[WHISKY REVIEW] Cheers to my 600 followers!

in #whisky8 years ago (edited)

To celebrate my 600th follower I will have a wee dram of whisky, and why not also say a few words about it? Cheers and thanks for all of your support!

Most people who don't know much about the whisky industry, often imagine a distillery as something handed down from father to son for generations. Unfortunately, the truth is that today most distilleries are owned by large multinational companies in the spirits industry, where the whisky may be only a very small part. However, there are a few exceptions, and the Glenfarclas distillery in Speyside is such a family owned company that has been owned by the same family for generations. It's now the fifth generation represented by John LS Grant who's leading the company. The sixth generation, George S Grant, also working in the company for some years will most likely take over the leadership in the future.

Already in the early 1960s, it was decided that Glenfarclas, which by the way means ”The valley of the green Grass”, wouldn't be too dependent on the blending market for their survival. This meant that they could put away barrels for future bottlings as single malt, and that they now have whisky in stock from every year since 1952 and onward. They are also quite unique in that they don't sell any barrels to independent bottlers. No other distillery now has a better coverage of vintages! They are independent, and they are proud. This is also reflected in their whisky. Today I will be putting the 17 year old to the test. It's usually only available in travel retail, but the Swedish Systembolaget, the government owned chain of liquor stores in (Soviet) Sweden, has taken in a few bottles.

Glenfarclas 17

ABV: 43%

Region: Speyside

Age: 17

No artificial coloring.

Nose:  Initially, you will find sweet maltiness (but not too sweet). Quite nutty, sherry, dried figs, vinous, fudge, light vanilla and bitter orange. Also fragrant oak in the background, but not as prominent as in the older ones. After a while I pick up dark chocolate, marzipan, slightly buttery and floral notes. It's a gentle and elegant nose that this Glenfarclas offer!

Palate: Spicy! Black pepper and cinnamon is tickling my tongue with clear flavors of both malt, citrus, oak and sweet pralines. Dark chocolate appears in the background, accompanied by leather and just a tiny a hint of peat smoke. A bit vinous and tart on the palate as well.

Finish: A medium finish where the pepper warms the lips and tongue. Oak notes, spices and a subtle hint of peat smoke lingers with sherry sweetness.

Conclusion: Not as heavy and complex as other Glenfarclas bottles I've had. They are usually what I would call "sherry bombs", but this one is a well balanced and elegant piece of work from one of my absolute favorite distilleries. A dram that leaves you begging for more. The verdict? A solid 86 points.

Sort:  

excellent post thanks for the info

Everything wonderful has come from Scotland. :)

That looks like some good whisky. I always wanted to get into it and be a whisky man myself.

Let me know if you want a helping hand with what to get as a beginner!

What would you recommend?

Old Pulteney 12 is a good place to start. It's light and matured in bourbon casks - thus smoother and more creamy than whisky matured in the more spicy European oak. Another one you can't go wrong with as a beginner is Glenlivet 18. Balvenie 12 DoubleWood is also an excellent whisky to begin with, with plenty of honey and vanilla notes. If you are interested in trying smoky Islay whisky a good place to start is Caol Ila 12, as it's not overly smoky. Cheers!

I am definitely trying those out. That's a nice detailed reply than just "try old pulteney 12." Thanks @steemsede

Great, let me know what you think of them!

that is a good whisky.

Did you try the Crown Royal Winter Harvest? It won international blind tasting awards last year for best whisky/rye. I got bottle the other day. It's nice, worth a try.

Not yet! Thanks for the tip!

17 year old scotch. That has got to b good

That sounds fantastic. I'm going to try to find it in the states. If we don't have it I'm going to try to order it!
I will have it god damnit! lol
Thanks for the great review. By the way if you didn't see my review of CatDaddy? I could use some pointers. I wouldn't consider myself a connoisseur but I do appreciate a good liquor. The CatDaddy was literally my first review so I'm sure I missed something. Thanks.

I'm glad you enjoyed the review and that it teased your taste buds! If you can't get the 17 year old, try the more common 15, 18, 21 or 25 year old! The cask strength "Glenfarclas 105" is also very affordable. And I highly recommend the annual Christmas Edition's - sometimes they are available at a good price. I've never ever tried moonshine, but I've had my eyes on the Palmetto Moonshine from South Carolina! Cheers!

86 points. It's a decent score for a great scottish Whisky. Hoping you did not end drunk under the table. Anyways please upvote my article
https://steemit.com/steem/@tocode/steemit-mobile-barcodes-project

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64725.57
ETH 3184.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54