Chapter 1: The Story Begins

in #writing7 years ago

dylan2.png

I.

Starting is the most difficult part, I decided right then and there to get up and do it, tear it off, just like a band-aid over an infected flesh wound not yet scarred. I could sense the inspiration coming. The setting was vividly preserved in my mind; the hues were beginning to become coherent and although I tried to tear myself away for the mundane tasks of the day to follow a greater force drove me elsewhere. As I headed down the hall of our single story suburban paradise the grueling reality began to set in. I had nothing. No story, no beliefs, no experience and least of all money. In order to pull this off- without becoming a mockery, or worst, disgracing those who had so eloquently achieved prior success- I would need at the bare minimum a unique perspective.

“Cereal is on the table, take your medicine, I’m going to take a shower. This bus is leaving at 7:45 sharp!” my mother proclaimed.
I realized at that point that I had already started off with the wrong hand, it was as cliché as my subconscious had foretold. I still wasn’t entirely sure what it was I was setting out for that day, I only knew my ambition was on overload, my plan was flawless and today was the day. It was time to be proactive, get the ball rolling and put my great plan- albeit idealistic and misguided- into effect.
I must say, in the heat of the moment my performance was spectacular. My coughs were hearty, saving the painful yet effective deep sternum coughs for the moments when I was within earshot of my parents. The thin doors and walls that hung as a divider provided little acoustical solitude and I knew that my efforts went duly noted. After a few timely sneezes and sniffles my mother finally expelled the phrase I had been trying to pry out of her.

“Are you feeling OK today?”

“Ehh, I’ve been better” I dejectedly responded

“Come here let me feel your forehead, hmm a little warm. What’s going on today at school?”

“Just a regular day I suppose”

I knew all too well that if I played my cards wrong all was ruined. I needed to stay vocally reclusive and not inopportunely inform Mom of my 9:00 spelling test. Yet, my conscience always got the better of me. There were few secrets between us and I felt if I simply added, “I suppose” to the end of a statement it left a degree of unforeseen variables available for later inquisition should it be necessary.

“Perhaps you should stay home today. Your father has the day off so he will watch you. Go back to bed, and drink…”

“Mom, I am 10 years old!” I exclaimed “I know: keep my fluid levels high as not to get dehydrated, one Tylenol Cold Day tablet every 4-6 hours, get plenty of rest and be sure to cover your mouth when you sneeze.”

“I swear some days I have no idea where you came from…”

“We have been through this. After the moment of conception my chromosomes….”

“That will be enough mister.” My mother said as she lovingly disheveled my golden brown hair.

On the quick right turn to my bedroom I decided a sniffle, mucus throat combination would not only seal the deal but also serve nicely as a victory salute. I could barely contain my excitement as my mother fixed her hair and put on her Cosmopolitan endorsed facial products.

The door closed and my day had begun. I quickly ran to my dresser and changed out of my foolish Spiderman pajamas into something more fitting to...Now the time had come to finally figure out why it was that I had skipped school in the first place. Now I knew it couldn’t have been some benevolent plan of narcissistic proportions. The fact of the matter was I hated missing school.

I would like to point out that while my peers are studying Simple Present Tense verb usage and pontificating about J.K. Rowling’s recent adventures, I am currently contemplating the complexity of Holden Caulfield’s post pubescent psychological struggle in the back row. But, this day off would certainly hurt my chances and ultimate goal of Community College. I guess the way I saw it, papers didn’t matter wisdom did. That is it!!! Wisdom is my goal. Today, I am to obtain the one unobtainable thing.

But what does one wear when achieving an absolute abomination of grammatical contradictions. As I thought I didn’t really see a perfect Hollywood type outfit to fit the occasion so I wore the wisest thing I could think of: Sweatpants, long-sleeved shirt, and a matching sweatshirt- primarily to give others the perception I was the leader of my own country. If I was to obtain wisdom in one day there were few details that needed to be sorted out and items to be pragmatically packed.

I didn’t want to return until mom came home at 5, which gave me a total of 9 hours. I started with the basic essentials. Trail mix, notebook, pencil (with sharpener), and a small utility knife that proved to be the single useful item from my week in the Club Scouts.

I think that Organized Religion should be the first place I look for wisdom. With all of those kind-hearted people that seem so sure of their inevitable spot in the after world. I must be able to gain some wisdom from them.

But there are an exponential number of possibilities to explore. Roman Catholics have been in the news lately, as have Muslims, and come to think of it, it seems as though the Jewish men are always in mainstream media. Living on the East Coast of the United States of America I thought it wise to begin with the Eastern Hemisphere. Now, I was thinking Globally.

The rustling sheets caused by father’s Restless Leg Syndrome endorsed sound waves filled the house as the sun was shinning on another flawless Spring Day.My mother’s glass prism left tiny rainbows spread along our open kitchen as the gentle wind brushed the feline brass topped wind chimes that dangled from the gutter of our house, I decided to take one final look around the place I had been calling home for the past 10 years.

I knew that I would not return the same naïve boy I have once been. I knew with my foresight, intelligence and sheer desire, I would succeed. To accomplish such a thing at my age would certainly be paramount. However, to leave on this journey with out a proper breakfast would be moronic.I quickly ran to the fridge for the 1% Milk that my mother always kept readily available to feed my early morning cereal addictions. I was always allowed one sugar covered box per-healthy morning dietary decision. Today’s meal would be doubled considering I choose Lucky Charms at the market. However, my feeble attempt to point out Lucky Charms had .5 less grams of sugar than the Apple Jacks I had the prior week blew up in my face.

“Good point.” My mother shockingly admitted. “The next time you choose Apple Jacks double your grains and fruits!”

“All that does is psychologically damage me, makes me not want to do research, give in to whatever anyone says…”

“What significance did Constantine have over the Roman Empire?” Responded my mom.

That question still plaques me. I reached into my backpack and pulled out my black and white marbled composition notebook, I could not believe how rapidly my plan was becoming coherent:

9:00 Eastern Philosophy
10:00 Constantine and Rome
11:00 The dome in Israel
12:00 LUNCH
1:00 Jesus and Jerusalem
2:00 Pope John Paul II
3:00 New York City
4:00 Mom’s in Transit to Home

Sort:  

Hello @ilpenseroso, upv0t3
This is a free service for new steemit users, to support them and motivate them to continue generating valuable content for the community.
<3 This is a heart, or an ice cream, you choose.

:)


R4ND0M:
3510 9899 8650 7121
6049 3808 4896 3452
7262 2951 5020 2254
9232 9128 4723 6917

Congratulations @ilpenseroso! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61766.31
ETH 2428.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64