Hot Rod Nights - A Short Story (Part 3 of 9)

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

HR8.jpg

Horizontal Rule2.png

Two days later The Deuce pulled into the local speed shop parking lot. Joey hopped out and noticed a familiar car on the lot. It was a light blue '52 Dodge. I know that Dodge, he said to himself but could not place from where. He entered the speed shop and saw his old pal Hank, who was like a second father to Joey, behind the counter.

"Hey, Joey. How's it goin' kid?" he said jovial.

"Not bad, old man. How's business?"

"You keep beatin' all the locals you're gonna put me out of business."

"If I keep beatin' all the locals they'll have to come to you for better stuff to try and beat me."

"That's why you keep winnin' kid, you're smart."

Joey looks up and notices a new aluminum intake Hank mounted on the wall. "Hey, that's nice," he said as he pointed.

Hank looked at Joey and said, "That's not the only nice thing in here," as he glanced to his two o'clock.

Joey turned in the direction of Hank's glance. Sitting in a chair, near the window, was a pretty girl reading a magazine so Joey took notice and looked closer. It was Donna!

Donna looked up from her magazine and saw it was Joey who had come into the shop. She smiled at him, then blushed.

Joey knew what to do and sauntered over. "I guess you do like racing. Even hangin' out in speed shops I see," he teased.

She looked him in the eyes and in a serious demeanor said, "I knew you would come here eventually so I come and sit every day and wait," she said. It was all she could do to keep a straight face.

Thrown off-guard, Joey took a moment to collect his thoughts to answer, "You do?" was the best he could muster.

Donna played-it-up even more. "Since we met that night you're all I think about, I live for you Joey. You're my whole world," she said in an exaggerated fashion and knew full well when she said it aloud, there was much truth to it. He was in her thoughts most of each day.

"Okay, okay you got me. You had me goin' there for a minute. I thought they might have to come get you with a butterfly net soon," he said. He continued, "Why are you here? You don't even live around here."

"I'm waiting for parts. They're special order."

"I thought you didn't race."

"I don't, daddy does. My uncle Bob does too. That's daddy's brother. They have a shop together."

"Now I get it. That's how you know so much about engines, you grew-up around them!"

Donna smiled. "You can drive fast and think pretty fast too—Cool Joey," she said in a seductive and playful manner. Then asked, "Are you fast at everything?" she half-teased then waited for an honest answer.

Joey picked up on her obvious subtle play and sat down next to her and leaned-in close. "I'm fast when needed my darling," he said seductive then looked deep into her eyes and said, "When I need to, I can be very slow, very attentive and very, very accommodating."

Donna melted a little with each word and imagined a few of the things where Joey could be very, very accommodating. "Good to know," she gasped, trying her best to hide her emotions.

"Young lady," Hank's voice came from across the room. "Your parts are here."

"Thank you, sir. I'll be right there."

"Well, looks like it's time to hit the road," she said as she rose from her chair and headed for the counter.

Joey passed her on the way and grabbed her box off the counter. "I'll carry this for you miss," he offered in a gentleman's fashion.

"Why thank you kind sir," she responded in a playful prim and proper manner.

Outside, by the time Joey put the box in the passenger seat Donna had climbed in and started the car. Joey remained in the window of the passenger side. "You going to be in town again anytime soon," he asked.

All Donna could do was look at him as her mind had locked-up and her muscles froze. She didn't know what to say until it hit—the only thing she felt she could say, "I can be," she then thought, I don't believe I just said that! That's not how you get chased! You gotta make the guy work for it! But the silly chase game didn't really matter now as she no longer cared. She only wanted to be with him.

"Nine o'clock Friday night at the A&W?" he prompted.

It was all she could do to say the last sentence but found the means to muster-up one more, "Okay, see you there," she blurted then did her best to smile. She was quick and awkward to put the car in reverse, then backed out and left.

Joey headed back inside the shop where Hank had just finished with another customer. He turned to Joey. "You know that dame?"

"Yeah, we met at the race."

"She saw you at your best—good thing, kid. She's a looker that one."

"Yeah, but I don't know if she's that interested. I mean I know she likes me but—I don't know."

"Kid, I've been around for a while now. And seein' the way that girl looked at you, you couldn't get her off you with a hardened, oversized crowbar. You're in deep with that one. Can't no one help you now," he laughed.

"You think?" he asked uncertain.

"No kid, I know," he laughed harder. "I may not know a lot in this life, but what I saw a few minutes ago told me you got that one all turned around. She's more than sweet on you," he said in a more serious tone.

"You can tell that from what you saw just now?"

"It's more than that, kid. Her father's been orderin' from me for years. Never seen that girl before today. When did you say you met her?"

"The other night at the race."

"Uh huh. Like I said—all turned around. She's like a ripe apple hangin' in front of you offerin' to be picked. Instead of hangin' around waiting for you, she's creating the opportunity to be picked. How many women you know want you to pick them, kid?"

"There's a couple here and there, I guess."

"Uh huh. And which one you thinkin' of pickin'?"

Joey's expression went blank with the realization of what had happened. "So she's been manipulating me? But wait a minute, she didn't know I was coming in here today. She couldn't have planned that. That was just a coincidence."

"Sure, I'll buy that. But why was she here in the first place? I'll bet she was just as surprised as you when you happened to walk in when she was here. I'll also bet that she would have drove around a bit to find you if you hadn't walked in. She's not here doin' a parts run for her father. She's here doin' a parts run for her!" he laughed as Joey displayed a bit of uneasiness.

"I got news for you kid, that's what women do. If a woman wants a man, she will do whatever is necessary to get him. But before they do that; before they go to those great lengths, they're already sold. They've made up their mind. Same as you did with The Deuce. You saw her in your mind and fell for her and went out and got her, right?"

"Right."

"You didn't stop until you had her, right?"

"Right."

"And are you happy you did that?"

"You betcha. She's my life!"

"That girl that just left; you are to her what The Deuce is to you, and she won't stop until you are hers. Let me guess, you're going to see her again real soon huh?

"Friday night."

"Don't you worry kid, she likes you. She wants to beat all the other girls and win the race. She's a winner—at all costs. Sound familiar?"

"Yeah, pretty familiar," he said recognizing the same traits within himself.

"The only thing you need to ask yourself is; do you think about her often?" he asked, "Well, do you?" he insisted. Joey, a bit embarrassed attempted to avoid the question. "Oh, cut the crap, kid. You like the skirt or not?" he presses.

Joey nods silent in the affirmative.

"Then you have nothing to worry about." He paused then continued, "She's a smart one that girl. She's changed the rules on ya, kid—she's chasin' you!" he chuckled. "And based on what happened here today, I'd say she's got a healthy good luck streak too. Sound familiar?" he laughed, "Peas in pod I say—peas in a pod," he chuckled.

Joey walked out feeling somewhat confused, somewhat encouraged and somewhat at the mercy of fate. He climbed in The Deuce and fired the engine. Pete pulled in beside him. "Jackson Joey, what's shakin' Joey? He yelled from the window of his '53 Chevy.

"Hey, Pete. You ever get that rear end problem fixed?" asked Joey.

"We got 'er runnin' again. Hey, Joey, sorry to hear about your friends. I hope they're okay."

A blank look crossed Joey's face. "What friends, what are talkin' about Pete," he asked concerned.

"Oh, you didn't hear? I'm sorry, man. Frankie and that Neecy girl, they went into Sutter's ravine the night you beat Muggs. They were in his Model A. I heard it was pretty bad. I thought you'd heard," he said.

Joey threw The Deuce in reverse. "Thanks Pete," he said and raced from the lot and headed toward the hospital.

He ejected himself from The Deuce and ran to hospital reception. "May I help you son?" asked the nurse.

Joey did his best to collect himself but so many thoughts raced through his mind but he managed to pull himself together. "What room is Neecy Bryant in please?" he asked somewhat desperate.

The nurse looked at her log. "Her first name is Neecy?" she asked.

"No, it's Denise. Denise Bryant," he corrected.

"She's in room 302 son. I'm sorry that's the critical ward. Only family members are allowed in her room," she said.

Joey did his best to be convincing but it was difficult to concentrate. "I'm her brother ma'am. Is she okay? Is Neecy okay?" he asked.

The nurse could tell he was lying but felt for Joey as she could see the concern in his eyes. "Young man, I want you to go straight there and don't stay long. I'm not supposed to be doing this, you hear me?" she said in a stern manner.

Joey understood the situation and nodded then made his way to the stairs as he had no time for the elevator. He ran up the the stairwell and skipped two and three steps at a time then exited the stairwell at the third floor and in no time found room 302. Before entering, he paused and took a deep breath. He opened the door and saw Neecy as she lie in bed with tubes in her arms and nose. She had bruises all over her body and her head was bandaged on top covering her hair and her right arm and left leg were in a cast. He walked to her bedside as she slept. He laid her fingers in his palm and gave a gentle squeeze. Neecy's eyes opened and she turned to face Joey. She did her best to smile but he could tell she was in pain. Joey's eyes welled-up. He couldn't help but share the responsibility for her accident. If he hadn't turned her away; If he hadn't let Frankie drive the Model A. Frankie! Where's Frankie? he thought. He leaned over and kissed Neecy's forehead. "How are you, kiddo?" he said with a soft tone. A tear ran down Neecy's cheek and her bottom lip began to quiver. Joey, effected by the sight of her in such distress, released her hand and turned away. He wiped his eyes dry then did his best to collect himself.

"Joey," said Neecy in a weak, raspy voice. He turned around and walked to her side. He, again, rested her hand in his. Neecy looked him in the eyes, and smiled. "It's okay, Joey... it's okay," she said as she squeezed his hand in an awkward manner and with as much strength as she could muster. Joey attempted to speak. "No," she said. "Just sit here for a minute, okay?" she added. Joey nodded as he wiped his tears.

After a few minutes Neecy fell asleep and Joey remained until her mother entered the room. She saw Joey and ushered him from the room in silence and followed him into the hall. "What are you doing here Joey?" she said with anger in her eyes. Joey had no words. "I don't want to see you around here again, you hear me Joey?" she said in a stern voice.

"Yes ma'am," he said as this was all he could manage for an answer. He went to the elevator and pushed the down button. In the elevator Joey decided he was going to stay until he could see Frankie. He exited the elevator and headed for reception. The nurse looked up and could see he was distraught. "Excuse me, could you tell me what room Francis Marino is in, please?" he asked.

The nurse did not have the heart to deny his request so she looked up the name. "Francis Marino you said?" she asked.

"Yes, ma'am," he replied.

A look of remorse came across her face. "I'm sorry, son. Francis didn't survive the accident. His injuries were too severe. His body has been moved to our morgue," she said then looked at Joey who was visibly shaken. "Are you going to be all right, son?" she asked with concern.

"Yes, ma'am," he responded in a robotic manner. He turned and exited the hospital. Joey sat in the hospital parking lot for hours. He sat with his mind deep in the past. All the times, good and bad, he and Frankie had been through as the hours ticked by. It was dark before he decided it was time to leave. He started The Deuce and drove home.



drawR2.jpg

(to be continued)

Part 1
Part 2
Part 4
Part 5
Part 6
Part 7
Part 8
Part 9

art sources: 1 2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61852.16
ETH 2402.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60