[WHISKY REVIEW #38] Springbank 15 yo 🥃

in #whisky7 years ago (edited)

We're back at the lovely little family owned distillery in Campbeltown, known for its integrity and craftsmanship. Our last visit to Springbank made me lyrical. Let's see if they can arouse the same joy and gusto this time. I wrote plenty about Springbank's history and methods in my article on Springbank 10, so I refer you to that if you'd be interested.

Springbank 15 yo

ABV: 46%
Age: 10 yo
Region: Campbeltown
Cask type: 100% ex-Oloroso sherry casks from Miguel Martin in Jerez, Spain
Price: Around ~ 82 USD / 0.7L
Natural color & non-chill filtered

Appearance: Reddish gold. Much darker than the 10 yo, of course due to the harder sherry maturation.

Nose: A lovely aroma of raisins, nuts and dried fruits, all wrapped in a subtle cloud of smoke. Quite austere though, despite the fruitiness - like something between the sherried Kilkerran we tried a while ago and a Highland Park but without the honey. There's also something musty about it; imagine an old underground storehouse.

Palate: Wow, this is extremely dry stuff. Big sherry aromas with spicy oak and the same cloud of smoke from the nose together with leather, dark chocolate and tobacco. The sweet and slightly bitter fruitiness reminds me of wild cherries. There's also licorice and a floral aroma of violets.

Finish: Long and very dry with wet wood and a slight ashiness.

Conclusion: My favorite little distillery delivers yet again. Much heavier and richer than the Springbank 10 and way better than the watered down Highland Park 15. A score of 95 points out of 100.

 @SteemSwede

If you have any whisky related questions don't be afraid of asking! I'll do my best to answer them. Cheers, or as they say in Scotland: Sláinte!

You can find my other whisky reviews here:

Glendronach Peated
Glenmorangie Bacalta
Talisker 10
Kilkerran WIP 6 (Sherry)
Amrut Fusion
Laphroaig Quarter Cask
Arran - The Bothy
Stronachie 18
Lagavulin 16
Highland Park 12
Arran 10
Arran Sauternes Cask Finish
Glenlivet Nàdurra
Laphroaig 15 (200th Anniversary Edition)
Highland Park 15
Bowmore 12
Springbank 10
Ardbeg TEN
The Macallan Amber
Glenmorangie 10
Bunnahabhain Cruach Mhòna
Linkwood 21 yo, Signatory
Bowmore Black Rock
Glenfarclas, Christmas Edition, 1995
Old Pulteney 21
Glenfiddich 12
Kavalan Solist Vinho Barrique, 2016
Caol Ila 12 yo
Linkwood 26 yo
Glenfarclas 105
Glenmorangie Nectar D'Or
Glenlivet 18 yo
Talisker 18 yo
anCnoc Rascan
Glenfarclas 17 yo
Bruichladdich Black Art 4.1
Octomore 5.1 & 6.2

Sort:  

You're making me an alcoholic.

test

Oh, this I have to try. I might not drink that much whiskey, but I love these dark and smoky ones. You caught me on

Big sherry aromas with spicy oak and the same cloud of smoke from the nose together with leather, dark chocolate and tobacco.

Saved for future purchase :)

Vote @sc-steemit for Witness.

Proud Supporter of the Cryptocurrency Gridcoin

excellent, let me know what you think of it! :)

These small breweries are much better than main stream producers.
They just have this special touch.

Couldn't agree more! Unfortunately there are not many of them left.

Slàinte mhath. Haven't tried that one yet. You had me salivating though.
👍

Glad that I did, Sláinte!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72