The Exquisite Corpse Lives On!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Last month, I put out a call for participants to join me in a little writing exercise called Exquisite Corpse. I was pleasantly surprised at the response I got. Several outstanding writers volunteered to join me with a few stragglers pulling up the back end. I closed the gate early and promised the stragglers they could partcipate in the second round.

Initial respondents included:

This was one hell of a roundup, and, I must say, I am very pleased with the final outcome. I kicked off the story and used a random generator to get the line up of the rest. Each successive piece of the story got better as writers built on the previous story arc, right down to the final and incredible conclusion drawn out by the steady hand of @quillfire, who, as fate would have it, was picked up by @curie illustrating a tremendous success in storytelling.

exquisite corpse
Image from Pixabay.

All of that is to say, if you missed it, catch it right here now. All the links in one place. Please take the time to read each leg of the story. It's one incredible ride.

steemit bloggers

A Perfect Day For a Murder, Part 1, by Yours Truly

Vinnie Testosteroni was no ordinary serial killer. He showed no signs of sexual deviance. He didn't have daddy issues or hate his mother. There was no hint of psychological damage or mental health issues anywhere in the family tree. He didn't mutilate the bodies or have sex with his victims before murdering them. And he didn't try to hide the fact that he was a serial killer by holding down a job to which he was compulsively dedicated and which served only as a cover-up to his real occupation as serial killer.

excquisite corpse
Image initially from Pixabay, then from the original post.

A Perfect Day For a Murder, Part 2, by @calluna

It may seem innocuous enough, and had that been all that went wrong that morning, Vinnie might have felt a little better about it. Instead, pulling his Challenger Demon into the valet stand, the cocky confidence with which he normally tossed the keys at the greasy kid, felt forced.

exquisite corpse
Taken from the original post.

A Perfect Day For a Murder, Part 3, by @blueteddy

Vinnie tried not to frown when he saw her. He wasn’t sure what he’d expected. For all her talk of woe and dismay, she held her head surprisingly erect. She made direct eye contact with the woman at the door and didn’t have any obvious nervous ticks.

exquisite corpse
Image taken from original post.

A Perfect Day For a Murder, Part 4, by @foxyspirit

Vinnie took a moment to catch himself. Cleaning off the possible dirt from the grimy floor, taking advantage of the time to think of a quick reply. He's never had any problems talking to people and having quick comebacks. But their previous conversation was so boring, to the point where he was dumbfounded. Best way to reply is with honesty.

exquisite corpse
Image taken from original post.

A Perfect Day For a Murder, Part 5, by @fromage

Craig’s name tag said, “Hello, I’m too tired to smile today”. That wasn’t his name though. It was just a joke.

Classic Craig.

exquisite corpse
Image from original post.

A Perfect Day For a Murder, Part 6, by @quillfire

11:27 AM, Fort Meade, Maryland

General, we’ve got a bogey in London!

Everybody … conference,” bellowed General “Chuck” McMaster as he moved swiftly towards the conference room. “Tommy, let’s see what you’ve got.

exquisite corpse
From the original post.

There it is forlks, the six chapter exquisite corpse, perhaps the first in the history of #Steemit. Be sure to read it all. It's an exquisite delight.

steemit bloggers

Exquisite Corpse #2

Now it's time for the second exquisite corpse and a call for participants. The following individuals have been dying to get in since the beginning of the first run. Now they have their chance.

These folks were promised a run at the next one. If anyone else wants to join, raise your hand by commenting on this post, and that includes previous participants (what a great group to take the Exquisite Corpse on her maiden voyage!). The three Steemians mentioned above should also comment on this post to let me know you are still interested. To everyone who participates, when your part of the story publishes, you'll get a 100% upvote from me. Right now, that tops out at .03 STU. After this post pays out, I'll set the order of writing and kick off the next story. Trust me, it will be a doozy.

Final Warning: Unlike last time, if I have at least five participants other than me, there will be no late comers. If you want in on this story, respond before this post pays out.

Also, not a requirement, but spread the word with a resteem!

#theluvbug

steemit bloggers

The Biblical Legends Anthology Series

Garden of EdenSulfuringsDeluge
At AmazonAt AmazonAt Amazon

Limerents in the Bog


At Amazon

review me
Review Me, Please

steemit bloggers

While you're here, check out the backside 5:


Steemit Bloggers

promo mentors

helpienaut

Sort:  

Great engagement of community. Love to see it .keep up all of you ladies and gentlemen.

One theme, one story line, multiple authors? Amazing!

Namaste, JaiChai

Yes! And each of the writers managed to advance the story well beyond my wildest imagination. And I have a pretty wild imagination.

Sorry for the delay in reply. I'm in.
@blockurator Pls include me for Exquisite Corpse #2
Thanks!

Thank You! Let the games begin..

hah! That was fun. I love playing exquisite corpse, tag me next time?

Absolutely! Another one starts tomorrow. You want in on this one?

Cool. You're in.

cool! What do I have to do...do I just wait until it gets passed to me?

Yes. I'll post tonight explaining how it works with the first part of the story. I'll set the posting order and when it's your turn, you'll have three days to create your post.

Really cool what you guys have here, great idea @blockurator. It came out something interesting. I hope to participate one day when my writing skill is improved. But I volunteer to do a reading of this! Like a creepypasta of some sorts maybe. Let me know what you guys think.

@javo1096

Thanks @javo1096. I think your writing is fine, but I'm not sure what you mean by this:

But I volunteer to do a reading of this!

You can read all you want. I'm sure none of us would object. Thanks for being here.

Sure, that was fun, I'm still in.

Yay, count me in again 😄

Cool. Happy to include you again.

This is great! I'm making my way through the 'parts' now. Great idea @blockurator.

Cool! I hope you enjoy the read. It comes to a grand finish.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45