Several Important Updates

in #worldofphotography7 years ago (edited)


contest.jpg

Only entries on the day of the contests will be reviewed

As mentioned before on my main account @juliank, where I do most of the updates to keep this blog neat, due to the high amount of entries (over 1000 photos per day on average) , which is a good thing, I will only be reviewing photos posted on the day of the contest for each category. This is until 24 hours after my daily reminder post from my main account. The server time is set at UTC+1 (Amsterdam time). I will be updating the bot this week to let you know if your photo is eligible.

You can still keep sharing photos in these categories on the other days, this will still earn you XP and get you upvotes.

I did not get a reply from the bot!

So the Steem network has been experiencing some difficulties. Initially I thought my bot was not able to keep up and was working on efficiency improvements, but it appeared it has to do with certain nodes in the network. This is good since that means less work for me :P, but this is also bad since it means I am dependent on these nodes to work properly. While I updated the list of nodes it connects to, some new problem appeared today. I will be looking into hosting my own node to circumvent this.

Until that is set up you might not always get a comment and or upvote from the bot. This does not mean your photo is not participating in the contest though! I go over the entries for the contests manually, so no worries here. I also temporarily removed the penalty on the XP multiplier for not posting a photo on a given day.

Last couple of selections were not registered to wins/XP

So while working on automating my life I created an interface that allows me to do the selections beforehand and put these in a .txt file, which then gets posted at a certain time and all winners are paid out as well. While this is super nice, I overlooked something important that resulted in these selections not being registered XP wise.

I have figured out a somewhat easy solution to fix this, expect your stats to be updated later this week.

I love you guys

I love to go over the photos and get inspired by your great work. I learn a lot from these and notice that when I do my own photography. I think it is cool we can build a community around photography on this amazing platform. I did some calculations and with current the Steem price and also accounting for the high SBD value in upvotes from the bot I am giving away just shy of $4000 per 28 days. I believe this is an investment well worth it! I would like to keep the prize pool in Steem as is, even if the value goes up even higher, so we can grow together with the platform. The market price will go up and down and up and down, but I will do best to keep it the same in Steem ;)

Plagiarsm

As always I will keep fighting against plagiarism. I want to repeat here that you are only allowed to enter your own photos, made by you (just you, not your brother, sister or cat). These contests are to share your photography while learning from, growing with and inspiring each other.

Questions?

While I almost read every comment I have not been getting back to a lot of them, except for really important ones. Mostly due to the amount and that I am working behind the scenes. Feel free to ask me any questions here and I will do my best to respond. You can also always contact me on discord (@juliank) or steemit.chat(@julian_k). This allows me to get back to you when I have time, which I always make. Also join our discord channel for random stuff :D


banner_contests_3.jpg


Monday: foodphotography and animalphotography
Tuesday: landscapephotography and cityscapephotography
Wednesday: architecturalphotography and vehiclephotography
Thursday: macrophotography and colourfulphotography
Friday: streetphotography and portraitphotography
Saturday: sportsphotography and smartphonephotography
Sunday: goldenhourphotography and longexposurephotography


Screenshot 2017-12-08 10.35.04.png

Play in fairlotto

Send SBD to @fairlotto with memo: hourly or daily

LottoTicket PriceGuaranteed Prize Pool
hourly0.01 SBD0.10 SBD
daily0.10 SBD1.0 SBD
Example: buy 1 hourly ticket - Send 0.01 SBD to @fairlotto memo: hourly


Useful links

Photography Contests FAQ
5 Ways To Increase Your Followers And Their Engagement On Steemit
My Posting Template

Sort:  

Thanks for keep updating us!

You are welcome :D

thank you so much!

you must be so busy with this, really thankful you organise it! thank you.

It is worth it! Thanks :D

Thank you for all your hard work! It's fun and rewarding to be a part of this community of great photographers.

Fun is good, winning is not the most important. So glad to hear that :D

I’m new and found your contests right away. I love this as a way to share and better my photography. Plus it is great for simply finding nice photos to look at! Thanks!

Awesome, have fun on this amazing platform!

It's great that it's evolving, appreciate the time and effort your putting into making the system fair for all.

Thanks, I think fairness is a keystone, this way everybody has an equal chance and will feel like they have a shot

Exactly, it would be too easy for the professional photographers to win everything, this way creativity is rewarded :)

Thank you so much @juliank! As a total newbie, this space can be more than a little bit overwhelming. Your contests have helped me clarify how I show up here – at least to begin with – as well as inspiring me to look through my extensive catalogs and share photos that have never before been seen (even by me, beyond the moment I the pressed the shutter!) • You've also been so generous with your Steemit knowledge via Discord, even though not all my questions have involved these contests. I am sincerely grateful.

You are welcome! Feel free to ask anything you want and if possible I will always try to answer your questions ;)

Waaaahhh, crazy @juliank/ @photocontests, 1000 photos per day, insane!
I have so much respect for your hard work & dedication, do you ever sleep?
Thank you for this update & for always finding the time to keep renewing the information! WE LOVE YOU TOO!!!

I do sleep yes! I love my sleep, that is why I love programming so I can automate a lot of stuff and sleep more :D

thank you! your contests inspires me to take better photos.

And your entries inspire me to make better photos as well!

Thank you! yes sometimes bots don't comment or upvote, but I was shocked that one of my photos won the foodphotography contest, that photo didn't get any comments or upvotes. but its ok, i'm just starting out anyways :)

As mentioned I go over the entries manually so even if you do not get a response your entry is still valid :)

Thank you @juliank for your reply

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53807.82
ETH 2237.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30