200th, today we are closing in on 300! If you're among them, be sure you are using the isleofwrite tag so I might catch one of your posts in my Islander Highlights!


Contest

So many writing contests here on Steemit, with excellent prizes worth trying for, but how to find them? @moneyinfant wrote, “The problem I was having was finding them in the sea of new posts in the contest tag. You might have been having the same problem,” in the recent post: Steemit Writing Contests: Issue #3

There are many exciting contests in that post, but here's one you might not have heard about...

She liked it/We worry about you - Pick your prompt!

Twelve days ago, I launched a writing contest. Since then, I have extended the deadline to February 14 and expanded the prompt.

And remember that writing for a contest, you can win in more than one way. @GuyTMartland wrote Spacecraft Cover in response to the “She Liked It” contest prompt, and it was Curied, which means he already earned ten times the SBD that the average contest prize pool has to offer. When you respond to a contest prompt, flex your writing muscles, and set loose your creative impulses, your efforts can be rewarded in myriad ways. That was one...

And here is another...

Guaranteed $5 SBD to each of the Top Three entries.

Okay, that's not nearly what Curie can do, but what if we added the possibility of being published in a book?

Not just an e-book, for sale at Amazon and other places online, but a paper copy, one for each contributing author, along with $5 SBD for your story?

Isle of Write plans publication of five anthologies this year, one for Steemit Poetry, and four for Steemit Fiction, one in each of the following genre groups:

  • Science Fiction/Fantasy
  • Horror/Paranormal
  • Mystery/Thriller/Suspense
  • Literary

Our goal is to fill each anthology with curated Steemit authors in order to showcase to the world beyond what incredible talent Steemit has to offer.

Curation

While I will personally provide a $ 5 SBD prize to each of the top three pieces (as judged by me) I can't guarantee now that the contest winners will make it into an anthology. It will depend on space and how well any fits the bill. But I can promise you I will read every word of every entry and nominate all those that meet the requirements set out in our initial Curation to Publication Announcement

So get those thinking caps on and send me some stories, Steemit Creatives! Stat! Write them up, post them, and link them in my contest prompt or here. Remember to include the tag "keangaroo" so I can find entries easily. And if you want a little boost, pop by the Fiction Fjord at the Isle and workshop your story first!


And so this missive ends, and I set it afloat in the hopes it reaches you well, fellow Steemians!


Follow @isleofwrite for updates; click on the hashtag #isleofwrite for all the latest stories and poems. Every day, every hour, something new comes along.

We look forward to hearing from you and reading your work!


Do you believe as we do that Steemit Creatives deserve recognition for their hard work and talent? If so, please help us in our mission to reward this creativity both on and off Steemit. Upvote, resteem, follow!

Are you looking to help a community dedicated to the respect and encouragement of Steemit creativity? Please consider a donation or delegation to Isle of Write. All of our account earnings go back into the Steemit Creative community.

IOW COLOR LOGO.png

If you'd like to wash up on our shore, a click of the map brings you straight to our door!

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Sort:  

Thank you, @jrhughes, for your help not just in formatting and publishing, but in the writing as well! You have a flair for swift summary, touching on all the pertinent points, while I wander off ("Squirrel!") and dig into the undergrowth, forgetting I was on a path to somewhere. Everyone here is tolerant of each other, with our assorted strengths and weaknesses. We have Israelis, atheists, Muslims, Jews, agnostics, Christians, poets, novelists, short story writers, Oxford comma adherents, AP Stylebook fans (kill that comma!), math-challenged Luddites and creatives with Right and Left brain balanced and fully functional; we have Russian natives living here in the US, and American ex-patriots living abroad. believers of all sizes, shapes, and colors. Every day, every hour, someone new lands on our shores. There is room here, and safe haven, for all kinds of creatives, from the little minnow to the mighty whale. I'm forever grateful to Jess, Inna, Thundergod and Geke, and all who talk me through my latest techno-gaffe. Discord channels: home to so many!

Blargh! You give me too much credit. Like I said, what I did? I was grateful as hell to have your post already there to add it to rather than writing a whole new one!

Here's hoping for many more entries to the Keangaroo Contest, including mine which I am about to work on ;)

Hugs!

The Isle is blessed to have you among our many varied talents!

Thanks for the shout out, and I have added the "She Liked It" contest after becoming aware of it. And the contest trail is on Issue #8 now and going strong. If anyone here is interested in contests please feel free to follow...AND if you're aware of any contest (writing only) I haven't included please mention it in the comments.

Now I'm back to my hammock and a coconut full of rum.

Now I'm back to my hammock and a coconut full of rum.

Aren't you a bit young for that? Not the hammock, I mean. Infants are known to like those. The rum :P

I'll take his rum! As long as it's gin.

I'm quite old for an infant. Really just infantile in my thoughts.

I know, just joking :)

Thanks so much moneyinfant! The Isle is following now and so am I (@jrhughes). If I come across any good writing contests I'll ping you!

This is awesome! Glad to have you and The Isle following along.

This is awesome!

Very beautiful scenery, I like

You post is perfectly what we want in this steem platform. But we need to suport each other.
U deserve an award...

I'll drop my piece for the contest very soon.... I love this

Just checking in and saying, "Hi." ;-)

Gotcha! hello and welcome to Steemit!! Looking forward to seeing more of you here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60994.68
ETH 2938.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46