Mischief Makers Day 21: Christmas Caterpillar

in #writing6 years ago

Previous Story (Believe)

Lil, Figgy and Nim sat hunched over a pile of sugar cubes, thinking.

“Sugar cube village?” Nim asked in a less-than-enthusiastic tone.

“Too much like the Lego village, er, disaster.” Lil eyed Nim and giggled.

“Underwear on the tree?” offered Figgy.

“Maybe.” Nim shrugged.

Lil sighed.

Figgy slumped.

cat1.jpg

“That’s it. We are officially out of ideas.” Lil put her small face in her hands.

“Chocolate always helps me think of good ideas,” said Pixie from inside the refrigerator.

“Chocolate helps everything,” said Lil.

“Aaaaand...here it is!” Pixie gave a mighty tug and pulled out a jumbo bottle of chocolate sauce.

“PIxie, be care--”.

“AAAAAAAAHHHH!”

CRASH!

Red and green apples tumbled to the floor, rolling in every direction.

“Oops.” Pixie landed with a squelch on the bottle of chocolate sauce. The lid popped off with a CLICK and thick syrup glooped out onto the floor.

Glitter came galloping into the kitchen with a red pipe cleaner trailing behind. “Is everyone ok? I heard a crash.”

cat2.jpg

“Everyone is fine,” said Nim. “Pixie had an...accident.”

“Glitter,” said Figgy. “Why do you have googly eyes on your antlers?”

Glitter jingled her collar. “I was looking for a craft.”

“A...craft?” asked Lil.

“Yes. For the boys.”

“I suppose we could---”.

“I’ve got it!” interrupted Pixie.

Lil, Figgy and Nim floated over to Pixie while Glitter cantered behind. Pixie had arranged all of the apples in a winding line on the bookshelf.

cat3.jpg

“Pixie, what are you doing?” asked Glitter.

“The apples represent the caterpillar.”

“The what?” Nim crinkled his brow.

“Figgy, you will be the One Apple.”

“Are you feeling ok, Pixie?” Figgy asked.

“Lil, you can be the cookie."

“Wait a minute,” said Lil. “I think I know this story. Something about a caterpillar...”.

"I’ll be the chocolate bar.” Lil waved her hand at her already chocolate covered hat.

"A very hungry caterpillar," said Figgy, catching on.

“And Glitter, you can be the beautiful butterfly!”

The team was smiling once again.

Everyone except Nim. “This is the boys' favorite book and I don't have a part in it?”

“I have the perfect job for you, Nim.” Pixie handed Nim a small stick with a string.

Nim frowned at the stick. “Well, that's not in The Very Hungry Caterpillar. And what’s going on with the celery at the end?”

Pixie smiled. “Bait.”

cat4.jpg

Inspired by The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle

Next Story Coming Soon

Prologue
Day 1 Broken Bones and Promises
Day 2 Tinsel Town
Day 3 Snowmen at Night
Day 4 Cookie Clutter
Day 5 Elf in Trouble
Day 6 Scrooged
Day 7 Night Ninjas
Day 8 Googly-Eyed
Day 9 Snowglobes
Day 10 Hot Air Balloons
Day 11 Holidathlon
Day 12 Christmas Climb
Day 13 Nurse Nim
Day 14 Gingerbread House
Day 15 Sugar Cookie Showdown
Day 16 Sizzling Snowmen
Day 17 Gnomes at Home
Day 18 Snowballs
Day 19 (Birthday Party)
Day 20 (Believe)
Day 21 (Christmas Caterpillar)

Coming Soon!!!
Day 22 (Glitter the House Elf)
Day 23 (Christmas Clue)
Day 24 (All's Well That Ends Well)
Day 25 (Epilogue: Breaking News!)

Sort:  

Hi apinchofhome,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

really a lovely tale, for few minutes I was a child again, isn't this pure magic? thanks was a nice way to remember the time of innocence

I'm glad you enjoyed it! I have such fun writing these tales for my boys.

I had missed this one, yesterday. Very creative and charming story, as always. I am glad to see @curie found you, at last! 😊

Thank you! Only 3 more days of Mischief Making. I will sure miss my elves. LOL

You created a charming and entertaining story, I liked that it was dramatized with real characters, it's a great idea to stimulate the imagination of children, I really liked your writing, a big hug @apinchofhome

Thank you so much @naideth! I'm happy you enjoyed my story. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46