Witness Update - 14th December 2018 - Witness Survey v1.0 - Steemd v0.20.7

in #witness-update5 years ago (edited)

Witness Update

14th December 2018
Witness Survey v1.0 - Steemd v0.20.7

It's been some time since my last witness update. As you see, I paid for my server and I will be a witness for at lease one more month.


You can read my answers to @witnesssurvey's survey.

What is your position/stance on bid-bots (ownership/delegations/opinion)? - @abh12345, @ammonite

I think they are good promotion tool, but bot owners should care more for blacklisting and unvoting low quality posts.

What does the witness want to do to make the blockchain more user-friendly and help to on-board new users. What do THEY personally want to see done and what will they do to get it there? - @ericwilson

I think that steem is not ready for mass adoption yet.

Do you think votes for witnesses should last indefinitely or should they time out (or perhaps decay over time) so that periodically voters will need to reevaluate and affirm their positions by recasting their votes? - @harvhat

I think 1 year vote decay would be fine.

Do you think the 30 witness votes each steemian gets is the correct number, especially in light of the fact there are only 20 top witnesses to be seated? - @harvhat

As long it's working, we don't need to change that.

What is a concern or two that you have about the #steem blockchain? - @johnspalding

Spam and lack of good content.

What are you hopeful about for the #steem blockchain? - @johnspalding

I'm waiting for SMTs.

What is the monthly cost of equipment? - @abh12345

I pay €47.16 (220 STEEM last month)

Where do your earnings go? - @abh12345

I made ~50 SP per month and I had to pay 220 STEEM last month. I think I made a loss of ~200 SBD and ~500 STEEM from my witness in last 9 months.

[What are some of your] Current projects? - @abh12345

Ether Steem (https://ethersteem.com)

[Will you provide an] Alt accounts list? - @abh12345

@fbslo
@fbslo.pay
@boostme
@boostmepost
@iprofit
@steemdeals
@steem.deals
@jackpot-bot
@hardbass

What are the benefits associated with being a witness? - @klassic

You keep blockchain running.

How do I become a witness? - @steemingmark

There are many tutorials. Check @someguy123's guide LINK

What do you think the SBD [STEEM] price for a new account should be? - @harvhat

I think 3 $ is good price.

Have you implemented any new procedures for evaluating potential hardforks? - @patrickulrich

We don't have any HF scheduled soon, so I will decide when we know more details of HF21.

Should we have interest for SBD? - @patrickulrich

Not as much as for STEEM. But yes, SBD is important.

Do you think 20/21 top witnesses a good number or should there be more or less? - @harvhat

I think it's good number.


New version of Steemd was relased and I already upgraded to v0.20.7. It's security update and it's not so important for user experience.


My Server:

  • Intel Core i7-3930
  • 2x HDD SATA 750 GB
  • 8x 8192 MB DDR3 (64 GB RAM)

Rewards:

I got 58.01 SP producer rewards on last 30 days.
(Data from SteemWorld.org by @steemchiller)

My server costs:


Delegations and Community projects




(Data from Steemian.info by @drakos)

Witness settingsSettings
Account creation fee9 STEEM
Max Block Size65536
SBD APR0.00 %
BIAS-
Price FeedEvery 6 hours

I'm witness #118 (active rank) and #141 (total rank). Thank you for your support.


@fbslo


27496184_2012467288996553_1171355060_n.png
(Click on the button)

(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)


Please read my Witness Thread and support me by voting @fbslo for witness.
SteemConnect link: https://steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=fbslo&approve=1

Sort:  

Thanks a lot mate for the mention and answering my question that link is really helpful I have upvoted and resteemed for you mate! 😁😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Hope you keep up the good work i have an upcoming mega doge/steem giveaway hope you participate

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has been included in today's SOS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



Hi @fbslo!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.448 which ranks you at #610 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 613).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 205 contributions, your post is ranked at #30.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I pay €47.16 (220 STEEM last month)

That's not too bad actually, had no idea that it was that cheap to be honest. Okay, might be a lot for some people, but I was expecting it to be way more.

But earnings were only 60 SP.

Many witnesses have seed node, backup node and top 20 have full node too (~500$).

Posted using Partiko Android

Definitely isn't profitable to be a witness, was just saying that most people can probably pay that out of their own pocket. It's not ideal, but shouldn't be too big of a deterrent for most people. Still wish you could pay it from your earnings though.

Oh yikes, yeah $500 per month is a pretty huge commitment indeed :-/

Top 20 witnesses get ~10000 SP per month so they can afford.

Posted using Partiko Android

Top 20 witnesses get ~10000 SP per month so they can pay.

Posted using Partiko Android

You need to give up, cant borrow money to run at a lost, still borrowing neoxian money huh. Just let it go.

I borrowed money just to get time to make power down.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88