Who am I? What have I done all this time I've been in Steem? A post to present myself more openly in the community. (And my little story here)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

I don't think I'll use images in this post, so there's a chance it can be boring.

Recently I thought it would be a good idea to talk a little about me on my blog, Steem (in a certain part) is a community and I don't think it's comfortable for you to see how someone tries to remain anonymous while he want to integrate into the community.

I'm not new here, it's been a year and a half since I created the @flaws account, but this doesn't mean that my first account was this one.

My first account was @jeanxd, I usually see it and it makes me nostalgic for the type of content I posted, I remember that I had reached an agreement with a super known website on Facebook, this page makes horror stories, I got their permission to post their content here.

I remember thinking that with those stories I would be incredibly recognized on the platform, I mean, those stories managed to have thousands and thousands shared on Facebook, why not on Steem? (that's what I thought)

To my surprise this was obviously not so, I've been in the cryptocurrencies world for a long time (I had my first wallet in Xapo when BTC was worth about 400-800 dollars) and, seeing that I didn't get money in Steem, I got one of the biggest disappointments I've had in this world (speaking of crypto in general).

It's funny, I just got the second article I posted on my first account and now I think I was very lucky that nobody read my articles. I'll translate a part into English so you can see what I'm talking about:

Well, let's talk about me, I'm 14 years old, I live with my uncles, my parents divorced and left me with my uncles, my dad lives in other city and my mom prefers to live alone. Source (Spanish post)

Those words aren't a lie. Right now I'm 16 years old and I live with my uncles. The rest of the article only talks about how difficult it is to live in Venezuela (if 2 years ago it was difficult, imagine now). I think the moral of this mini-history is as follows: Don't invite people to Steem just to create content and not to make community. (Tremendous moral, lol)

When I saw that Steem wasn't what I believed at the time, I left and came back after a year, a little more "mature" and better mentalized about what I wanted to do: My goal was to bring quality content.

I started creating content about cryptocurrencies, then I started writing about technology in general, then about controversial topics. I wrote about many things I was passionate about, but in most of my posts I never got the support I expected. So here's where I started to ask myself: What is Steem really?

I think it was the best question I could ask myself, I started reading a little more about Steem, researching, creating an account on Discord and started joining several servers. As I published content in Spanish, I joined to Spanish curation trails servers in search of more information.

As time went by, I published and sometimes I got upvotes from Spanish curation trails, I learned how to get the attention of the curation trails, but it didn't work many times and I really didn't understand why, so I just started going to the community every time I had a doubt or something like that, unconsciously I ended up having friends, acquaintances in Steem and I met people who helped me a lot along the way.

So that's how I ended up understanding that if I wanted to earn money I had to start speaking English and making content in English, I learned to speak English (at least I understand it perfectly, but I have my mistakes when trying to put my words in this language), but I didn't make content in English, on very rare occasions I did, like for the competitions of @originalworks and for some work for @oracle-d.

And this is where I'm going: The communities. Thanks to them is that I had impulse in Steem, I remember that my great leap began when I became Spanish moderator of @steempress-io, many people and curation trails noticed me, then I began to be everywhere (in the Spanish community) and ended up joining other projects and began to participate in events in the community. Always making Spanish content and trying to help new users.

I have always focused on helping people in Steem, trying to guide them and give them a hand as far as I can, when I became moderator in SteemPress the number of users who needed help to set up their blog or to start using the plugin was great, but I really liked (and I like) helping users as far as I can, so I never had trouble giving a hand.

All my reputation and what I've achieved at Steem has been thanks to the projects I've been involved in, which I'll always be thankful for and really learned a lot from, I think I learned a lot more about how things really are in Steem when I started working for @blocktrades (thank you so much guys).

I do not deny that I have participated in many projects and have done an excellent job on them, but what have I done for Steem? It's a question that has given me a good blow lately. I don't want to be a simple content creator in Steem, content creators there are many here, I want to be an active user here, I like Steem because not only have I learned a lot here, also Steem has been a fundamental economic support for my life and that has really allowed me to do many things (Thanks to Steem I have a phone, and incredibly the laptop from where I work I got it thanks to Steem, specifically thanks to @neoxian).

The beauty of this is all the community here, I have met incredible people who have helped me all this way and I really thank them all, so as someone who likes to be here, I really want to do something for the community.

I feel that it will be something tangible soon, maybe in a couple of months, but currently I'm doing talks about Steem in my school, for now I'm only inviting to my classroom (we are about 34 people) and already 20 friends have given me the usernames they want to join the platform, some people here offered to give me a hand with the accounts, which I really value enormously and will be communicating with them as soon as I have the first list.

I want to get my entire school to know Steem, it's about 300-400 people and that's a really good amount, I've talked to my principal about talking about Steem at my school and I have the approval, so I just need to structure everything better and organize with the people here. This is a very short summary of what I want to do, maybe I will do a much deeper article about this idea, but for now I don't want this to be the main topic of this post.

The thing is: My name is Jeancarlos Garcia, (you can call me Jean from now on) I'm 16 years old and I'm from Nueva Esparta, Venezuela. I'm a chess player and someone completely in love with cryptocurrencies, I've been experimenting with them for 4 years and it's been a year and a half since I decided to be part of Steem. I'm not so well known in the English-speaking community, that is, I haven't published or been active in the English language, but I'd like to be able to do my little bit to do something for the community.

I feel like I might be asked the following:

If you like Steem, why are you powering down?

I will take the opportunity to answer it simply: Necessity. I am Venezuelan (as I said before), I really live in a very difficult situation and Steem represents a great economic support that I need for my family, my posts lately do not generate much remuneration, so that's why I'm powering down

I was thinking about setting the payments for my publications to be 100% in SP, I want my SP to go up, but it is really a very complicated decision because it could seriously complicate my daily life and I also do not generate much remuneration in my publications, but without a doubt, I would love to be able to do it. (Altought I will set 100% SP for this post)

It's been a great journey (for me) so far, I believe in Steem's potential and I'd like to be here when Steem gets far. I guess this is the change I must make for the #newsteem. I hope I can be useful around here.

This is my greeting to you!

Edited: I know that my age may be something that is not so good, I mean: What can you expect from someone who is 16 years old?

But I think I can be an exception, I really like it here and, despite my age, I've always done an excellent job on every project I've been to. Obviously I'm open to any kind of comment!

Sort:  

Quite an odessey in steemitville. The lines are quite inspirational, especially to folks like me who are finding it extremely difficult to be footed here!

Would you therefore give a helping hand as you have done for others??

We should be very appreciative of it !

I think beyond every doubt that I am blessed reading you!!

Hi @whyaskwhy! At first it may be a bit difficult to be noticed here, but you just have to be active and do your bit here :)

If you need help just tell me and I will try to do what I can to help you :)

Every "drowning" man need help,especially from a professional rescuer of your kind!!

A Help of every kind shall be extremely appreciated!!

Welcome to Steemit @flaws :)

Welcome to Steem flaws! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Súper recomendado 👍👍👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Fantastic read... and age has nothing to do with it. Looks like you had a wonderful journey, with more to come.


thank you for sharing

Hey @kiwibloke! I I've had an incredible trip here, I would really like to spend much more time here and that's why I did this post.

I plan to do a lot of great things soon, maybe I'll do some posts in a few days :) (I want to get to know the English community better before I go on making content)

thank you for your comment <3

As a welcome gift, A Daily Dose" is now following you. 💚

Thanks :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44