[WHISKY TASTING] A Smoke Giant Called Lagavulin 16 🥃

in #whisky7 years ago (edited)

The place where Lagavulin is located was already in the 1740s a very active distillery area mainly due to its advantageous location if one wanted to avoid taxes. Lagavulin was officially founded in 1816 by John Johnston and the distillery was built nearby Dunyvaig Castle in the south of Islay, sitting comfortably between Ardbeg and Laphroaig. 

The name of the distillery is an anglicization of lag a'mhuilin, which is Gaelic for "hollow by the mill." The water that Lagavulin uses comes from the Solan Lochs. In the early history of Lagavulin there was a literal war with Laphroaig over the water source, something I covered in my latest article on Laphroaig. Since 1974 Lagavulin has been purchasing all its malt from Port Ellen Maltings. The malt is smoked to 35 ppm, compared with Ardbeg that usually smokes its malt to 50 ppm. Nearly all of their whisky is matured on bourbon cask, with the exception of The Distillers Edition which is finished on Pedro Ximénez sherry casks. Today the distillery has a capacity of nearly 2.5 million liters and the 16 year old we'll be tasting today is the most popular expression.

Lagavulin 16 Year Old

Region: Islay
Age: 16 years old
ABV: 43%
Price: ~50 USD / 0.7L
Chill-filtered and colored with E150

Appearance: Dark gold.

Nose: A really complex scent. A rich peaty smoke with a heavy dose of iodine-saltiness. Underneath the heavy smoke there is sherry sweetness as a counterpoint. There's also plenty of licorice and tobacco. In the background some fresh mint and leather. Overall a wonderful nose that transports you to the campfire next to that tarred rowboat.

Palate: Holy smoke! Like sitting in the wind direction by a campfire. Thick and woody smoke becomes ashy after a while, and as your palate has become accustomed to the ash and smoke, you can discern sweet-salt licorice and sweet tobacco notes together with seaweed. The mouth-feel is not as oily and fat as other Lagavulin's or Islay's, but rather dry. There is also a quite hefty dose of white pepper that tickles the tongue. 

Finish: Medium-long with salt licorice, sweet tobacco, coffee and vanilla. The last thing that leaves your mouth is ash though.

Conclusion: A great dram, but probably not recommended for beginners or as an introduction to Islay. Although, for a smoke giant as this, it's pretty darn delightful and drinkable due to its high sweetness. Goes down well with fat fish, such as salmon. I would probably rate it even a little bit higher with a longer finish. Lovely stuff and a well deserved score of 90 points out of 100.

 @SteemSwede

If you have any whisky related questions don't be afraid of asking! I'll do my best to answer them. Cheers, or as they say in Scotland: Sláinte!

You can find my other whisky reviews here:

Highland Park 12
Arran 10
Arran Sauternes Cask Finish
Glenlivet Nàdurra
Laphroaig 15 (200th Anniversary Edition)
Highland Park 15
Bowmore 12
Springbank 10
Ardbeg TEN
The Macallan Amber
Glenmorangie 10
Bunnahabhain Cruach Mhòna
Linkwood 21 yo, Signatory
Bowmore Black Rock
Glenfarclas, Christmas Edition, 1995
Old Pulteney 21
Glenfiddich 12
Kavalan Solist Vinho Barrique, 2016
Caol Ila 12 yo
Linkwood 26 yo
Glenfarclas 105
Glenmorangie Nectar D'Or
Glenlivet 18 yo
Talisker 18 yo
anCnoc Rascan
Glenfarclas 17 yo
Bruichladdich Black Art 4.1
Octomore 5.1 & 6.2

Sort:  

I am a Laphroaig devotee...in love with the peaty smoke. I also love the Lagavulin 12 yr which I find remarkably clean and sweet....yes, sweet... on the palate. yet you say the 15 yr old is smoky?? That is so far from what I am used to. Will definitely give it a go......

The 15 year old Laphroaig? Oh yes, definitely smoky, but far less extreme than the Lagavulin 16.

Just tried and wrote about the 8 year myself. I much prefer it. You don't think the 16 was oily?! That's what I didn't like about it. The 16 was too thick and sweet for me! I need to give it another shot though. Which other Lagavulins are you saying are more oily than the 16? (I need to avoid those!!)

Sorry for the late response, I didn't get a notice for some reason! I have yet to try the 8 yo, but I have it on my to try list. Yeah, the 16 yo was considerably sweeter and less oily than I remember it; I think the expression has changed over the years. And I can definitely understand why some people regard it as far too sweet. A good example I can think of when it comes to oily Islay whisky is the Caol Ila 12. Some of the Lagavulin 12 Special Release have been quite oily. So for you, probably best to avoid the earlier expressions of Lagavulin 16, and perhaps try a dram of this years expression at your local bar.

p.s. I love your write ups!!! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84