Exaggeration, Surprise and Sympathy - Three Elements that Can Make the Character Interesting

in #writing7 years ago

There are many ways to create interesting characters for a story, one way used by some of the Japanese mangaka is what I call The Three Traits Method. It works better with the Character Driven Approach and some stories will benefit a lot if written with these traits in mind.

This post is inspired by team SMAC videos: Here's a link

I wrote this post from memory and changed a lot of things from what I remember, but in these videos: [1] [2] [3] team SMAC are talking about this way to create a character in more depth than my article.


(Source: Pixabay)


Exaggeration

Having the character being the best or worst at something... or as team SMAC say "The World's Most [...]".... This is one of the best ideas to create a main character for manga. and it's one of the good ideas to create them for novels...

The World's Most Famous Detective
The World's Most Average Guy
The World's Most Shy Person

This alone can make a character interesting.... and it's easy to think of a story to a character like that.

But this is only a trait for the character, and they shouldn't be the Actual world best or worst at that thing, you just as a writter have to exaggerate that trait of the character and the phrase "The World's Most" is just there to help you imagine what type of character would be if they are that good or bad at something.

Actually in long stories, sometimes it's better to make the character isn't the best at what they do...

And finally the exaggerated thing is better being a personality thing... like softness, shyness, nervousness, anger... because this is easy to imagine

Surprise

After the exaggerated trait... adding something unexpected for someone like that... or adding something that seem contradictory to it. Having a character that have interesting trait and something unexpected to go with it will make them a lot more interesting...

The World's Most Famous Detective... But Never Leaves Home.
The World's Most Average Guy... But Very Optimistic
The World's Most Shy Girl... But Dreams to be an Actress

Just from this the reader will want to know more about the character... I'm sure you are thinking "how" when reading the examples above...

But you see... a character like that won't seem human at all... s/he is too perfect. that's why we add another trait--

Sympathy

Though I prefer "Relatability" is to add something to the character to make them more human... if they were too strong add a weakpoint to their character. if they're took weak make them stronger.

The World's Most Famous Detective But Never Leaves Home... Needs Eating Sweets To Think.
The World's Most Average Guy But Very Optimistic... Unlucky With Random Events
The World's Most Shy Girl But Dreams to be an Actress.. Is Bad At Singing
(I feel my examples are very bad here... HELP!!)

The sympathy or the weak point... makes the character that seem unrealistic because of the two traits before it.. seem more real!! this is the most important step and done badly it can make everything collapse. Remember to make the weak point an Actual weak point not something that can be seen positively... not something enviable... Most of the Mary sue characters are like that because their weak point isn't something that drags them down.


Confronting Challenge

The best use of characters made by this method is to make them face challenges....

Because these characters can easily be defined, you can easily find challenges for them to face: you only need to know that the famous detective don't leave home to put him in a case that he can't solve unless he goes outside. You only need to know that the shy girl who wants to be actress is bad at singing to put here in a role that needs singing....

It's easy to create stories for these characters because they are obviously defined from the start.

Character Development

In longer stories it's better to have character development... the character changes through the story.... depending on the combination of the traits this can be too easy or too hard....

But one thing you should put in mind... is to not make the character too perfect... if their weak point is converted to strong point through the character development, then another weak point should take it's place... Though changing the character definition than how it was in the start is too risky.... so most writers (at least for manga) will try to keep these traits the same for their character.... and develop other things for their personalities letting these traits stay the same.


Conclusion

So as you see, you have a character with a big trait coupled with unexpected or contradicting to it... plus a relatable trait that removes him from "the perfect" to "human" category.

The Three Traits Method won't work if the character doesn't have the three traits... and the character is better written using other methods (or no method at all). If one of those traits are done badly it will make the character seem "off" or something... but it's still one of the easiest methods to make characters people want to know more about!!

And finally this is method used in writing manga, and it's not a really good way to write realistic stories. If you want that you better watch people in real life more... Oh, wait.... if you wanna write anything you better watch people in real life more!!


If you want to read more from my topics about writing, below are the previous posts:

Plot Driven vs Character Driven Approach in Creating a Story
Analysis of Stories by [ Sides of Conflict ]

For now... what do you think? Please tell me in comments.
And look forward to my other posts about writing.

Salam (Peace)

Sort:  

I completely agree,
this aspects definitely add depth and many facets to a character, and when the characters are balanced and well rounded in their specified areas, it will add to the story overall in a more impactful manner, I really enjoyed the Baki The Grappler Anime, the characters in there are extremely strong

By the way, There is a new Steemit Haiku Poem Contest: Make Haikus Great Again out
You should definitely enter in too
All Haiku fans are going to enter including me

Thanks for reading this old post and glad you agree... Most anime I've seen have strong characters.


About Haiku, I'll try to enter contest... I'm not really fan of Haiku as most Haiku's I've seen feel worse than mine... and I consider mine bad too. (Yup, for me most of my works not good enough).

But when I find a Haiku I like.. that's when I feel Haikus deserves my attention!!

Just spreading the word about this good Haiku Contest, I always want to see people who host good contests receive a lot of entries and community engagement, I understand what you mean.

And you're welcome, I write Haikus everyday, maybe you would like mine

Have you ever seen Baki The Grappler? It's available at animefreak.tv and also youtube, it is a great anime

I haven't seen that anime yet, and I have too many animes I want to watch next so I don't think I'll watch it soon... And I like it that you spread the contest... people's post on steemit really need more spreading.

Yeah, support is really important in this community and I learned that early on when I joined. I know exactly what you mean, which anime do you recommend me? I want the best of the best please lol no more than 3

well, the best are already popular that you must know them already....especially if you want shounen:

But ones I watched and I think are good, but are not discussed a lot:

  • Erased (very unique mystery story)
  • Umineko (didn't watch it yet, but my freind never stopped recommending it to me)
  • Dragon Quest: Dai no Daibouken (I watched this as young and it's not really popular but if you love Dragon Ball you might love it a lot)

Well, I was going to say My Hero Academia too but it's popular enough. Oh.. said it now.. haha....

But that's a new anime... one anime I watched the arabic dub for when I was young, and I never seen an anime like it was "Romeo's Blue Skies"... It's too old and based on an older novel. But if you want a realistic adventure with a lot of drama and friendship (a realistic one too)... This work is a masterpiece.

I am no manga or anime expert, and everything you have mentioned are brand new to my knowledge. I liked Inuyasha a lot, Trigun, Full Metal Alchemist, Naruto and others.

Other than My Hero Academia all the ones I've said aren't well known much, even by many of experts...

Oh, there's an anime company that only makes movies...and all of its movie are great. and suit even the people who don't watch anime: search for: Ghibli Movies.... I didn't mention them because they are very popular.

By the way, because of my conversation with you, I wrote a post about Romeo Blue Skies.. it doesn't have spoilers (I only spoiled the beginning) so you can read it and still enjoy the anime.

By the way, you might want to check my posts... sometimes I talk about manga I read.... and I'll probably talk more about them in the future.

Oh okay, that's good to know, thanks for the heads up, the Baki The Grappler Manga was great

I could imagine those 3 traits still giving a basis for a realistic character also, as long as you moderate the "world's most" part. Everyone is complicated. The hard part isn't so much to pick traits as it is to not violate characterization when writing...

or maybe the character sees itself that way but it's not quite true.

enjoyed reading this especially as i am not familiar with manga! Thanks!

@ahmadmanga Its very interesting info.. Excellent post keep it up.

Congratulations @ahmadmanga! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ahmadmanga from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66666.50
ETH 3503.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71