KrNel Witness Update 2017-03-20

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

Here is a short update on my witness changes, from the next hardfork, to the price feed and my comment reward experiment.

1) Updated to Steem v0.17.0 scheduled for implementation tomorrow.

I was updating, and reached 94% of the shared DB, and then I saw the new post by @steemitblog a little late... so I stopped the update and went back to Steem v0.16.2.

There were too many large, drastic "unlimited" changes along with other things that made this hardfork anything but "simple" as was originally proposed as the release name of "Steem Simplicity". It's not adding simplicity.

I had criticized some parts when the proposal first came out in Review of "Steem 0.17 Change Proposal Introduction", mostly the comment reward pool fiasco, in addition to the removal of limits which seems like a mistake as opposed to simply increasing limits (yes, this is more simple). Unlimited, infinite, is not something "simple" to handle. The payment of 7 days is harder to keep track of things, and would seem that posts can get pumped to even larger sums for the total of 7 days. I see that as a problem anyways.

2) Witness Changes

Feed: 0.175
APR: 0.1%
Registration: 20
Missed blocks: 0

SBD APR interest set to 0.1% to reduce load of creating SBD, as per agreement with @l0k1's analysis that giving out more SBD hurts the price of STEEM more when we are at such low market value.

Registration unchanged.

And I still have 0 missed blocks, wo0ot!

3) Comment Reward Experiment

I did comment payouts from my own SBD supply from February 10th-20th. This went well. Here are the total results of payments. I think I paid out over $60 in an 11 day period.

Well, that's it for now!

I didn't like the changes for the hardfork overall. I'm glad to see it not being adopted in the end as one big package. Adopting pieces individually, or only a few that are not in dispute, was mentioned before by people, so it's good this was decided today instead of trying to push a mess of a hardfork through. If simplicity is desired, don't make so many drastic changes all at once ;)


Thank you for all of your support everyone! I appreciate it!


Please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page; or just click on the upvote button if I am in the top 50:

If you are unsure how to vote for witnesses, you can put my name in the "SET PROXY" section at the bottom of the Witness Voting page which will use my witness votes.


2017-03-01, 12:07pm

Sort:  

I read your review and I agree with all the points. I want to add that removing the posting key from the blockchain will stop all automatic nonsense curation and actually simplify the platform substantially by decreasing bandwidth and data and of course by squashing all automatic curation. I know it's very drastic and a lot of people might disagree with it but it couldn't hurt trying it to see the effects as they will be immediate and far reaching.

Do you mean through delegation the no more posting key part? Not sure that will solve autovotes through streemian though. It's still auto curating by giving your power to someone else to do vote, and that would typically be for higher power players to do.

Yes, and I mean that without the posting key there will only be the bots that people run through their own accounts as nobody will be foolish enough to share their master key with someone else to curate on their behalf or to be added to the bots, and so no more curation guilds and a very large percentage of automatic voting will cease, the other consequence would be less bandwidth and data on the blockchain.

Do you have specific mention that the posting key will be gone? I wasn't aware of this. This change may not be the case, but please share some info with me so I get the right information ;)

No! I was simply making a suggestion, albeit a very radical one and I am sorry for the confusion.

Well said 🙂

bra sagt thanks

Hey krnel, where can I find out which people you are supporting through the witness proxy?

https://steemdb.com/@krnel/witness, then click Votes Cast.

Duh, and thank you.

I think you should revisit fyrstikken as a viable witness based on his recent actions of auto-flagging/name calling/slandering towards me, also lack of credibility by repeatedly lying and his outright support for anonymous blackmail through blacklist, there must be another alternative.

Edit, it seems he has stopped that petty autoflag attack, but that doesn't change the facts that he tried to bully me into shutting up and lied repeatedly and deflected answering for his outright support of anonymous blackmail, I am not comfortable with a witness that lacks integrity and has no qualm with extending his support to autoflag accounts.

Well you can copy the votes that you see I made, without a "set proxy", and then you can change anything you want about who you vote for as a witness. ;)

Good job my brother @krnel

Am I reading this correctly? Will common sense prevail and smaller pieces of the hardfork are to be voted through? I'm not breaking out the champagne yet but I just checked and only 12 witnesses still have the 0.17.0 version running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66976.31
ETH 3509.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70