Witness Update September - New Steem Hotfix and Projects Updates

September Witness Update and Progress

Steem Updated

As of 1st of September, there is a new update to the Steemd chain, v0.19.2. Most witnesses are upgrading to this version, which is a recommended Hotfix for an issue found in the code related to P2P Network Stability.

The changes are relatively small, but included an improved stability of the p2p network, related to several issues. There is also an updated docker deployment as well as documentation around it.

Nothing fancy, but regular hotfixes are equally important. This Hotfix is as noted a recommended update for anyone running a local steem node or witness node.

Release Notes

Witness Progress

As of today I’m running v0.19.2, which is the latest version of the Steem Node.

Since my last update post, everything has been running very smooth on all my nodes, both primary and backup witness. I've missed one block in August, totaling three blocks in 3 months. I assume the reason for this miss was a network latency on my provider's end.

Thanks to the great support of the people that vote on my witness I'm currently witnessing one block every two hours, making it a total of 11-12 blocks per day in average.

Steem Watcher

During August I released my monitoring python script [Steem Watcher](https://steemit.com/steem/@sc-steemit/steemwatcher-updated-with-proxy-and-witness-votes-alerts) and updated it twice with more features. You can find it on [GitHub](https://github.com/startailcoon/graphene-resources).

Steem Watcher is a Python script, running together with Steem Python to enable easy monitoring of actions related to an account and witness as well as specified triggers for mentions. It uses Telegram for notifications and monitors things like votes, comments, mentions, transactions, and rewards.

For the moment you're required to have a machine to run this on.

BitShares Full Node running Smoothly, as expected

My BitShares Full node keeps running smoothly, available to anyone to connect to by WebSocket or RPC. It is included in the web-wallet source code since a month or two back now.

There have been no software updates to the BitShares node during August. There is, however, some very active progress on the development of the BitShares web-wallet. If you find a but you should submit it to their Issue tracker on GitHub. The likelihood that the issue is resolved within a few weeks is very high.

I’m also seeking support for my witness on the BitShares network through my witness sc-ol.

Support my Witness on BitShares:
sc-ol

Gridcoin Updates

During August there was some major progress on the Gridcoin blockchain. On September 1st, as well, a new stake engine started running. The V8 Stake engine, making some changes in the way the payments of Researchers are paid out. The impact of this change is still to come. During the week this was a hot topic by users of the community.

Release Notes

Gridcoinstats Progress

Most of my time is still going to the new block explorer web page of Gridcoinstats.eu. With more fancy graphs, better tracking, and notification features. I hope to be able to release the page in a few weeks, depending on the amount of time I can put in.

Highlighting Posts

I would like to highlight some of my posts that I've made

Vote for me as Witness

Do You enjoy what I contribute to the community, consider voting for my Witnesses or as a Steemit Proxy Voter.

By voting for me as a witness, you will support an active witness on Steem and BitShares. I believe a witness should keep up-to-date on current happenings and be a conduit between the many users and the system.

Read my Witness Posts: BitShares, Steemit

Support my Projects: Project Minnow Witness, Gridcoinstats.eu, Crypto.fans

Steemit: sc-steemit
BitShares: sc-ol

Proud Supporter of the Cryptocurrency Gridcoin

Sort:  

Congratulations @sc-steemit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations, hopefully BitShares and Gridcoin blockchain continue to grow and help everyone.

Regards

Just voted for you, because you are GRC enthusiast!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.46
ETH 2409.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42