You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is there a Witness “Circle-Jerk”?

in #witness-category7 years ago

If you want to understand why it was decided to use approval voting for witness voting (and explicitly to not have a downvote option), please read this: https://bitsharestalk.org/index.php/topic,5164.0.html (If it is not already clear, @bytemaster in that BitSharesTalk thread is @dan.)

Downvoting was part of the original design for DPoS. But then an attack scenario was considered that led to changing the design to approval voting.

Also, with approval voting you should ideally have no limit on the number of witnesses you can vote for. (That means going to the other extreme of infinity unique votes rather than 1 single vote that you split up.) Unfortunately, the introduction of the time-share witness in Steem meant that there needed to be a strict upper bound on the number of votes, otherwise an attacker could use sockpuppets to exploit it to completely dominate the time-share witness slot. (Note: some reasonable upper bound was needed anyway for memory reasons, but the stricter limit of 30 is a compromise, introduced in hardfork 2, between the competing needs of approval voting and reducing the abuse of the time-share witness slot through the sockpuppet attack.)

Sort:  

good science @arhag
dont forget follow me to

love the picture

Isn't all of the moot with steemit sitting on a 40% stake?

There are a fair number of witnesses that appear to be doing little for the network other than leeching steem. Downvotes seem appropriate to counter them. If the total value of voting percent is based on the absolute value of votes meaning both postiive and negative votes drain your total pool of witness voting power I'm not sure I see the attack scenario. But I fully admit I might be missing something about that conversation.

Arhag, I don't think we've met before. I'm aggroed. It's a pleasure to meet you. Thank you for your considerate response.

There are a fair number of witnesses that appear to be doing little for the network other than leeching steem.

I agree with this. We can't be certain but there sure is appearance of this. Yet witness voting is everyone personal decision.

So if you can't fight them, join them. evil grin

I appreciate your comment. I had read a bit about this previously and it was nice to reconnect with this.

So the whales are there to counteract the 'EVILS' and vote for the 'LAZIES'? Do we put trust in the whales to not become 'EVIL'

Hi @arhag,

Congratulations! You have been chosen to appear on another amazing edition of "Who to Follow Daily". Thank you for adding so much value to the Steemit community. Steem on!

Thanks for this explanation, and link to Dan's discussion. It's very interesting! I wonder what the outcome would be if votes could total 1X stake as @Aggroed suggests. I presume it may reveal an attack vector, or ensure that the 20 biggest whales just dictate the 20 important witnesses?

Hello, with my qualities posts and content not getting enough visibility,
I would like to plead in any way whether you can help me out by delegating some amount of steem power to me for me to grow my account and curate more. I will be happy for your helping hand been rendered to me and i promise to make careful use of it and use it also to impact and grow others on steemit.

Thanks.

Hi, @arhag!

Please support our team (@alexmove.witness and @steemit-market). We ask you to vote for us as witnesses. We are developing automatic checks for the uniqueness of posts, user ratings and other scripts and activities. We are also preparing a big project - the online shop (sale for STEEM/SBD).

Every day we send double cashback to those who voted for us. Your vote is very important to us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59631.75
ETH 2622.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41