Witness Update @asbear (April 2018)

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)

I am a backup witness, ranked on 56th. Thank you for voting me as a witness for Steem.

This is my second witness update, and I will explain what I have done for Steem so far, and also the projects I am working with fervor.

About @asbear

As you do now know who I am, I shall start from introducing myself again shortly. I am a full-stack software engineer, with huge enthusiasm for blockchain technologies. Unfortunately my daily work is not involved in blockchain at all, so I spend a large chunk of my spare time to run my personal projects that are mostly related to Steemit.

If you are interested in more about me, here is the link for you:
https://steemit.com/witness-category/@asbear/witness-announcement-greetings-from-asbear

What @asbear has done for Steem

1. KR Guide Dog Project

"Nothing can detect spam better than human brain"

I built KR Guide Dog that has been fighting against the spammers. I am pretty sure this project is the first mechanical turk style anti-spam project in Steemit, and it has been quite successful so far.

Following diagram explains how KR Guide Dog has been making the virtuous circle.

Screen Shot 2018-04-22 at 01.17.10.png

Spammer problem in KR got significantly less problematic after KR Guide Dog started its work. I am now designing out an innovative anti-spam project for the entire Steemit that is inspired by KR Guided Dog.

2. Korean translation Project for steemit.com

I initiated and drove the Korean translation project of steemit.com. At the time I started working on this project, above 10% of the active Steemians were Korean, and the unkind English-only website really discouraged the new authours from joining Steemit. I believe supporting Korean language has definitely helped the mass influx of new Korean authors into Steemit.

Special thanks to the contributers:
@bree1042 @chocolate1st @sjchoi @feyee95 @crowsaint @happyworkingmom @clayop @coffeenut @kmlee @sinner264 @seaturtle @yangmok701

There are still more area that need translation work, and I will start the next stage of Korean translation to make it more complete.

3. Building useful tools

I built some useful tools, and been managing them. Please try and feedback if you find them useful. I am willing to improve those tools when there are more demands.

Path: https://ianpark.github.io/steeme

  1. Steem Insight
  2. SBD splitter
  3. Steem Power Delegator

4. "Steemian Health Check" Project

I have worked closely with @clayop in order to find out the best way to visualise how the relatively rich Steemians (SP > 10,000) behave with their Steem Power, and finally I introduced "Steemian Health Check" web site 2 weeks ago. I will add more and more metrics, filters and analytics for better detective work.

Note that the tool is freshly deployed with a domain name:
http://health.steeme.com

Detail information:
https://steemit.com/steemdev/@asbear/new-tool-for-detective-work-steemian-health-check

5. Steem Pay Project

I built a very simple prototype tool "Steem Pay" for those who want to sell stuff for SBD, and who want to pay by SBD without worrying about the SBD-KRW rate calculation. As all of you know the implementations was super simple using QR code and SteemConnect, but the impact the tool has made in KR community was quite huge.

Korean Steemians have started using my humble prototype tool for their offline shops, and other Steemians has started visiting the shops and paying their drinks or foods by SBD using SteemPay.

Due to the popularity, I decided to build SteemPay as a proper web app, and have been spending large amount of time for the project. The catch phrase I wrote for Steem Pay is "Sell Real, Buy Real, Pay Real", which implies that STEEM has a real value in the real world.

Here are some screenshots of the web app I have been developing.

Witness vote

As a backup witness, I am generating just around 13 blocks a day which is too low to compensate the time and effort I pour into Steem. I hope to gain more sustainable support which will be eventually returned to Steemit community through my activities and contribution.

If you like what I have been doing for Steem, please support me by voting as a witness.

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Screen Shot 2018-04-22 at 01.42.54.png

OR

Screen Shot 2018-04-22 at 01.42.58.png

Thank you!

Sort:  

I've only been on Steemit for 2 months, but as a member of the KR community I have seen first-hand the contribution that Asbear has provided for the Steemit community. The only two words that I can say are "Dedicated" and "Amazing".

It's very rare to find a user with a relevant experience (Asbear is a developer at Amazon) who also has a deep passion and heart for the Steemit community. As you can tell from his post, he's also very fluent in English, which is always a plus.

I've never met Asbear in real life and have only interacted with him a handful of times through Steemit during the past 2 months. Therefore, this endorsement is based on my observations alone and comes without any bias or prior relationship.

If you haven't voted for any witness or set your proxy yet, I strongly encourage you to consider Asbear as one of the candidates. I promise that you won't be disappointed.

오랜만에 접속해서 증인 투표 추가하고 갑니다.
SteemPay 이야기만 건너서 듣다가 이제 보네요. 멋집니다. :-)

Mission complete!

asbear님을 국회로!

Black-and-White photos#sevendaybnwchallenge 당신을 초대 합니다.!!

Voted @asbear as my witness! Definitely a heavy contributor to the Steem community and his ongoing Steem Pay project will bring a huge change soon :)

Ah I see... So it is a tool for the rich Steemians. okay so I guess that's why..

I think you're doing pretty good as a backup witness .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64506.46
ETH 3417.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50