@Drakos - Meet The Witnesses #31

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

Drakos1.png

#27 - @Drakos

Front-runner for Lexiconical's "movin' on up" award, Drakos is a “PhD scientist with a background in Biochemistry and Immunology,” that is rapidly moving towards the "East Side" of the witness rankings. He convincingly claims a lifelong fascination with both computers and computer programming. You will really believe the lifelong part when you see his pride and joy:

Drakos3.jpg

If Indiana Jones ever came across this fine “artifact”, he would wryly state that it belonged in a museum, but don’t tell Drakos that. He doesn’t realize how space age it makes my 1980 Amdek I used to play (Net)Hack on look. Heck, mine even had the dual-floppy drive upgrade!

Drakos4.jpg

In a cruel twist of irony, I must report the source on this is the “National Museum of American History - Smithsonian Institution”

Drakos is a fixture in the witness channel over at Steemit.chat, where he can frequently be found answering technical questions for the other weirdos who think a kernel is something other than what popcorn starts out as. Seriously, he’s there a LOT. He is an excellent source for assistance if you are having any witness-related technical issues on Steemit, or questions about the topic in general.

Drakos is also the creator of a number of tools hosted at Steemian.info, “the concise information resource about the Steem blockchain.” In particular, his Witness ranking tool at https://steemian.info/witnesses is handy, since it shows vastly more information than the Steemit witness interface, including active and inactive witnesses, missed blocks, and what “policies” each witness supports for registration fees, APR, etc.

Drakos2.png

I knew that scalawag was up to no good.

I wish Drakos had been kind enough to climb the rankings sooner, which would have forced me to research this tool earlier. It would have come in useful as a much easier way to identify dead witnesses than my previous methods. shakes fist at @Arhag

Drakos is also a supporter, delegator, witness and early member of the MinnowSupportProject. He can usually be found lurking in the MSP Discord channel. I encourage you to forward all your praise for JerryBanfield to his direct message inbox.

Drakos6.png

See? He’ll totally appreciate it. This is so not sarcasm.

Drakos posts high-quality articles frequently on a variety of topics, however he does tend to focus more on Steemit (including abuse) and witness related issues than puppies.

Drakos7.png

OK, I lied. It is also puppies.

Oh, he’s also a pirate and gets bonus points from me for his attempt to use the term “wench” in a historically appropriate, satirical context in his "Drakos Art Contest". Like any pirate, he’s not afraid to call things as he sees them, so feel free to solicit his opinion via the comments in pirate-speak…..yar.

Drakos holds 3800 SP and is NOT powering down. He also holds a super-sweet animated .gif avatar which Sotheby's is still attempting to price accurately:

Drakos5.gif

You're staring at his crotch now, aren't you? Admit it, the glow is enticing.

Drakos’ Current Witness Update: https://steemit.com/witness-category/@drakos/drakos-witness-update-2017-10-15

Drakos’ Original Witness Thread: https://steemit.com/witness-category/@drakos/my-witness-application

Witness Rankings Tool: https://steemit.com/witness-category/@drakos/rethinking-the-witness-ranking

Steemian.info: https://steemian.info/

Art Contest: https://steemit.com/contest/@drakos/drakos-art-contest-pirate-wench-theme-submissions-phase

Please see the acknowledgement post here.

If you have any additions or errata for this post, please let me know! I will see that they are voted to the top of the comments, and will make the appropriate edits (if possible).

PAL Logo.gif

Join us at the Minnow Support Project! (click me)
We also have a Radio Station! (click me)
...and a 4800+ user Discord Chat Server! (click me)

Check out the Steemhouse Fiction Trail here!

Join the Steemit Poker League! (@spl)
World's Largest Cyptocurrency Freeroll Poker Site, open only to Steemians!

Almost 80% of Steemians do not vote! If you wish to make me your witness voting proxy, I will attempt to vote in Steem's best interest based on the information in my witness reports. You may set me as your proxy by clicking here and scrolling to the bottom of the Witness Voting page. Proxies are instantly revokable at any time.

Proxy.png

Sources: @drakos
Copyright: @drakos, Smithsonian

Sort:  

I like to put Spam Poison on my websites, to feed those rats 🐀🐀🐀. In my early posts I didn't know what direction I was going to take on Steemit. As an anecdote, Happy Birthday Dogs caused my first flag on Steemit, because I promoted the link accidentally in the #general chat channel, and some jerk decided to flag me for it. So I take flagging minnows very dearly, and I prefer to give them a warning first. Luckily, I got a couple whales re-upvote it to nullify the flag. Of course, I was a noob back then, and still learning the ropes on Steemit. Now I know better, of course.

So, those puppy posts were a temporary fill to help in my pondering...

"caused my first flag on Steemit,"

My first flag was on a curation article proposing possible suggestions to fix the "dog-piling effect."" I had made lok1 mad with my rational arguments...

Before that, Steemcleaners tagged me for tag-spam for putting an article about Steemit in the Steem tag. =/

"So I take flagging minnows very dearly, and I prefer to give them a warning first."

You should try to convert sneak on this one!

Thank you for stopping in to comment. I look forward to hearing about a flooded inbox.

i remember that flagging article and the bot mess. glad its over

I encourage you to forward all your praise for JerryBanfield to his direct message inbox.

LOL!
I love this one. It is soooo not sarcasm at all... LOL

Great post. Now I understand what you meant about writing the witness posts. Very informative and fun (at least this one which is my first to read).

Good to see your humorous side ;)

Thanks again for such a great service!

" It is soooo not sarcasm at all... "

Thank you for commenting on this aspect, specifically. Now I can vote this comment to the top, and it will be even funnier when Drakos sails in here later to harangue me over that part.

Oh, I just read @drakos latest post and sent him your way :P

The mischievous me
Dr. TLK :D

Yep, he made an appearance even though the post wasn't in the witness channel of Steemit.chat (tee-hee).

Hahahaha
You are more than welcome!

Just let me know whenever you need more haranguing ;D

Drakos has had my vote for a little while now, i learned about him and his contributions trough PAL. I insist there has to be a better way we can teach minnows early in the game what this is all about, I'm linking one of your articles from now on on my open mic entries... I seem to get a minnow votes often, so why not even i help one or two its a win...

Thanks Meno. Feel free to link them the top 30 digest with all the links, although, I can't assume you'd expect too much enfranchisement!

Thank you for this great series!
Shedding more light into our witnesses is definitely helpful to increase the voting process.
Writing it in such details, and in a fun way too, is awesome!
But you didn't convince me to vote for @drakos, he already had my vote :P

"But you didn't convince me to vote for @drakos, he already had my vote"

I take solace in the fact that the task was impossible.

haha indeed

Does benefits non technical guy like us or just witnesses?

Uhmm. I believe his technical expertise benefits the entire steemit community. Witnessing itself benefits us, the non technical guys because witnesses maintain nodes of the steem blockchain.

Perhaps you are right, but only a few of this witness are friendly. I have been told to bug off before by one just by asking a logical question about steemit when i joined back then.

It's probably an unfortunate side effect of many of the top witnesses being pestered relentlessly for votes/follows because they are also whales.

I doubt Drakos would dismiss you if had had reasonable questions.

Well, i hope so too...

PS- I joined in March and my first month i didnt earn above $1 and never begged or pesterd anyone, but the maddness is overwhelming now and i am sad about it!

Ah, yes, you have been here longer than I have. It's definitely different, even in the 5 months I've been around.

Alright am heading to Vote you ASAP then, i co-run @steem-lagos Nigeria too and will start to Put you into our Ads as Witness

Just to clarify, I assume you mean @Drakos (I'm not a witness.)

yes a lot
like why do i even have 200 followers...begging

Thank you for a quality answer.

You're welcome. but honestly, I'm learning a lot from this witness series of yours. So thanks to you too.

You're quite welcome.

Thank you for this episode again. Deakos was one of the first I voted for.. He is always kind and helpful on made a fantastic contribution.. very soon he will enter the top 10

I voted for Drakos very early as well, long before he was anywhere near the top 50.

petting a fluffy puppy? ok he has my vote!

Populist!

good job bro.thanks for shared this topic.i also searce this topic.resteem this post.

Muchas gracias!

Great stuff

Great Post.

posted 43 seconds ago by lexiconical

mdo36 · 23 seconds ago

Impressive. Are you Data from Star Trek?

Ya :D

I'll take it.

How fast can you read man

He didn't ;) But he's a good sport about it, at least.

Yeah he also has some copy pasta comments ready

Very efficient :)

You judge him too harshly! Look, that second one says "Nice" instead of "Great"! He may be pounding these out by hand.

It'll only take one click for someone else to nuke him when he crosses the wrong path...

Yeah my bad it looks more like hand copy pasta :)

It really matters not which, or even if it is automated - the outcome is the same. Nothing of value.

 7 years ago (edited)

299792458 Letter/s

That's the last vote you'll get from me outta this joke...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71