The Garship - a Guzzi SF adventure (G2)

in #story6 years ago (edited)

universe-2742113__480-1.jpg

"The shindung of a ship is that?" Guzzi looked out the port in the asteroid's viewing platform. Attached to the station umbilical was an intricately enclosed lattice of green modules interspersed with ugly purple nodules stuck on an engine.

"Looks like flying broccoli with the pox."

"Ha. It does, doesn't it?"

Jazz led him to the airlock and punched the code.

"So what's the crew of this thing?"

The lock opened and a tall, armoured crew member stood facing them in the middle of the umbilical.

"Just us, and Schmeep Gar of the fourteenth hive," she gestured to the man, just as Guzzi realised it was no man at all.

"The fourteenth hive? I thought the Gar..." Guzzi caught himself, and faced the alien. "Lord Gar."

The armour around the alien's eyes contorted. "Extinct? Not yet. This is he, Jazz?"

Jazz nodded.

The Gar made a crunching sound which it didn't bother to have translated as it withdrew into the ship's airlock.

"You know," said Guzzi, "I really prefer to work with people who don't lie to me."

"Fair. Personally I prefer all comers. But we both know you wouldn't be here if I told you the truth. I put all my chips on you being intrigued enough to stick around long enough to find out what's really going on." She entered the ship, leaving the lock open. "I'll be in here."

✨ ✨

"Would you believe, Rukus, I've just been invited onto the last Garship in existence? .. I think..."

"Don't change the subject. I can't keep covering for you. It may be a shit job, but you asked for it. Begged actually."

"Don't believe me?" Guzzi moved to the window, the best thing about the bar. Apart from the booze.

"Come over here. Look. That ugly as shindung poxrocket."

"I give up." Rukus paused long enough to look outside. "What the actual shindung?"

"Question is, am I intrigued enough?"

Rukus looked at his friend suspiciously. "Question is, what do they want you for? And what haven't you told me?"

Guzzi downed the fake tequila.

"If I ever see you again, I just might let you know."

He patted his friend on the back, and walked towards the next chapter.

✨ ✨

... Continue reading:

✨ ✨

... Read from the beginning:

✨ ✨

Picture courtesy of pixabay.com

drwom-01.png

DQmampd9mQbBZuWMnd1uSm37WSjquEWDcwKGZjz15dpivgQ.png

@drwom footer by the awesome @ryivhnn !!

Sort:  

Good Story

I really like your post thanks for sharing the things I can learn from you

Nice imagery you got @drwom. I'm inspired!!

excellent publication success

amazing post .. i like your way of explaination of story

Good Story
I just Followed you, Kindly follow back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30