The Heraphore - a Guzzi SF adventure (G7)

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

universe-1351865__480.jpg

"She'll meet us at the ship," said Guzzi. "Unless we want to stick around for a bit?"

They sat in the centre of a large room in the university's art museum. Chairs had been found for them and placed around a coffee table, upon which a constant stream of biscuits and sweet and savoury pastries was placed and promptly devoured by Schmeep Gar.

Some sort of media team was recording the event and a string quartet played in the corner, their melodies swallowing the awkward silences in conversation.

A guard approached Chancellor Lorish, whispered something in her ear then disappeared.

"I have just been informed that the President and representatives of the Council shall be here in a matter of minutes," she announced. "If you would please accompany me to my office? We shall have more privacy there."

"No, this sux," said Jazz loudly. "Let's blow." And maybe next time don't be so dung'in rude.

As the group moved to leave Schmeep strode to the string quartet, its familiar crunching gait echoing loudly through the hall. The music stopped. His rocky skin seemed to open to reveal a bundle of coins and cubes. Without a word he gave one to each of the players.

"If you play me some AC/DC next time, there will be more," his interpreter sang over the crunching cadences of his voice.

The clamour of noise which erupted after they left the museum could be heard from the grounds outside.

"I'm flying," said Jazz as she walked across the grounds to the air-raft.

✨ 👽 ✨

The return journey had been quite - everyone caught-up in their own thoughts. It was the only time Guzzi had been within hearing distance that he couldn't hear Jazz's voice. Or laughter.

The encounter with Chancellor Lorish had obviously effected her. Thankfully, the Chancellor wasn't typical of the Heraphores Guzzi had met. He thought about telling Jazz, then reconsidered. It was probably good for her to be alone with her thoughts, once in a while.

They neared the starport, and as the air-raft landed in the Garship's vehicle bay Guzzi knew his sister was already aboard.

When her saw her, it was all he could do not to cry. He walked to her, standing alone in the bay. Their hands met. They touched foreheads. And there they stayed for the best part of an hour.

✨ 👽 ✨

Continue reading:

....Continued from:

✨ 👽 ✨

Picture courtesy of pixabay.com

drwom-01.png

DQmampd9mQbBZuWMnd1uSm37WSjquEWDcwKGZjz15dpivgQ.png

@drwom footer by the awesome @ryivhnn !!

drwom.png

Sort:  

I love sci-fi novels, especially if the story flows flawlessly like your Guzzi story. Hopefully you won't give up on this and give your followers more of this. looking forward for more chapters. Thanks and have a wonderful day.

Thanks Chadrona!

Guzzi's story seems really interesting, if only the chapters are a little longer. Nonetheless I'm aware that writing a story, especially fiction is not easy. I'm looking forward to more chapters. A pleasant day to you @drwom

Yeah I know :-)
I'm writing snapshots of chapters, rather than the real thing. Distilling them down to the real essentials. Thanks for the feedback!

I love the names and Garship and the Heraphores. Your sci-fi is amazing. please make it longer per post. I can't wait to know the story. Jazz is an interesting character.

Thanks heaps!
As I wrote elsewhere, I'm really writing a snapshot of a chapter - enough to move the story along.
I wish I could write more, but my full time job and family mean I've only got a certain amount time each day.

I'm really pleased you like it 🙃

I hope that you become a full time steemian in the near future. Best wishes mate.

All these characters Guzxi, chancellor and Jazz are so thoroughly presented by you. I went through your fiction.. it's really catching my mind

Cheers Shahaan. Really glad you're enjoying it. I'm really enjoying it too!

Haha if you play me AC/ DC next time.. Man I am falling in love with yours characters... Actually looking forward for more parts :))))

Thanks heaps tasauver! I really appreciate your feedback and your ongoing support:-)

I am really following you like an inspiration.. I told you, you really have upped my vocab.. thanx a ton for that :)

Beautifully crafted sci-fi story @drwom. You are able to make the character seems alive and not just some character to a story. Rather they are like real people with real personality. Great work! I'm looking forward to more chapters. Thank you and God bless.

Thanks :-)

wow....nice post
great job
nice ariticle

&#128256 brilliant & pleasing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95