Q1 Onboarding Experiment

Dear colleagues and witnesses, happy new year!

I want us to onboard a lot more people this year, and I think the REG FEE of 3 STEEM can be reduced to 0.1 STEEM for a test period of 90 days, allowing our small fish with limited amount of STEEM to bait their friends by claiming accounts for cheap.

The wanted test result is Friends onboarding Friends.
If successful, we should see some fast real organic growth.
If not successful, return to the current status quo or debate a new consensus.

Tagged: @gtg, @aggroed, @timcliff, @good-karma, @blocktrades, @smooth.witness, @smooth, @roelandp, @ausbitbank, @someguy123, @followbtcnews, @lukestokes.mhth, @yabapmatt, @utopian-io, @curie, @jesta, @clayop, @anyx, @thecryptodrive, @drakos, @cervantes, @xeldal, @therealwolf, @riverhead, @pfunk, @bhuz, @liondani, @pharesim, @busy.witness, @themarkymark, @abit, @wise-team, @netuoso, @steempress

Thank you.
@fyrstikken / @fyrst-witness

Sort:  

I want us to onboard a lot more people this year

Me too. I have accumulated a good number of account creation tokens to accomplish such a feat. I was talking with @votovzla earlier today on making this more automatic so he can on board Venezuelans organically and without my intervention. Later this year I'll try to make such an app.

Later this year I'll try to make such an app.

I just need to to get good at account recovery before I do that so it doesn't bite me in the a__ later on ...

Hey @fyrstikken, thanks for stimulating discussion. Your opinion and ideas are always valued. I'm the type that would be happy to try anything (within reason) and see if it works. My concerns of reducing the account creation price is however that it could increase spam accounts and botnets and make Steem a worse place overall.

Also once people are here, how do we retain them? We have a retention issue and the problem of stagnant steemit.com development, so it may be premature to reduce account prices. The current price is less than 1 USD so not a massive barrier to entry, and helps keep out undesirable botnets and also account name squatting, if you drop the price you may get alot of names taken off the market forever by encumbent namesquatters, which will make Steem less accessible in future.

I do like the benefits for apps though whereby cheaper account prices can help apps onboard more users, but my above concerns are also there. Looking forward to hearing more opinions from others in comments here.

Awesome @thecryptodrive

My concerns of reducing the account creation price is however that it could increase spam accounts and botnets and make Steem a worse place overall.

Yes that could have been a problem, but according to @gtg

newly created account will have only 0.1 STEEM burned, basically rendering newly accounts unusable (without delegating them SP anyway).

So the spam-thesis will not be a problem on these accounts unless they are powered up. On the other hand - I can make 3000 accounts for free right now and sell them to rich spammers, it is a myth that spammers are poor, they are not, and they can get as many accounts as they want anyway, you know, I am sure.

For STEEM to hold a high price, we need a lot of steemians. We need it to become super easy to onboard friends to steem, even those of us who have almost no money, but a lot of friends.

I do like the benefits for apps though whereby cheaper account prices can help apps onboard more users

Yes, it will have an overall positive effect in the entire ecosystem of STEEM.

Lets do it. 30, 60 or 90 days test period with the right tools for everyone to use.

What about the retention problem? They come on board and then they will likely leave...

A slight account price creates demand for STEEM in some way as well; dropping the price reduces utility somewhat.

If others are interested I don't mind doing a trial period though.

That's where communities come in to play. Here at Canna-Curate, not only are we using our Rc to set up people with new accounts with a 30sp delegation, we are setting our new members on auto vote, and making sure we stay up to date and comment on their posts. It's just the start, but as time goes along we will come up with a great and efficient system of on boarding and retaining the new users.

That's awesome, we need more people with that sort of mindset to retain users.

Yeah :) trust peoples ability to entertain each other and retain each other. Think decentralised.
This is doable.

Hello @fyrstikken. I sent 8 steem to @booster to promote a post but the upvote wasn't delivered and I'm yet to receive my refund. It has been 4 days. Please look into it.

Hello @fyrstikken. I sent 8 steem to @booster to promote a post but the upvote wasn't delivered and I'm yet to receive my refund. It has been 4 days. Please look into it.

That would allow us minnows to help pay for the new friends joining the platform. I really like the idea and I believe long and sustain growth will do better in the long run that account creation fees.

Yes. This will enable minnows to start onboard their friends.

Can't wait to see if this proposal can find support from other witnesses

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @fyrstikken. I sent 8 steem to @booster to promote a post but the upvote wasn't delivered and I'm yet to receive my refund. It has been 4 days. Please look into it.

Congratulations @fyrstikken! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 270000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 280000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

@fyrstikken, Sounds good and effective and in my opinion this idea deserve a trial because for sure at this point of time 0.1 Steem will going to feel as Expenditure specially when we will invite people. Hoping that this idea will be approved by all Witnesses and will be live in soon in near future. This idea is really appreciated brother. Stay blessed. 🙂

Good day! Thanks for voting my posts! It is a real pleasure to receive a vote from the Steem Co-Owner :) Best wishes !

Posted using Partiko Messaging

Interesting suggestion, thanks for the discussion!

Posted using Partiko Android

More users, means more potential investors. Yes please set this up. What else is there to lose?

I am onboard with this! Woot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87