You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Witness Application] - for originate

in #witness-category8 years ago

@originate Thanks for the basic specs post. I had been asking around and digging around for basic node specs because I wanted to set one up as well to support Steem.

Unfortunately my past couple of posts online listing what I knew from reading the white paper and asking for specs were getting an insane amount of upvotes from bots (40+ within minutes of posting), but zero responses from actual humans who were willing to help me get a ballpark figure on reasonable specs.

I found it kind of odd that the node software right now is CPU only based and there's no GPU support yet, because GPU's are so much more efficient and powerful than CPU's when it comes to raw compute power.

If you don't mind me asking, aside from the 6 GB of RAM and 4 CPU's any chance you help me out with a little more info about the number of cores and their speed as well so I can get a rough idea of what people shoot for when starting up a node?

Any assistance would be much appreciated and congrats on getting your node up and running! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50