[Witness Application] - for originate

in #witness-category8 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow steemers, 

I've officially set up a witness and seed node for a backup position.  A thank you to @anyx for some witness tips. Here's some background on myself, along with details on the node specifications. 

About me:

  •  I'm an active miner. 
  •  I'm a developer by trade..programming is a true passion of mine.
  •  I'm creator of two steem backed projects which I work on daily: 

http://steemurl.com - (http://steemurl.com/5ct_irFs)

steemurl is the ultimate way to share steem links and see click analytics.

http://steemshare.com  - (http://steemurl.com/DcMCfvrZ)

steemshare is the easiest way to organize and categorize your favorite steem posts into lists. 

Server breakdown:

Witness node AWS, 6 GB/RAM, 4 CPU.
Seed node: 52.34.251.136:2001

Voting:

This can be done in two ways..

- http://steemit.com/~witnesses

- from the cli_wallet:  vote_for_witness YOU originate true true


I appreciate your support, 

Thanks!

@originate

Sort:  

up - you have my vote
I'm your fan

Im new to this trying to read and learn as much as I can as quick as I can sadly haven't started on mining so haven't a clue lol

Hi originate, is there a difference between running a witness node an a regular miner? Ive always wondered. Does it require special hardware etc beyond what a typical miner would have?

I would like to vote for you but can't find your name on the list of witnesses. And I don't have cli_wallet installed :(

@originate Thanks for the basic specs post. I had been asking around and digging around for basic node specs because I wanted to set one up as well to support Steem.

Unfortunately my past couple of posts online listing what I knew from reading the white paper and asking for specs were getting an insane amount of upvotes from bots (40+ within minutes of posting), but zero responses from actual humans who were willing to help me get a ballpark figure on reasonable specs.

I found it kind of odd that the node software right now is CPU only based and there's no GPU support yet, because GPU's are so much more efficient and powerful than CPU's when it comes to raw compute power.

If you don't mind me asking, aside from the 6 GB of RAM and 4 CPU's any chance you help me out with a little more info about the number of cores and their speed as well so I can get a rough idea of what people shoot for when starting up a node?

Any assistance would be much appreciated and congrats on getting your node up and running! :-)

Simply Great Information and Presentation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52