@Riverhead - Meet The Witnesses #14, Remastered

River1.png

#14 - @Riverhead

Riverhead is probably best known as a key developer and server manager for the Steemit.chat service, a key piece of secondary infrastructure for many Steemit communities. In particular, certain community-serving channels such as the “Steemit Abuse” channel operate only thanks to the hard work behind the scenes at Steemit.chat.

River2.png

A shot of my Steemit.chat screen.

For a long time, before a few key Discord communities like MSP were established, Steemit.chat was the go-to location for the most up-to-date Steemit information. Even today it retains a large demographic of key users, with the witness channel in particular continuing to see substantial collaboration and activity.

River3.png

All manner of technical discussion to keep Steem nodes running happens here.

Riverhead has also generously donated 10000 SBD to the Steemfest 2 initiative as a sponsor. Truly, a massive sum and the largest single donation of any kind from any Steemian that I am aware of.

In his spare time, Riverhead has contributed the python code for a few small bots around the Steemit ecosystem, including an internal market bot and a price-pegging bot for the Bittrex/Coinbase spread on SBD.

Riverhead is also a Bitshares standby witness, at #36. He is also in the process of becoming a witness on the Muse blockchain, a DPOS based music curation project.

River4.jpg

A quick infographic on the functionality of the Muse blockchain.

Riverhead is holding 694,000 SP and is NOT powering down, demonstrating substantial faith in Steemit long-term.

Riverhead’s Current Witness Thread: https://steemit.com/rocketchat/@riverhead/witness-riverhead-update-week-of-august-1st-2016

Riverhead’s Original Witness Thread: https://steemit.com/witness-category/@riverhead/witness-proposal-riverhead

Muse Witness Post: https://steemit.com/muse/@riverhead/muse-witness-proposal

Steemit.Chat Update: https://steemit.com/steemitchat/@riverhead/where-s-steemit-chat

Steemfest Sponsorship: https://steemit.com/steemfest/@riverhead/steemfest-sponsorship-giving-back

Market Bot: https://steemit.com/trading/@riverhead/rudimentary-internal-market-bot

Pegging Bot: https://steemit.com/trading/@riverhead/simple-pegging-bot-bittrex-coinbase

@cob’s Muse Post: https://steemit.com/muse/@cob/muse-in-a-nutshell-from-a-purely-crypto-perspective

Please see the acknowledgement post here.

If you have any additions or errata for this post, please let me know! I will see that they are voted to the top of the comments, and will make the appropriate edits (if possible).

PAL Logo.gif

Join us at the Minnow Support Project! (click me)
We also have a Radio Station! (click me)
...and a 4800+ user Discord Chat Server! (click me)

Check out the Steemhouse Fiction Trail here!

Sources: @Riverhead, @cob
Copyright: @Riverhead, @cob, Muse

Sort:  

I had a funny quick talk with @riverhead so long ago when I was such a noob learning my way.

I honestly still think about a couple of his comments to me when I msgd him and was like...

"Hi I am new, you are a whale!!"

lol

I am smiling now actually again thinking of it all LOL

Solid post man.

""Hi I am new, you are a whale!!""

Heh, many of us started out like that!

"Solid post man."

Appreciate that, thank you!

Riverhead is holding 694,000 SP and is NOT powering down, demonstrating substantial faith in Steemit long-term

Now that is really huge faith in steemit!
To be honest, I only found about @riverhead thru this post. Is he keeping a low profile or just too busy working in the background?

He got my next witness vote.

Many of the witnesses are not big-time posters. You have to dig in a little bit to find out what each does, hence the reason for these posts.

and why u have a job

Wow, @riverhead is a gem, keep it up and thank you for working so hard to keep this wonderful community afloat, your achievements on this platform is an inspiration, you're the best. @lexiconical thank you for bring this wonderful info to our notice, you rock

Thank you for all the kinds words! They keep me going when I get fatigued...

Thanks for sharing @lexiconical. I was literally waiting for this. Voted him as Witness for his contribution to steemit.chat. Are you a witness as well @lexiconical?

"Are you a witness as well @lexiconical?"

I'm afraid I am not, I am far less technically qualified than most of the ones that we have!

So that's one of the guys behind steemit.chat

I find steemit.chat a very fun place, where new users but also veteran users are talking to each other :)

@lexiconical you should come to general 2.0. It would be an honor to have you there and you won't be disappointed! DM me if you want to be added!

Wow, really nice photos you got there. Upvoted already only for that.

To be honest, I didn't know he was too behind the steemit chat. It is an important piece of community, as there are many discord servers for Steemit communities but only one steemit.chat. And that is really something.

Please notice this is not a spam comment even though it may seem like one. It is an attempt to be subtly funny.

Thanks, I'm glad the yellow didn't bother you!

"Please notice this is not a spam comment even though it may seem like one. It is an attempt to be subtly funny."

Can't say it seemed like spam at all.

I first had written more in a style which redembles a spam comment bur changed it after first draft, maybe the last mention wasn't needed anymorr after the.. adjustments :)

@riverhead is a cool guy. I had the pleasure of collaborating with him fighting abuse on steemit.chat.

Thanks for the first-hand perspective!

Poker tourney in 2 minutes!

Thank for sharing @lexiconical

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73