What To Write About When You Run Out Of Ideas

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

pexels-photo-355952.jpeg

We have all had those days when our minds are simply not cooperating with us and we just can't seem to figure out something to write about. I can't say this is true for everyone, but it sure does happen to me at times. Sometimes it becomes really tricky to come up with something really unique and interesting to read.

Even now, I was thinking of what to write about but even after a lot of thinking, nothing quite came up to my mind, and that's exactly what inspired me to write this blog. (Quite ironic, ain't it?) The whole point of this blog is to make people realize that anything can be an idea as long as it's worth it and you're interested to write about it.

Write About Your Life.

pexels-photo (1).jpg

Nothing intrigues me more than reading some well-written life stories. Why, you ask? Well, not only do you get to peek into someone else's life without looking like a total creep, but you also get to read and learn from all the difficulties and hardships they went through.

Personally, I love it when people write honestly about their mental health issues and are courageous enough to share their not-so-happy memories. It gives the writer and the reader a chance to empathize with each other and connect on a deeper level.

Write What You Are Thinking.

pexels-photo-935743.jpeg

Like I mentioned earlier, anything can be an idea. Amazingly, even not having an idea can be an idea. You don't always need a really complex topic or event or issue to write about. Writing can really be about what you think on a daily basis or why you think the way you do.

It's doesn't necessarily have to be something serious. You can literally write about anything that pops into your head. Like, your opinion on whether aliens exist or not, or the future of mankind according to your perception, or even predictions about the story of your favourite TV series.

Write What Needs More Attention.

pexels-photo-941555.jpeg

Not everything important in our society is discussed openly and actively. This gives you a great opportunity to be the voice that everybody is dying to hear. The best part is, you can be completely honest about it without having to contain yourself in boundaries and not having to worry about any formalities that come in between you and the problem.

When all the media is afraid to talk about something really important, it gives you a strange power to make a statement of your own because you have no competition to suppress you down. Through time, all those who agree with you, join you and help spread the message that you were trying to broadcast in the first place.

Write Your Failure Stories.

pexels-photo-261470.jpeg

As counter-intuitive as it sounds, writing and sharing your failure stories is just as important as sharing your success stories, not because success stories are too mainstream, but because sharing your failure stories teaches readers to not repeat the same mistakes you did and how none of us are perfect.

I know it's a really hard and embarrassing thing to do and it makes you vulnerable, but isn't that what writing is all about? To connect with the readers and let them experience what it's like to be in your shoes? To let them know that you care enough to share your life with them and embrace your imperfections instead of hiding them?


Continue reading:


Thanks for reading! If you'd like to see more content soon,

Follow Me: @ayushjalan

Sort:  

Great read!

I used to find myself in the same boat, struggling to know what to write about, but nowadays I always have a pocket notebook on me that I can jot down ideas as they come to me. It's amazing how I can be just walking down the street and suddenly the name for a blog post pops into my mind! And I literally have to stop there and then to write it down or I'll completely forget!!

By writing down my ideas, I constantly have a list that I can turn to when I'm stuck or not feeling inspired. However, there will be days that even if I have a great idea, I just don't feel inspired or motivated and that's a sign I need to take a small break, either by doing something completely different or just writing something small like how I'm feeling (like you suggested!).

Something I love about Steemit is that you can write smaller entries about how you're feeling and it's more conversational with you and your followers. It's nice to gain a more personal insight into someone's life. My most popular posts have always been those that have been more personal rather than factual, although there's always room and a need for all types of writing!

Sorry, I'm waffling!

Anyway, I enjoyed reading this and I wish you a great day!

However, there will be days that even if I have a great idea, I just don't feel inspired or motivated and that's a sign I need to take a small break

This is so relatable! I've had really brilliant ideas before and I write 'em down in a memo for future use but sometimes I feel like I need to wait a little while longer because what I'm about to write is dead serious to me and if I'm going to write something which is so close to me, I want to give it all I've got.

I Agree! We can learn a lot from others experience and their life.
Great post..:))

Wicked post once again my man! I would say that one of the best things that you can do when you think that you have run out of ideas on what to post about is to be patient and wait for random thoughts that come into your mind and then make a note of them and see if you can turn it into an article or not. :)

Haha I do the same! I write down all my ideas as soon as they come up in my head so I have back up in case I don't know what to write about in the future.

And thanks for the compliment buddy :)

Exactly, it is a really good method! Anytime ;)

Thank you for the post.
I am fairly new to Steemit and struggle to find material to write about. I see a lot of people find success talking about daily life and travel, or food and work. I differ in that I’m housebound 98% of the year so it can feel frustrating to not have that daily life to write about. And whilst I know writing about mental health can be uplifting and helpful for others, I’m fairly certain people don’t want to read me writing about daily life in bed, and not even the good kind of being in bed, lol!

So I try to find disability issues to write about, and the things that have kept me sane for the past 8 years; my dog, games, tv shows and books. I’ve only got a handful posted so far, including my intro post which kind of outlines how I got to be in this health situation, but any follows, votes and comments are always appreciated and returned in kindness.

I have a notebook file on my phone for random thoughts in case they can be turned into an article. Seems many of you do the same with phones and notebooks! It definitely helps. Even if one thought can’t be turned into an article, write it down anyway and maybe a thought during another week or more both will link up nicely with it and become something more substantial to write about!

Thanks for sharing and I will keep reading the comments for more ideas!

Don't worry. When I first started out, which was not that long ago actually, I had this feeling of overwhelming anxiety mixed with extreme excitement. I knew that I was ready and capable, but not enough to plan everything out beforehand and that way of thinking has helped me so far.

I admit, it can be really difficult to grow on this platform, especially when you're not spending money to make money (for which by the way my friend @gouldingv made an amazing post that you can check out on her channel). But I guess the best organic way to make it big here is to grow an audience who love the same stuff that you do. I was reading some of your posts and you apparently like GOT a lot, so find people who are just as big of a fan as you are!

I won't lie, this place isn't perfect, and sometimes the people here use dirty tactics to push up their numbers, but I still think that majority of the community is really supportive and encouraging. You should come talk to the community directly on Steem.chat.

If you'd like to talk more, my Steem chat ID name is the same as the one I'm using here: @ayushjalan

Good luck :)

Congratulations @ayushjalan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88