You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What To Write About When You Run Out Of Ideas

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Thank you for the post.
I am fairly new to Steemit and struggle to find material to write about. I see a lot of people find success talking about daily life and travel, or food and work. I differ in that I’m housebound 98% of the year so it can feel frustrating to not have that daily life to write about. And whilst I know writing about mental health can be uplifting and helpful for others, I’m fairly certain people don’t want to read me writing about daily life in bed, and not even the good kind of being in bed, lol!

So I try to find disability issues to write about, and the things that have kept me sane for the past 8 years; my dog, games, tv shows and books. I’ve only got a handful posted so far, including my intro post which kind of outlines how I got to be in this health situation, but any follows, votes and comments are always appreciated and returned in kindness.

I have a notebook file on my phone for random thoughts in case they can be turned into an article. Seems many of you do the same with phones and notebooks! It definitely helps. Even if one thought can’t be turned into an article, write it down anyway and maybe a thought during another week or more both will link up nicely with it and become something more substantial to write about!

Thanks for sharing and I will keep reading the comments for more ideas!

Sort:  

Don't worry. When I first started out, which was not that long ago actually, I had this feeling of overwhelming anxiety mixed with extreme excitement. I knew that I was ready and capable, but not enough to plan everything out beforehand and that way of thinking has helped me so far.

I admit, it can be really difficult to grow on this platform, especially when you're not spending money to make money (for which by the way my friend @gouldingv made an amazing post that you can check out on her channel). But I guess the best organic way to make it big here is to grow an audience who love the same stuff that you do. I was reading some of your posts and you apparently like GOT a lot, so find people who are just as big of a fan as you are!

I won't lie, this place isn't perfect, and sometimes the people here use dirty tactics to push up their numbers, but I still think that majority of the community is really supportive and encouraging. You should come talk to the community directly on Steem.chat.

If you'd like to talk more, my Steem chat ID name is the same as the one I'm using here: @ayushjalan

Good luck :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60166.58
ETH 2964.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79