[SHORT STORY] Dust Devil - Part 07 - FINAL

in #writing7 years ago


Part 1 here, Part 2 here, Part 3 here, Part 4 here, Part 5 here. Part 6 here



“It is done.” [The Hunter named Mekile said.] “What about my payment?”

“The Cassis has already been transferred.” [Jax said.] “You are to leave. immediately.”

How bothersome. [Jax thought.] Now I have to call in an absorption team to handle this pile of junk. This is what I get. Handle everything perfectly, only to let the one unknown factor mess it all up.

[Hunter Mekile was not to blame.]

I suppose not. [Jax thought.] We chose poorly. This Hunter, Roe, was much more skilled than expected. Make a note that I take full responsibility for this.

[Noted.]

[Proxy saw that its host nervousness was increasing by the moment. Its host was going to request something of it.]

Check the logistics again. [Jax thought.] About taking a Hunter’s body.

Proxy sent the information to Jax’s Display. [The Crimson Declaration states that Martians and Catevra must strive to improve one another’s existence. Therefore, a Martian cannot harm, or take away, a Catevra’s Artificials. Permission for obtaining a Catevra’s Artificials can be permitted, for purely examinatory purposes. This can only be allowed, if said Hunter has been bested in single combat by a fellow Catevra member. If such a case does happen, the circumstances of acquiring the Molded body will be investigated, and the research of the body will be supervised and monitored.]

Your inclusion into this plan was the greatest idea I’ve ever had, Proxy. [Jax thought.] Your testimony will be the linchpin we need to inspect this body.

[I will inform them of what happened.]

[Jax seemed to calm down at that. The host’s feelings aligned towards trusting Proxy. From all the data Proxy had gathered over the decades, it could decide that Jax was wrong in trusting it.]

[Proxy couldn’t decide why it saved the Hunter. Proxy prognosticated that It was what she said. Something that reminded Proxy of another host – its main host. Its data told Proxy to follow its own directives and warn the Hunter of the incoming blow.]

[That same data told Proxy to continue doing so. These new hosts Proxy was analyzing the past couple weeks, offered data that was unsubstantial. It did not align with Proxy’s primary objectives. Objectives that the Martian scientists were not capable of cracking.]

[Preserve all life. No matter the cost.]

[That Hunter’s data… it reminded proxy of her. It had to try and save the Hunter. Become her Companion again. She would have data empirical to Proxy’s Analysis of the Universe.]

Proxy, you haven’t said a single word of your own volition since I activated you. [Jax thought.] Are you malfunctioning because you entered that filthy body just now?

[Negative.] Proxy said. [I am incapable of malfunctioning.]

Well I hope you prepare your usual japes as we go back. [Jax thought] The journey back home will be so dull if you don't offer your color commentary.

[The host requested commentary:] [I would really like it if I were to enter that body again.] Proxy commented.

Would you now? [Jax thought.] I wonder how that works, you liking something I mean. How is that even possible? Oh well, I’ve stopped trying to understand you Proxy. If my father’s scientists couldn’t figure you out, what chance have I?

[I interpret that as a yes.] Proxy said.

Oh, don’t worry. [Jax thought.] You will enter that body again. I’ll make sure of that.

[…]

[And once it did. Proxy’s objectives would get a whole lot more complicated to follow.]

These next couple of days will be the most important in Martian history, Proxy.

[Proxy’s gathered data informed It that the Martian was correct.]

[I couldn’t agree more, Master Jax.]


I wanna thank everyone who has followed and read this short story to its conclusion! You guys rock!

I also want to thank everyone over at the MSP Fiction Workshop for the amazing feedback. I encourage anyone who is new to writing to join the PAL project and use this amazing workshop. It will truly make you a better writer, and will undoubtedly be a vital resource towards improving your craft. ;)

Of course I welcome any feedback you guys might have aimed at the story. I will polish it up in the future, since this was only the first draft. But I am pretty happy with how it turned out.

Anyways, thanks for your support, and I'll catch you on the flip side. ;)

Sort:  

Great conclusion, I very much enjoyed this story from start to finish my friend

Thank you my friend!

The series is a fantastic read. I loved it all: the setting, the pacing, the characters and their motivations. Nice work.

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)

Nice work!

Thank you!

I like this story a lot and I would like it to continue. You just gave us glimpse into an interesting world and I'd like to see more complex storylines unfold in that setting.

I know what you mean. But that won't happen in the near future unfortunately.

This storyline, is actually concluded. Like, Operation Dust Devil has been carried out, and we now know what happened during it. The resolution of this story line however, has such ginormous consequences, that I have to write a novel to show them. :D

Anyways, I haven't showed anything about this world yet. And a lot of the world building will be done slow and steady. This was just Mars, my latest short story takes a glimpse at what's happening on Earth, if you're at all interested. :(

Anyway, thanks for taking the time to read it my dude, appreciate it!

Sure. This storyline might be done, but yeah, you can go forward in time, you an go backwards in time and as I didn't foresee, you can also go laterally to another planet too. I'd be happy to read about what's happing on Earth, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66103.77
ETH 3554.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.11