Some Personal Reflections On Today

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

one.jpg

I cycled over to the other side of the city today, choosing longer, greener and secluded paths to avoid the city center and the heaving Edinburgh Festival crowds. I cycled to a section I hadn't visited for a number of years, triggering memories of when, almost exactly five years ago, I used to wander these parts on my break from work, sunk in states of mind I couldn't, and wouldn't, share with anyone. I was going through massive internal changes at the time, without an overview on what was happening. There was acute awareness of numerous strands of discordance in my life, each of which seemed overwhelming, growing ever larger and more out of control.

These triggered memories and feelings associated with them set the tone, for I was on my way to a funeral - a colleague of mine at the time of which I speak. A fellow cyclist, ironically killed in a head-on collision when driving a car! 'Nobody else hurt', although at least three universes were simultaneously smashed!

page divider red stars.png

I arrived bang on time, just as the coffin was being taken inside. I stood under the archway with some other bang-on-time-arrival-overspillers until the intro music died and we were ushered into the crowded church, where the only vacant seat for Barge was located in the third row from the front. Short, powerful service punctuated with music from SC's life, his 47 years. One song in particular, and the context in which it was introduced, brought a rush of SC's energy into my awareness, streaming tears, and a sense of SC's own shock at suddenly finding himself out of body. A kind and unassuming man, I liked him very much. Yet I had never got in touch to meet up, even though he had urged me to on the couple of times I had met him over the past few years.

The service ends. I, as one of the early ones to file out (being at the front), catch the eye of some other ex-colleagues from The Organisation I had had a protracted tussle with. Friendly mutual acknowledgement, none of them protagonists or players in the battle of Barge vs THE SYSTEM - silent bystanders perhaps, afraid of contamination by proxy or other forms of corporate death being unleashed upon their heads. Three others, who had defied authority and stood by me and provided crucial bits of support, were also in the crowd. But that was then, and this 'tussle' was a year annabit of an Employment Tribunal, invoked by me leveling the charge of unfair dismissal against The Organisation. Ultimately, The Tribunal took place with me kinda left to gofuckmyself, and faced - on the night before the first day of hearing, with the difficult choice of capitulation or else going it solo without my lawyer - ie. representing myself. I chose the latter! It's a long story, personally a very powerful one, as it represents the first time that I had ever really, truly, deeply stood up for myself. Please don't misunderstand, I am extremely grateful for this particular run of seeming adversity and the discoveries about myself that I made as a result of being pushed beyond what I had formerly thought of as my limits, but weren't. I am proud of what I did and the integrity with which it was conducted.

Nonetheless, being back in the vicinity again, along with the occasion of commemorating the violent death of a friend that I had not 'bothered' to get in touch with (I do not punish myself with 'if only' thoughts, but still.......), had me in a rather floating and vulnerable state of mind, so it felt. I would've liked to say hello to some of the ex-colleagues, especially blind ol' Porty and the three Supporters, but my being had no desire for pleasantries and social interaction and my legs would not be commanded. I sat on a bench in the sun by a tree in two minds, away from the action taking place around the church entrance - crowds, groups, catchups, cars, departures. I was visible however, and stayed long enough to smoke two rollies before unlocking my legs and bike, and cycling off.

As I pedaled away, one half of my mind was saying "Cop-out Barge!". No matter, I was cool with the decision and knew that the Supporters would understand. A subsequent text exchange confirmed this.

page divider red stars.png

Instead, I found myself back again with the dead, in the cemetery I used to visit during those final heavy months of my 7-year employment at The Organisation, shortly before it all kicked off. You have to climb over a stone wall to get inside and once on the other side, there is a magical sense of deep-green leafy seclusion which I now found mixed with past impressions. I sat by the banks of the Water of Leith, where, through the overhanging branches, I could see the building which still houses The Organisation. I smoked a joint, drank my thermosed coffee, lit an incense stick to SC and set my intention to let whatever it was still hanging around go, drop, merge with the ever-flowing waters.

I cycled back, barely registering the details of the generally traffic-free route home. Shanti must've picked up on something needy(?) in the air and brought a raw chicken leg into my room as a present, which she put on my bed and then walked away from. I was touched by her kindness but naturally declined, being veggie/vegan and all. She understands, clever wolf that she is!

two.jpg

page divider red stars.png

Sort:  

Hi @barge, to let you know @minismallholding featured you in this week's @pifc's Pay It Forward Contest.

First off, my condolences on the loss of your friend.
I can empathize with you and having to be around people that you used to work with in situations like that. It flat out sucks. Almost all of my friends still work there and at certain events I end up running into people I had issues with that couldn't handle that I have a disase they cannot see. Then of course you hear all of the crap that was said about you by them. I always wonder what it is about me they feel this incessant need to behave this way. It's been 3 yrs since this happened, one would think we'd be past all of that. Hang in there.

Hi @tryskele, thanks for your kind comments and observations, and the empathy of having gone through your own version of the experience.

I always wonder what it is about me they feel this incessant need to behave this way.

These things usually revolve around jealousy or scapegoatism / victimisation of those seen as 'weak' (compared to the viewer or viewing group). As such, it almost certainly has nothing whatsoever to do with you. I see the same at play in the work-drama I refer to in the post - I spent a long time trying to figure out what exactly they had against me (so that I could refute it :), felt the goalposts shift continuously. Eventually, when I secretly recorded the appeal at work (before the hearing) on my phone and listened back, it became clear that trying to 'reason' would not work and that is when I withdrew from further communications with them and, eventually, took the long and winding legal route.

Hello @barge 😉 what a story and so sorry about your friend😔 I wonder what is "the organisation" have you ever talk about it before in your previous posts? If so.. I need to check them out later. Found your post in the pifc this week, one of the judge already told you about it.

Hey @cicisaja, many thanks for your interest :) ....I've not previously written about the 'Organisation'. It would make a good story and I've certainly thought about doing a 2, 3 or 4 part account of what happened. But it is a massive undertaking, and it would certainly throw up a lot of emotional stuff. It would be cathartic too of course. If I ever do, I'll try and remember to send you a link.

Thanks for stopping by. Salaam Aliekum and all the best!

Wa'alaikum salam @barge ☺ thank you for your explanation, don't do that if it brings a bad influence to your emotional life, but if it can release something from your heart and will raise people awareness or inspiration.. why not?

Yes, please let me know if you write it up later.. I'd like to know and read it.. it's kind os something mysterious to me😊

Yes definitely @cicisaja, it would be extremely cathartic to put it into its full context and have my perspective there for the world to read. I've dealt with a lot of the personal emotional fallout (I think :), but there's always deeper stuff and besides, I I've never told the FULL story! I'll be sure to let you know 🔆 🔆 🔆

First there is a mountain...

Hey Cams did you mean to post this elsewhere? :)

No, no, I had just listened to Donovan singing There is a Mountain and your post put me in mind of that philosophy. Okay, it was a little obscure I guess! The whole kinda silver lining that you allude to with finding yourself in your strength through circumstances, like there's a mountain, then there isn't. But if you don't know the song or that it even is a song, my reference is gonna fall flat, as I guess it did.

Have a listen - it's a cool song!

LOL, yeah man, I had a look through your recent comments and replies to see if it fit in elsewhere but it didn't. Kinda wondered if it was a crypto camzer, but couldn't work it out, and, as you say, didn't even know it was a song ...... listening to it now, very apt :)

I'm so sorry about your friend @barge; this was so beautifully written and very touching.

I too found your post because minismallholding featured you in our Pay it Forward Curation contest. We'd love to have you join us with an entry of your own next week too :)

Thanks for your comment and feedback @lynncoyle1, it's very nice to read what you say.

And yes, having been picked up by pifc, I shall now be alert to a slow formulation of a post of my own, although I doubt if it'll be as soon as next week :D

Thanks for stopping by 🔆

Congratulations! Your high quality cycling content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in the form of an upvote and resteem. Keep the pedals spinning, fellow cyclist. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the weekly round-up of our Cyclefeed blog. Thank you for using #cyclefeed



Learn more about our cycling project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64668.46
ETH 3173.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58