Holding On to the Now to Create a Sense of Wholeness- Daily Gratitude Journal 11

in #writing7 years ago

A person who is stuck in the past is said to be depressed, a person stuck in the future is said to be anxious. I find this idea to be alarmingly accurate. When ever I am stuck in the past all I can do is get upset about how things have gone, while becoming fixed on the future all I can do is worry. When I relax my thoughts and bring myself into the moment, I often find a sense of peace and wholeness that is lacking otherwise. Being in the moment helps me to focus on the things I need, not want. Bringing myself into the now allows me to accept the past and fear not the future. I begin to see things as they are, not as I think they are with my preconceived notions and anxiety. Writing a daily gratitude journal has been a great tool to help me bring myself back to the now. If you're ever feeling down or anxious, just take a few moments and write down several things you are grateful for in your life.


1. Sweets

assortment_sweets.jpg

Source


Did you know that eating a piece of chocolate will activate the same areas of the brain that are activated during an orgasm? Seriously, look it up. Sweets are an amazing treat to have and can really bring a bit of joy to a terrible situation. I do my best to keep my refined sugar intake regulated, but I am grateful that I can enjoy the many varieties of comfort foods.


2. Plumbing

birmingham-plumbers.jpg

Source


Plumbing keeps the clean water in and the dirt water out. Here in Portland, OR, USA we have a great municipal water system. Sewage is treated properly and our drinking water is fairly well taken care of with the occasional issue (like the e. coli breakout in 2013). All in all I am extremely grateful that I have access to working plumbing to help raise my level of health significantly.


3. Comforts of a city

Portland-Oregon-skyline-1.jpg

Source


Being in a city isn't always all that great, especially when you want to be alone and get away from people. However, there are many things in a city that you just don't have access to in more rural areas. I am very grateful to have the creature comforts of the big city like a varied access to many different foods and supplies.

Though one day I do plan to live in a much more rural space than this!


What are YOU grateful for?


LOVELAUGHTER&&XHAOS

PALPABLE POPE Ypyskypo Skwyrl, the Y'sas
Loser of Found Souls, Temple of Appled Thought
Erisian Ataxia Troupe


If you enjoyed this article, please follow me and check out a few of the others that I have authored!


Sort:  

I'm greatfull to for:
My wife it is nice to have companionship and love.
My friends same reason as above.
My health

I get anxiety as well. Many different activities bring me into the present, the more dangerous the more I get lost in the now.

You have a wonderful list of things to be grateful for. <3 Thank you for sharing.

What is your favorite activity to bring you into the now?

Yeah we should make our present better and sweets are lovely

Absolutely, the present is the only time we actually have:)

very well said @alchemage
To live and enjoy every moment of life .
Spread love in your surrounding :)

(you hear an engine rev and horn honk)
MEEP! MEEP!
(the window on the humvee rolls down to reveal a warm smiling face)
"Hello! I'm @shadow3scalpel and with the help of my protege, @chairborne, we are actively assisting veterans, retirees and active servicemen and women here on Steemit. We feel it is our 'duty' to support each other. Any questions or comments you may have, simply respond to this comment, thank you!"
(the window rolls up and the engine roars as it drives to the next person on the list)
Comment by @killerwhale. This is a opt-in bot.

Nice post; I think that living here and now is essential to keep one's balance! Today I am grateful for having spent a wonderful day, for being able to help a friend and I am grateful to be here writing on this post right now! Thank you so much for the food for thought and for sharing your thoughts! See you soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63047.55
ETH 2690.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54