Plot Driven vs Character Driven Approach in Creating a Story

in #writing7 years ago

It's hard to notice sometimes when looking at the final story, but there are at least two approaches to write them. Starting with the events, or starting with the characters.


(soruce: pixabay)


I'm not an expert and most of this info is from my humble experience (I'm just a beginner writer)... from articles I read, and from watching SMAC videos (those encourage manga writers to use the character approach). I also noticed that the protagonists of the manga Bakuman (a story about manga writing) use the plot approach where their rival uses the character approach.


Plot Driven Approach

As a writer, first you imagine the story, the events and the action... If you write the idea or the summary of the story you leave out the characters.. at the moment they are just roles.

When you write the story you turn these roles into characters. you make characters specifically for that role so you create a personality and a backstory that makes that role possible.

Plot Driven Approach is good way to create new ideas. and to have a specific ending. But it's very easy to make your character act out-of-character. especially in longer stories.

Character Driven Approach

As a writer, first you create the character, their personality, likes and dislikes.. you create a backstory for them. If you write the idea or the summary of the story the character would be the base of it.

And finally you put them in a situation... and see what they do in that situation.

Sometimes you can't predict character driven stories as you write them, these characters aren't made for a "role" so they might act differently in some situations, being fleshed out this much it's easy to make them act out-of-character if you try to make them act roles to reach a specific ending.

The more characters you create with this approach the more unpredictable and real the story becomes. But it's hard to control the action this way.

Double Approach

I think most of the writers use both approaches at the same time...

For me, I always start with Plot Driven Approach, but as soon as I create the characters for the roles I go fully Character Driven....

Most of time nothing from the actual plot stays as my characters always act different than I want them to. It doesn't feel right to make them do something they don't want so my story writing is filled with imagining and re-imagining different endings until the story reaches an ending by itself.


Final Words

Sorry, I wanted to do informative post but it seems I just talked about my opinion without any examples... Just hope you found this post useful to figure how some writers write.

Finally I wrote all of this myself with no sources. but if you need more reading check this, it takes the topic from a very different anle from me:

Character Driven v. Plot Driven Writing: What’s the Difference?

where you'll probably find more info about the topic if you're interested.

Sort:  

@ahmadmanga, I think you summed it up well. I know from plenty of experience that my own style is highly character driven, and reading your article, I identify with the process you described. So examples or not, I think you're on point. This may be helpful to many people who are wrestling with this information for the first time.

It's nice to know that one professional like you identifies with my process of working.

This is great work. Clear and to the point. Nicely done.

Thanks ~ I have another article about the topic, but I wrote this first to make the other one shorter.

Heard something like that about marvel and dc heroes.

I think it depends on the writer for these series that have many writers.

Ahmad, this article is GREAT! I am so glad you mentioned it in the workshop so I went looking for it. I'd missed it in my feed somehow. I seem to follow too many people. I use a mixed approach. I often start with a flash of a scene then build both plot and characters around that. Misty Vale, for example, started with a piece of the opening. The thunder, the vale, and the mists. Everything else was built to make that scene make sense. Mudwyrm started with the characters. A lot of the world-building had already been done with my co-authors, @rhondak and @GMuxx, so I invented a lonely lowly dragon that needed a friend and went about getting her one.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Thanks @Gmuxx... I'm writing the follow up post for this right now... but I'm too tired to continue so I might not post it today.... Glad to know that you are part of OCD!!

I look forward to reading it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66666.50
ETH 3503.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71