How I like to Write Short Stories

in #writing7 years ago

Imgur

Hello fellow Steemians!

Today I wanted to share a template of how I have been approaching short stories, looking to improve my craft. I have been publishing parts of one short story I have on Steemit, and I hope I will have more to come. I am looking for any advice you might have: stories of ANY length have always been tough for me. I like one-page "treatments" that deal with one scene talking about one idea. Longer narratives? I don't have that much attention!

So, knowing my own limitations, the following is what I tell myself:

Step 1: Tell your story. Start with a paragraph "treatment" of the ideas. Add paragraphs for each act as a 3-5 act structure manifests itself. Tell a specific character’s story. Decide on hero or villain, comedy or tragedy. How many other big characters (2-5)? What do those characters represent? Bit parts (3-7)? What do those characters show about your setting? Outline characters as well as acts, again taking a paragraph to think them out. Describe needed scenes, the conversations/actions your main guy or gal needs to have/do in order to get from challenge to catharsis. How many scenes do you really need? How many scenes do you need to resolve each act? I like 1-3 scenes per act.

Imgur
Step 2: Write scenes. Once you know the scenes you will need, get to writing. Start with a scene's outline or dialogue only. Fill in setting exposition only as needed. Each scene has an objective, some info that needs to be conveyed from one character to another or from the world to a character. Write this transmission first so that you do not lose sight of what the scene is for. Having written at least the skeleton of each scene, review the story arc to make sure it is still cohesive. Write down all needed “add” elements and give them the same treatment. Move scenes or acts around so they are more effective. Finally flesh out all your scenes. “Finish” the story.

Step 3: Take a break, and then read what you have written. Do light editing as you go. This is the first draft.

Step 4: In your second draft, focus almost exclusively on imagery and metaphors. Make sure you are consistent throughout. If a color or colors is tied to a character or characters, make sure that is carried through the story. Make sure you do not describe characters alike, unless you want the reader to associate those characters together. Change up adjectives to emphasis different meanings. However, stay away from a thesaurus. Most people (I have found) are not wowcersized with an overtuse utilizationary of letterarrangements you may or may not know the proper usecaserino for. Make sure you are effective with your words, not overly wordy.

Imgur
Step 5: In the third draft, focus 110% on flow. Do the “parts” of your story start and end in a paced way? Do your transitions from scene to scene make sense? Are all scenes written using the appropriate style depending on whose point of view you are portraying? Is the thing fun to read? In this part, you might have to cut, cut, cut in order for your story to flow well.

And lastly, share! Let others read, and listen to what they have to say. Do not direct them to what you think was great about your tale. Do not ask pointed questions like "did you notice the dog wasn't wet?" If your readers did not "get" your themes and references, then they don't count!

After I've done this a thousand times, a writer I might be.

Imgur

Thanks for reading! This has been my thinking-out-loud workup of how I currently approach a particular kind of creativity I struggle with. The conversation certainly doesn't stop here! Let me know what you have to say.

My first short story on Steemit:
https://steemit.com/writing/@bardbarian/living-the-dream
https://steemit.com/writing/@bardbarian/of-diners-and-dives
https://steemit.com/writing/@bardbarian/seeing-through-the-dream
(Parts 4 and 5 coming soon!)

Also, I am proud of my poetry:
https://steemit.com/poetry/@bardbarian/first-breathe
https://steemit.com/writing/@bardbarian/the-dream-eater
https://steemit.com/poetry/@bardbarian/first-sight

Sort:  

You are more than welcome!

I am delighted. Thank you for continuing to write.

Thank you for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66631.72
ETH 3487.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71