Finding Time to Reflect - Daily Gratitude Journal 13

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Too often we get caught up in the busy hustle bustle of the day. From the moment we wake up and set our feet upon the floor, to the moment our head hits the pillow we can easily find ourselves trapped in a continuous cycle of the drive without taking any time to ourselves to sit and think or sit and not think. A daily gratitude journal is a quick and easy way to stop for five or ten minutes out of each day and reflect on all of the good things growing in and nurturing our lives. I personally have been battling against chronic PTSD and severe depression for over 20 years. Some days are worse than others, but I have found much solace in creating a gratitude journal during these times. I hope these entries can inspire others to find it in themselves to focus on the good even when the world is engulfed in Hell.


1. Forgiveness

Forgiveness Ghandi.jpg

Source


Forgiveness allows us to move on from a situation, either forgiving our own actions or those of another. Holding resentment and grudges do nothing but poison the heart, mind, and soul. I am grateful I have learned how to forgive and to let go. There things I have difficulty letting go, but I have been putting in the work to get through those situations.


2. Resourcefulness

robot idea lightbulb.jpg

Source


Although I wouldn't say it is my best quality, nor that I'm even great at being resourceful, but I do use it to the best of my ability. Being able to create new things just from the scratch found around is phenomenal. Learning to do things in new ways because you lack the required tools or objects really stretches the brain and the logical and creative aspects of the mind. I am grateful that I can see things in different ways and find ways around my obstacles with resourcefulness.


3. Books

library.jpg

Source


Books give us a way to learn or to escape from the mundane around us. They show us new lands and far off galaxies we might never even imagined of. Books are the gates to an infinite array of unederstanding. I am grateful to have access to so many different types of books and that I can enjoy reading them.


What are YOU grateful for?

__

LOVELAUGHTER&&XHAOS

PALPABLE POPE Ypyskypo Skwyrl, the Y'sas
Loser of Found Souls, Temple of Appled Thought
Erisian Ataxia Troupe


If you enjoyed this article, please follow me and check out a few of the others that I have authored!


Sort:  

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61586.28
ETH 2569.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55