Project: My Own X-Carve Dust Control System - Main parts

in #woodworking6 years ago (edited)

Habedere Steemians,

today I want to show you how I made the different parts of the dust control system.

If you missed the concept part; here it is:
https://steemit.com/woodworking/@theguymasamato/project-my-own-x-carve-dust-control-system

Most of the parts of this project are from the cnc machine.
So I used my render model and created all toolpath's in Fusion 360.

Here is an example:

Toolpath.gif

I used 15mm plywood, 3mm MDF and 10mm PMAA for the main parts.

IMG_1254.jpg

The main parts are:
4 plywood gantry mounts
2 plywood main rails
2 MDF rail cover
2 plywood dust shoe mounts
1 PMAA dust shoe

Some of them need additional work after the cnc process.

On the original X-Carve gantry are 4 screws to hold the wheels in place.
These are in the way now.

To cover them I put the main rails on my table saw and cut 2 small slot out of the plywood.

IMG_1261.jpg

The dust shoe mounts needs 2 holes for the screws.
So I put them on my drill press and add these to the mounts.

IMG_1272.jpg

Here can you see now all parts that I'm using for this dust shoe.
To connect the dust shoe to my main dust control system I used a small piece of ht pipe.
For the brushes I bought a 30mm window brush strip and cut them to the right lenght.
To hold the dust shoe in place I will do that with small magnets.

IMG_1149.jpg

What's next?

In the next update I will show you the finishing process, how the different parts work together and also how everything is mounted to the machine.

Servus and cu next time.

3rd update:
https://steemit.com/woodworking/@theguymasamato/project-my-own-x-carve-dust-control-system-done

Sort:  

This post has been resteemed by @woodworkcurators
woodlogo2.png

Daily promotion and curation for the Woodworking community.
You can read about us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66372.71
ETH 3445.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63