How did you discover Preparedness?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago

Question Mark.jpg

In this post: https://steemit.com/writing/@geordieprepper/how-i-got-into-prepping

I talked in brief about how and why I got into prepping...so now it's your turn :-)

Let me know briefly how got you into Preparedness.

Over to you.

Be safe and prepared
Geordie Prepper

Sort:  

I think because I've had to be self reliant for so long, it's in my blood. I seriously started prepping a few years ago. There were many reasons, NZ had gone through and is still going through some pretty serious natural disasters, devastating earthquakes for one. I live on a huge fault line, with many active volcano's around us (geographically speaking, ) so it was a given that you should be ready for anything, including Tsunami's. But the most pressing reason was Spiritually. As a Christian, I observed that we seem to be rushing toward "end times" I also do not want to get hooked into the Beast system, chipping etc. There are alot of factors, they all seem to be screaming....get ready !!?? I have amassed quite a stock of essentials etc, have a bug out bag in the car and one at home. I personally think if there is a complete breakdown of the banking system, Government etc, it will happen quickly. Anyway...to sum up...lots of reasons. I'm off to look at your last post now:)

I think it's a good thing you grew up being ready for earthquakes and volcanoes etc, get you in the prepared mindset early on.

Hope the earthquake that hit the Southern islands hasn't affected you too much. Be safe and prepared.

No, I am in the North Island, we had a few the other day. Something is about to give !!! Thank you SO much for your concern. Definitely go over my prep stuff. Have a great day

Well that's great to hear. Yes definitely check your preps and if you don't already check out dutchsinse's channel on youtube. He gives VERY very accurate earthquake predictions and monitoring.

Will definitely check him out...thanks so much for the "heads up"

I really don't consider myself a "prepper".

Maybe more like an "adapter" or a "water-treader".

Here's how it happened to me & mine: https://steemit.com/life/@theblindsquirl/why-i-am-an-asshole

I'll go read it now :)

Parts of me was always into it. Just never went more into it. Yet, within the last 10 so years ... I've got even more into it and discovered much more with social media. I'll keep picking up more experience and info to add to my tech, science and "maker" back ground as time goes by. I dont have a lot of money to throw into specific preparedness items, but never stopped me from trying to create it .
" always in creation mode"

Great stuff man, glad to see you here on Steemit. Steem on!

Hiya Geordie,
Now then,..... I think it was back in 2013 when I was looking at a specific topic on Youtube when amongst the recommended thumbnails down the right hand side I saw a video link about the truth of nine-eleven. Eh? I thought. So watched it and was completely stunned at the conflicting evidence. So I chose the red pill and I've been searching, delving, questioning everything ever since. I've soon come to realise that governments with the best will in the world would be unable to cope with maintaining society as we see it today if a major economic or natural disaster was to occur. I started out the usual route, stocking up but I knew this wasn't long term viable and so I turned to old skool self-reliance, foraging, bushcraft. I feel more comfortable now I have a little knowledge in the wealth of abundance the vast majority can't see.

I just need to convince the missus ;)

Good to hear ya story man. Question everything, no harm in asking questions :-) I'm sure the missus will come around eventually :)

Hopefully she will but it'll be a hard slog :)

Hi @geordieprepper, it all started for me with the Terry Nation Survivors series on the BBC back in the 70's (global pandemic etc). I bought a copy of Richard Mabey's Food for Free and then I was on my road to preparedness and self-reliance.

With a splash of John Seymour and a bit of The Good Life to add humour I spent my life on a quest for self-sufficiency. Interrupted over the years by children, jobs and all that but always with the goal in mind.

Then about three years ago I read One Second After by William Forstchen (EMP etc) and that really turned the switch for me. Now I'm full on, full time prepping and homesteading.

Luckily I managed to play the East of England to West of Wales property slide about 15 years ago and get an old farm place with a patch of land to call our own.

Now we keep our heads down off the beaten track and eat what we sew and sew what we tear.

I used to watch The Good Life too :) oh man you living the dream with your own bit of land. Nice one.

My son recommended and gave us this book Patriots that really changed my mind.
It is so credible and convinced us to think in a new way about being prepared.
A life changing read.

Yeah, it can be very life changing just coming across one snippet of information and then a whole new world opens up. Thanks for contributing :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67203.60
ETH 3513.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20