You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How did you discover Preparedness?

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Hi @geordieprepper, it all started for me with the Terry Nation Survivors series on the BBC back in the 70's (global pandemic etc). I bought a copy of Richard Mabey's Food for Free and then I was on my road to preparedness and self-reliance.

With a splash of John Seymour and a bit of The Good Life to add humour I spent my life on a quest for self-sufficiency. Interrupted over the years by children, jobs and all that but always with the goal in mind.

Then about three years ago I read One Second After by William Forstchen (EMP etc) and that really turned the switch for me. Now I'm full on, full time prepping and homesteading.

Luckily I managed to play the East of England to West of Wales property slide about 15 years ago and get an old farm place with a patch of land to call our own.

Now we keep our heads down off the beaten track and eat what we sew and sew what we tear.

Sort:  

I used to watch The Good Life too :) oh man you living the dream with your own bit of land. Nice one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13