Witness voting rolling defend system - @rival proposal and analysis -top 50 witness - please read

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

Hi guys you all know tennis and the ATP ranking, but do you actually know how this ATP ranking works?

In simple words, You have to defend the points you earned in the year before. For example, if you win Roland Garros this year you get 2000 points. The next year you have to win it again to not loose points. Or play other tournaments to gain new points. And this keeps continuing.

Steemit is the most wonderful platform I have ever seen and since some weeks I also started as a witness.

But what wonders me most is that the Steemit witness system is not developed to the right maturity.

Some remarks:

  • Votes for inactive witnesses are not removed after a certain amount of time.
  • given votes keeps always active

The Steemit Witness defend system

As I analysed all top 50 witnesses I think the system can have a make over. It could be very simple. A witness vote keeps only active for 52 weeks.

After 52 weeks the vote is removed and the voter can vote for you again or another.

Some examples

example 1

Most witness in the top 5 have a vote from @pumpkin which has a staggering vote of 14000 MV. This is massive. I have 1000 SP and that is about 2mV.

This means I need 7000 people voting for me to have the same amount!!! This is impossible

The Number 1 Witness has now 3500 votes in total.

example 2

The number 1 witness has 67000 MV in total.
The number 80 ( myself) has 1600 MV in total.
What if: After 1 year the vote from @pumpkin will be removed from the #1

He will go down to around # 16.

What if: After 1 year the vote from @pumpkin will be given to me:

@rival will go from #80 to number #47.

example 3

Get rid of votes of inactive users

A lot of users are not active anymore on the platform but they still have a large investment in Steem. They have given Witness votes one year ago and are not here anymore.

With the rolling defend system you get rid of those votes automatically and active users decide the witnesses.

You see that user cyrano.witness still has a lot of votes while he is not an active witness anymore.

Conclusion

The witness rolling defend system will have a much more dynamic system and a better opportunity for runner ups to get a better position.

Inform users about Witness votes

Since a couple of days I active start monitoring and informing people about their votes. Yes I do this because I hope that they vote for me.

Is that a crime?

I hope not because I hope that I showed you today that some rework needs to be done on the witness voting system.

Thank you for reading and vote for @rival as witness

I am looking for feedback on my post.

Please vote for me as witness. It's free and you have 30 votes in total

witness_rival.gif

Just open: "Vote for witnesses"

In the bottom type in: rival and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Sort:  

It's an interesting idea, and I think I like it. I guess it would mean that witnesses would be all be 'canvassing' the large voters when their votes are about to expire. Some might say that it would make the witness list less stable, and therefore more susceptible to a Sybil attack. I don't know enough to have a strong opinion either way though.

Practically, I think there's nearly no chance of it happening though due to vested interests. I expect significant changes to the witness voting system would require a fork of the chain.

Thank you for your opinion. That is what matters. If we want a active community And witnesses this could be a Good improvement. I hope Some top witnesses react Also

I think it is a good suggestion, especially removing the votes from inactive users to make the votes more relevant (although deciding who is an inactive user could be tricky). Most voting systems are prone to biases one way or another, so I am curious about the reason they have adopted this particular system because as you say it is far from perfect (as most thing tend to be when it is still relatively new).

Interesting proposal. 1 year may be too long though, a lot happens in a year. There's something similar proposed on Golos (the russian steem blockchain). You'll find arguments there from two top Steem witnesses.

Eliminate votes for committee members after some time
https://github.com/GolosChain/golos/issues/99

It seems to be hard enough to get people to vote for their 30 witnesses in the first place. It doesn't seem like a smart idea to make people revote for that thirty every 3 months (or 52 weeks).

This is a sound proposal. I agree and seeing that there are a number of voters who are voting witnesses that are inactive and running older version of their nodes as pointed by @netuoso. Also, this would serve as a reminder to witnesses to not slack off (especially when they have gathered enough votes already).

I hate to sound contrarian; though if 52-week vote expiry becomes a thing then it'll only be a week or two before a tool comes out to auto revote witnesses.
I got all excited thinking about scaling the effective MV of witness votes if the account is inactive for too long. That was fun, thinking of different reduction curves - but it all comes back to the fatal flaw: how do we define what is active (and inactive)? Once you have the definition then it's a trivial matter to make an "keep alive / keep me active" bot and deploy that on an account.

Votes for inactive witnesses don't do any harm - it's just a wasted vote. There's probably more wasted witness votes in people who aren't voting at all. Just because somebody removes their vote for an inactive witness is no guarantee that they'll assign that vote to a different witness.

This comment comes off grumpier than I'd like! Sorry! We could just try implement these measures and just see if the bots I'm predicting actually do manifest and are used by the large accounts.
My preferred route is that we can grow the size and relative power of the middle class (dolphins) on Steem and we can do that without having to act with futile punitiveness against absentee whales.

Thank you for your honest answer, much appreciated. I think the auto vote bot wll not help because when people are not active anymore but gave a vote a year earlier they don't install a bot after a year for just voting the same witness again. But I understand your BOT feeling

That'll then only impact the accounts that are inactive now and stay inactive. This will have less impact on the accounts that are currently active but later go inactive.
BTW: By bot, I mean any automated thingy that acts on behalf of a user -> be that a process on their own computer, a process they run in a cloud or some web service (e.g. steemvoter).

hehe that was something really different :D

You have a good point. Renewing your vote. Still want to vote for this Witness? That would be more honoust to all witnesses.

Congratulations @rival! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice info ... Just followed you and ready to give you all support...
What can you bring new or make better for us in steemit more than the other witnesses. What makes you the best...? What are witnesses suppose to do for us. ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59511.68
ETH 2613.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39