It's remembrance Sunday - lest we forget.

in #world5 years ago

4 minutes and 20 seconds.... That's all I ask! If you watch one thing today, this is it.

Taken from the 1940 film - "The Great dictator", Charlie Chaplin gives, what is in my opinion, one of the greatest movie speeches of all time. Its just as poignant now as it was then.

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmjtFKqbc6c4UF1nhFtkzBqTKV3CLtfuny479heiraFfH6t1aySvsGmQc5E5DN.png

To those who can hear me, I say - do not despair. The misery that is now upon us is but the passing of greed - the bitterness of men who fear the way of human progress.

20140630-WWILENS-slide-OV88-superJumbo.jpg

The hate of men will pass, and dictators die, and the power they took from the people will return to the people. And so long as men die, liberty will never perish.

Ever noticed that in all historical photos of war and "the front-line", you never EVER see the people that brought us to this point?

IMG_20191110_083120.jpg

You, the people have the power - the power to create machines. The power to create happiness! You, the people, have the power to make this life free and beautiful, to make this life a wonderful adventure.

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmjtFKqbc6c4UF1nhFtkzBqTKV3CLtfuny479heiraFfH6t1aySvsGmQc5E5DN.png

Remember, it is us, the people that gives "THEM" power over us. The moment we stop playing their game, the game ends! We choose to play along and we can choose to stop at any time.

I'm not saying finding a new game to play would be easier, but wouldn't it be nice if you could make the rules to your own game.

comments.gif
download.png

Sort:  

Thank you, my friend!
!trdo

Congratulations @ronaldoavelino, you successfuly trended the post shared by @welshstacker!
@welshstacker will receive 0.58587300 TRDO & @ronaldoavelino will get 0.39058200 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Congratulations @welshstacker! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 8000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you welshstacker! You've just received an upvote of 59% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts

Check out today's daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

This bot is open source.

Clone it from github
Get help installing and running this bot

Such a brilliant speech and imo even better when listened to on Paulo Nutini’s Song, Iron Sky. Certainly agree that we have to stop playing “their game” and if you look to the past it appears the people have the tools within our own natural laws to get rid of our oppressors. There is a group called Lawful Rebellion, of which I am a proud member, and they understand how the game has been twisted to create the world we live in today. My steemit name is reference to this and it’s quite an interesting take on things. Peace to you and yours my friend

I'm a big fan. People think I'm crazy because I question the "society" I was birthed into.

No man/women can tell me what to do and how I should live. I am free to make my own decision and live how I see fit. You are opted IN, but can never opt OUT! very strange that....

Man missed it the video has been copyright by the all owning YouTube grrr 💯🐒

It's a famous clip, so just search "the great dictator speech". You'll find it straight away.

Yer I did seen it before such wise words 💯🐒

A blinding quote one we should all listen to and take on board 💯🐒

Congratulations @welshstacker, your post successfully recieved 0.585873 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@ronaldoavelino earned : 0.390582 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59926.69
ETH 2622.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38